We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Chateau d'Emalleville
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau d'Emalleville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emalleville
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been coming to Emalleville for many years and thoroughly recommend this entrancing place. Apart from the chateau and grounds being absolutely stunning, it has a wonderful atmosphere and is very peaceful and romantic, perfect for a few days away. There is so much to see and do in the area, but also very close to Paris, Giverney and Versailles, so perfectly placed.
The rooms are all individually themed, full of coffe table books and prints and the beds are comfortable, bathrooms small, but perfect.
Breakfast is served in the sun room - some of the jams are homemade from their own fruit and there is a wide choice and endless tea and coffee.
Arnaud and Fred, the owners, are a charming and helpful couple who together with the atmosphere and location provide a very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but offer the same facilities.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Chateau d'Emalleville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Pristine setting with expansive park, tennis court, swimming pool. Abundant apple, pear, plum trees, rose gardens and hydrangeas galore. Traveling with 3 small children well accommodated in annex with timbered ceilings, quality beds and sumptuous fabrics. No restaurant or tv. Isolated location, which could be a plus or minus depending on one's preference.

Room Tip: Hostellerie in Acquigny nearby is excellent restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstagamtome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here in August with our 3 kids and it was perfect. I avoid chain hotels whenever possible and instead seek small, comfortable accommodations with personality, charm, and character. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. The rooms were large and clean. We all looked forward to coming back to the hotel each day after our outings to relax at the pool or tennis court, and sometimes have dinner in the yard. After a few days in Paris, this was a wonderful change of pace. Our hostess was always smiling and ready to help and accommodate any request. It's a beautiful and peaceful property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here alone on a business trip in the Paddock suite. The weather was pretty and with windows open I settled with a good book. The owner (Frederique) looked after me very well, explained the use of wifi and communicated well about breakfast times etc.
It was quiet and I slept very well. Before taking off next morning I had breakfast which was served in the breakfast room.

Next evening at a stroll through the park I discovered the pool, tenniscourt and the lovely cottage.
I will definately return and enjoy again. Maybe even for a trip to Le Mans which is aprox 2 hours drive.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank GGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our third visit, twice previously in 2010, fair to say we like the place. Many fellow visitors seem to use the Chateau as a one-night stop over on route and miss out; this does not do either the area or the Chateau justice. We like it because of the facilities, but also because it is so fantastically peaceful, wonderfully rural and whilst it is only very slightly off the beaten track, it’s hardly the back of beyond, situated just off the D155, 9 Km’s north of Evreux.
The tennis court which is impeccably maintained and the swimming pool are the magnets for us, set within the grounds but far enough from the main buildings so as to appear near private. The grounds are surprisingly extensive, and are a mixture of horse paddocks, fruit trees and abundant floral displays, all of which aid the sense of country. The young owners, Frederique and Arnaud go out of their way to create an informal atmosphere, very much leaving the guests to their own devices and the pleasures of the estate, a style that suits us very well.
The rooms are all converted outbuildings as far as I know, and are perhaps a little quirky for some, but again to our liking. My preference would always be the Mailloc suite which is made up of a two spacious rooms, one with 3 single beds for “smaller people” and the master bedroom which is huge, contains a massive King Size bed and oodles of space. Worthy of note, this is the attic conversion of a barn and as such contains many original beams, all of which have to be avoided from time to time. Getting the cases up to the room provides something of a trial too. The bathroom is small and only functional.
A simple French breakfast in provided in the light and airy breakfast room and always seems to be a place of helpful tourist conversations, a great way to start the day.
There is no evening restaurant on site but the local area provides some real treats.
Being approximately 50 miles West of Paris, Rambouillet, Chartes and even Versallies can all be reached, Giverney and Les Andelys by comparison are much more local, but always allow yourselves time to relax in the grounds of the Chateau.

Room Tip: Suits people of an independant nature wonderfully.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmriic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We chose this place due to its proximity to Giverny and its beauty based on the website. The owners were good to respond to our late arrival, but like others have noted on this site, we, too, were at the gate in the dark for sometime before we were allowed in. One would think if this were a problem, guests would simply be given the code for the gate? We couldn't get out either, and one of our party ended up climbing over the wall to enable our departure!
The owners were unfailingly helpful and the chateau and grounds are beautiful. Our rooms were fine, and the bath was excellent.
Disappointing is the fact that you are not allowed into the lovely chateau even though it is featured prominently on the web site.
For what you pay to stay here, I suspect there are better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Duvel11Frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Chateau d'Emalleville. We arrived in time for a delicious swim in the beautiful pool and we were invited to help ourselves to apples and pears from the many fruit trees in the grounds. We were able to choose the room we liked best from the two that were available, both were very styishly decorated and clean. A restaurant for dinner was booked for us in the nearby village as the Chateau only provides breakfast. A fantastic meal and very French! The charming owner made us feel very much at home and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the beautiful grounds. Excellent breakfast with a wonderful array of homemade jams.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oliverdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emalleville
7.6 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
158 reviews
21.1 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,081 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
292 reviews
12.5 mi away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
248 reviews
12.2 mi away
Les Canisses
Les Canisses
#1 of 2 in Le Goulet
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Emalleville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Emalleville

Address: 17 rue de l Eglise, 27930 Emalleville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Emalleville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emalleville
Price Range: $151 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chateau d'Emalleville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing