We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bricquebec
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We booked this for a special birthday on our way from the ferry in Cherbourg. it is only 30 minutes from the Ferry, and situated in the centre of a charming Normandy village. Due to bad weather, we arrived close to midnight. We had managed to warn them of our late arrival. The manager and another member of staff had waited up for us, and made us feel so welcome. They had a fire burning in the grate and the table set for our dinner. Despite the late hour, they were very welcoming and served us a delicious late supper of local salad, meat and cheese. They never made us feel that we were inconveniencing them even though it was past midnight and were very warm and friendly. They speak excellent English but happily went along with our request to help us with our probably incomprehensible French. We were assigned to "La chambre de la Reine" - a room Queen Victoria slept in . The whole hotel is historic and charming, creaky floorboards only adding to the attractiveness. It was spotlessly clean. It was a lovely way to start our holiday and very special to stay in a chateau. The warmth and hospitality of the welcome was outstanding and well beyond the norm. We'd definitely stay there again. We only regretted having arrived so late and missing the main dinner, as the menu looked very enticing!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glendalough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 222 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We revisited L'Hostellerie du Chateau some 23 years after enjoying our honeymoon back in '89. Bricquebec has developed as a town and offers visitors an insight into a traditional Normandy town.Our hotel was the focal point of the town alongside the magnificent Castle that dominates the skyline in Briquebec.The hotel itself is a building dating back to medieval times, it has been restored to a very high standard yet retaining it's character and charm.
Our hosts, Loic and Angela were very welcoming and attentive throughout our stay,the food which offers a diverse choice of local foods was excellent and the service we enjoyed was faultless!
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would encourage anyone visiting the area to make L'Hostellerie the first place to book! You will not be disappointed!
If you can arrange your trip to include a Monday, you will enjoy the wonderful market that takes place in the town centre, the stalls offer a real taste of France including fruit and veg,cheeses, meats,and most importantly, locally produced Cidre and Calvados! Enjoy! We did!

Room Tip: Speak to Loic or Angela to identify your needs, all rooms excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We first stayed at this hotel nearly thirty years ago, and it changed hands about ten years ago. The castle has been there for several hundred years, so there is little any owner can do to change the place in any great way! The floorboards still creak and doors are a bit sticky, but this is not a modern Ibis or Novatel. For anyone who hasn't stayed here, then the location is surperb, there are few hotels of this type around, especially at a reasonable price. We ate in the resturant, partly because the fun of staying in this hotel is to eat in the old vaulted dinning hall, and secondly because the choice of good eating elsewhere in Bricquebec is extremely limited! Couple of tips. We knew from the board outside that there was a 21 euro fixed price menu, but when handed the menu in the dining room, there appeared to be no evidence of this, only the more expensive menus were shown, until we finally found the less expensive menu, right at the back! This is a four course meal, of very good quality and was the best value meal we had had on this latest trip. The second tip, is that they have some very good and reasonably priced house wines, 8 euros for a 50cl jug, but these are hidden amoungst the beers on the second to last page of an extensive, and not cheap list of bottled wines. After we had waited over 20 minutes to give our order, service improved and was friendly and attentive. As usual beware the mini bar. One bottle of Pelforth beer costs more than a pack of six in the shop. Also, in the resturant a measure of Calvados is 8 euros. You can buy an acceptable Calvados for 12 euros a bottle and a good one for 16. I accept that hotels need a margin to make a profit, but I thought this was a bit steep! We had breakfast at the cafe just outside the castle walls, which saved us about 5 euros, but mainly it was to enjoy the local flavour rather than eating in yet another hotel even if the surroundings are unusual as this one. One strange drawback, if it could be called that, is that because this hotel is so self contained behind it's own walls, that the inclination is not to venture out into the town, which is small but is worth a visit.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that overlook the courtyard, which is the best view. Others look out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badger50A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

What fun to stay in a castle! My room had vintage furnishings and a wonderfully remodeled bathroom, all very elegant and comfortable. I enjoyed the long walk down the winding and creaky hallway to my room, and the view of the castle tower just outside my window was splendid. I got the impression that some other rooms might not have the updated bathrooms, though, as I did overhear another traveler complaining about hers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had a wonderful 3 night stay (on a 3 nights for the price of 2) in the best room in this atmosheric hotel located within an historic castle - earlier guests included Queen Victoria and Montgomery. The room (Chambre de la Reine N° 2) was large, the bed comfortable and the bathroom adequate. The large windows looked out onto the chateau courtyard. The food in the restaurant was so good that we ate there on all three nights. The location, 30 minutes from Cherbourg is very convenient for exploring the Cotentin Peninsula. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We would both highly recommend this hotel and would be keen to stay there again but would try to get that same room again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Hill5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Set in the grounds of a large Chateau, this hotel and restaurant was a one night stop off for us on our way back from Brittany to the port. The staff were very friendly as were the locals and the food and bars in the area were interesting. An ideal stop off place which the children will love and full of history.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpingsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a hotel with a lot of character, being located in the remains of an old fortress. The door to the room did not fit very well but that is part of the charm of the hotel. The restaurant was interesting, seemly part of the old dungeon. You can imagine the Knights Templar eating there on the way to the Crusades. We ate there and found the food to be very good. There is good parking once you found the entrance to the fortress. We found the staff to be very helpful and spoke good English. The hotel is ideally situated for the short trip to Cherbourg for the ferry or to visit the D-day beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpindlesCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bricquebec
8.6 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
84 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
291 reviews
7.8 mi away
Logis Grand Hotel du Louvre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
#2 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
281 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 23 in Cherbourg-Octeville
503 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel des Ormes
Hotel des Ormes
#4 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hostellerie du Chateau

Address: 4 Cour du Chateau | BRICQUEBEC, 50260 Bricquebec, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Bricquebec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bricquebec
Price Range: $96 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hostellerie du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcom to the chateau de Bricquebec A natural setting for the chateau de Bricquebec A peaceful image bathed in tranquility,an exceptiona place of dreams for guest who have had ,or will have,the joy of staying there. The chevaliers room"The chateau's restaurant" invites you to taste a cuisine which subtly blends countryside flavours and the chef's secrets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Hostellerie du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hostellerie Du Chateau Hotel Bricquebec
L'Hostellerie Du Chateau Bricquebec, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing