We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bricquebec
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Chosen for its convenient location near Cherbourg, the hotel seemed from other reviews to be OK. We found it to be awful. Rooms are pokey and none-too-clean ( we asked to be shown several before we decided to take one). The room doors are not secure. The management were unconcerned when we commented. Restaurant food was indifferent. Next time we are passing through Cherbourg, we'll try somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Choose room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    86
    17
    18
    9
See reviews for
33
121
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Absoutely charming, at least to this American family. Host very personable and helpful. Restaurant also very good. In a good position if traveling from Normandy beaches area to Mont St. Michel. Beds extremely comfortable. There was even a sweet cat in the outside courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shebasilverspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My first stay in a castle... We booked the room where Queen Victoria herself along with Prince Albert and the two princesses (future Queen Mary included) had stayed. AMAZING. Clean, stylish, vast room with a settee and huge double bed...
Lavish surroundings, the whole structure is totally decorated in XIVth Century style with suits of armour, rich dressings on the windows and furniture, beautiful carpeting and low ceilings!
We dined lavishly in the Knight's Chamber of a four-course menu for a very low price considering it had foie gras!!!
The next morning as we'd gotten up latish, they served us EXCLUSIVELY, in the Knight's Chamber again, a very nice breakfast, even obliged my husband with eggs at no extra cost as we were waited on by two lovely and friendly waitresses... A memorable, cheap but grand stay we are not likely to forget!

Room Tip: If it's available, spend the extra twenty Euros (majoring the standard rate) for the unique Supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've stayed here a couple of times now - each time for just one night after getting off the ferry.
We find it to be a relaxing start to our holiday, with a reasonable restaurant on site being just what's required after a tiring day travelling.
The rooms are built into the old walls and provide a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff & Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked to be convenient for Cherbourg, but actually a great place to stay. Hotel in buildings in courtyard of chateau. Wonderful stonework from 14th century.
Nice welcome. Good parking. Rooms adequate. Bit dated in terms of decor but clean.
Nice dinner in restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS31Dec2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel once but dined here many times. The rooms are basic but the resturant is very good with a fantastic atmosphere. The dining room is large and part of the castle with suits of armor and large fireplace in the winter. The manager M Loic offers a very friendly welcome and it's a must if you are in the area. If staying here, go for one of the larger rooms if possible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a find! The hotel and its surroundings are amazing. The initial welcome was so warm and welcoming we were amazed for France! The restaurant was excellent with superb choices and at reasonable prices. The bedroom / bathroom was a little dated but the beds were wonderful. The character of the bedrooms compensated for their blandness. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked in for our final night in France.
For years we have been searching for a decent hotel within 30 mins of Cherbourg and have finally found it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batts54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bricquebec
9.5 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
8.4 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#1 of 1 in Flamanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
15.1 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
#4 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hostellerie du Chateau

Property: L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Address: 4, Cours du Chateau | BRICQUEBEC, 50260 Bricquebec, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Bricquebec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bricquebec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hostellerie du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcom to the chateau de Bricquebec A natural setting for the chateau de Bricquebec A peaceful image bathed in tranquility,an exceptiona place of dreams for guest who have had ,or will have,the joy of staying there. The chevaliers room"The chateau's restaurant" invites you to taste a cuisine which subtly blends countryside flavours and the chef's secrets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Hostellerie du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hostellerie Du Chateau Hotel Bricquebec
L'Hostellerie Du Chateau Bricquebec, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing