We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost very good !”
Review of Auberge d'Inxent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge d'Inxent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inxent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

An attractive auberge in a small village in the Course Valley. This was a one night stay and included dinner. The hosts were welcoming and I was given a spacious room with a good sized bathroom at the rear of the property. Although the room appeared superficially clean the retrieval of a pen from under the bed revealed at least a year's worth of dust and sundry detritus! The evening meal was good but not outstanding. The inclusion of a very ordinary shepherds pie as a main course lamb dish in a €34.50 "Menu Regional" was disappointing. The Auberge has an excellent wine list and knowledgable patron. I will try other restaurants / accommodation in the area before returning here again.

Room Tip: Take a hoover with you !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited on a Sunday at lunchtime and the restaurant was virtually full with local and tourist diners. The owners and staff are attentive and the food from locally sourced produce of good quality. It is not Michelin starred but it doesnt seek to be, just honest fare. The wine list is particularly extensive and well chosen with some wallet breaking wines but a wide selection of excellent value examples too. Very friendly and certainly worth a stop while travelling further into France or enjoying the Cote Opale
Did not visit the rooms but my companion had stayed there on many occasions with family and found them quite acceptable

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This small Auberge in the Pas de Calais is simple, clean, has a very good kitchen serving local simple traditional fare and and is a joy to stray in for a short break. The wine list is outstanding. There are 6 bedrooms

Room Tip: preferable rooms are the new extension to the rear of the Auberge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here as a family (grandparents, us and children). Everything about it was how we (foreigners!) imagine France to be - a pretty building with flowers outside, good food, truly locally sourced (the trout are from the bottom of the garden), really friendly welcome and rooms which are as they should be - nothing fancy but clean, of a decent size with big enough bathrooms and comfortable beds (for E71 per night double). Hard to fault as long as you are not expecting 5-star city luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The restaurant is situated in a small village in thw Nord-Pas-de-Calais and it was more accidentally that we found it. The first impression was, that it was a small familiar restaurant mainly attracting local people instead of tourists. The card proposed different typical french plates inclduding entrées and desserts and typical drinks (we choose a tasteful regional aperitif to start) . The menu then was served with a variety of vegetables, which we're directly taken from the region. And it was a surprise: the taste of the meat and the vegetables was unexpectedly great. Nothing extraordinary but intense in its simple taste! We also choose a dessert which fulfilled the same criteria as indicated above and left the restaurant satisfied after this culinary experience. Absolutely recommendable!
(Prices should be about 30€ for every persons, several menus for about 25 € are available)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank StefanieWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This small, flowery auberge is situated opposite the church in a small village a few miles off the A16 Boulogne to Amiens motorway, at a convenient distance from the Channel Tunnel and ports if you cross to France late in the day before the true start of your holiday. It is an old building, running lengthways parallel to a road infrequently travelled by vehicles even in the daytime and scarcely at all by night, so sleep quality is unimpaired. The carpark is across the road, from which a garden runs down towards a river - take an evening stroll. The auberge has five rooms, three on the first floor up a narrow flight of stairs (there is a back way to the first floor in with fewer steps but still not wheelchair accessible; I'm not sure about the other rooms). The low-celinged room we had was small, furnished with a motley assortment of antiques, including naive, original paintings. It looked across the street to the church. The room reminded me of the one in my grandmother's farmhouse; it was basic but comfortable. The bath room off the bedroom could not be said to be luxurious, with an eccentric placement of fittings, but it functioned.

Downstairs is the entrance hall, displaying antique bric-a-brac, the breakfast room, and the spacious restaurant, where (I read) the Duke of Windsor and Wallace Simpson once had their trysts. The dinner menu was adventurous and excellent, and the dishes were garnished with numerous small vegetables and herbs. The wine-list was lengthy - I think the wine cellar must rival the size of the rest of the auberge! (I have read that the owner was previously a sommelier; I saw him taste each bottle of wine himself before presenting it to a diner to ensure it passed muster.) Wine prices ranged from good value to stratospheric amd there was a good selection of half bottles so you can experiment with some wines normally beyond your price limit. Unusually, you can stock up your own cellar if a particular wine takes your fancy - the hotelier will sell some of his stock at retail rather than restaurant prices. Breakfast was the standard French breakfast of excellent quality.

The service in this charming hotel was attentive and friendly. We left after breakfast in a very good humour, with the intention to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Very enjoyable experience. Staff is welcoming and food superb. I had a traditional leek tart following a complimentary mise en Bouche, a lovely lamb parmentier and a chicory creme brûlée, all of which tasted delicious, if only a bit rich for summer time

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoise1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inxent
4.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
722 reviews
4.9 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
348 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Domaine d'Herambault
Le Domaine d'Herambault
#1 of 1 in Montcavrel
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge d'Inxent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge d'Inxent

Address: La Vallee de la Course, 62170 Inxent, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Inxent
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inxent
Price Range: $103 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge d'Inxent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge d`Inxent Hotel Inxent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing