We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Nearby Hotels
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Auberge du Vieux Chateau(Saint-Sauveur-le-Vicomte)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel de Paris(Barneville-Carteret)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Les Pieux(Les Pieux)
$75
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Flottemanville(Flottemanville)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie(La Glacerie)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jersey(Barneville-Carteret)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
77
95
19
21
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
95
19
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsovernight stopdu chateaucentre of townnew ownersthree nightsbrittany ferriesfabulous locationa la cartehistoric buildingclassic frenchpoor wifistandard rooma great place to stayatmospheremenusferrycherbourg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 222 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's ideally located in the town centre. Easy park, individual rooms are clean, warm, definitely not a bland chain.
Dinner was good, a bit pricy. We had lamb and duck both of which were very, very pink and hard to eat.
The broadband didn't work at all throughout our stay although the owners offered to let us use their computer if we needed to.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Chosen for its convenient location near Cherbourg, the hotel seemed from other reviews to be OK. We found it to be awful. Rooms are pokey and none-too-clean ( we asked to be shown several before we decided to take one). The room doors are not secure. The management were unconcerned when we commented. Restaurant food was indifferent. Next time we are passing through Cherbourg, we'll try somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Choose room in another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Absoutely charming, at least to this American family. Host very personable and helpful. Restaurant also very good. In a good position if traveling from Normandy beaches area to Mont St. Michel. Beds extremely comfortable. There was even a sweet cat in the outside courtyard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shebasilverspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My first stay in a castle... We booked the room where Queen Victoria herself along with Prince Albert and the two princesses (future Queen Mary included) had stayed. AMAZING. Clean, stylish, vast room with a settee and huge double bed...
Lavish surroundings, the whole structure is totally decorated in XIVth Century style with suits of armour, rich dressings on the windows and furniture, beautiful carpeting and low ceilings!
We dined lavishly in the Knight's Chamber of a four-course menu for a very low price considering it had foie gras!!!
The next morning as we'd gotten up latish, they served us EXCLUSIVELY, in the Knight's Chamber again, a very nice breakfast, even obliged my husband with eggs at no extra cost as we were waited on by two lovely and friendly waitresses... A memorable, cheap but grand stay we are not likely to forget!

Room Tip: If it's available, spend the extra twenty Euros (majoring the standard rate) for the unique Superior room, overlooking the gardens, it is worth every single centime!!!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've stayed here a couple of times now - each time for just one night after getting off the ferry.
We find it to be a relaxing start to our holiday, with a reasonable restaurant on site being just what's required after a tiring day travelling.
The rooms are built into the old walls and provide a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff & Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews