We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
254
36
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
254
36
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews troglodyte rooms summer kitchen loire valley yogurt bread large property fluent in english hot air balloon living room fairy tale morning breakfast short drive site seeing outdoor kitchen nice breakfast restaurant recommendations places to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 291 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2019

From the moment we arrived, Veronique treated us with the utmost personal attention in every aspect of our stay. The location is superb and centrally located to Amboise. It is a short bicycle ride to Amboise and trails along the Loire. Our room was superb and breakfasts were great. The Chateau is gorgeous, our room was wonderful, and the view of the valley was fantastic. We wish we had more time to spend.

Unfortunately, my wife had a bicycle accident and broke both her foot and shoulder and was incapacitated. Had it not been for Veronique’s support, I don’t know what we would have done. Words cannot express our sincere gratitude to Veronique for helping us at the hospital and accommodating us until we left for home.

There is a special place in our heart for Chateau de Nazelles and we will be returning soon.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skisnkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verofructus, Propriétaire at Chateau de Nazelles Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Your words mean so much for me, thank you.
I hope your wife is recovering well!

Véronique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

This is the second time that we have stayed at charming Chateau de Nazelles. The lovely chateau dates back to the 15th century and it sits on a large hillside property with pretty views and landscaped areas that provide several spots where you can sit and relax. The Summer Kitchen is a wonderful amenity, providing dishes, cutlery, glassware, utensils and even a dishwasher. Right beside it is an outdoor eating area with a nice view. The pool is cut into the cliff and is a fun place to swim. Since our last time there, an outdoor cave room has been added with a ping-pong table, which we enjoyed using. In rainy weather, we would have used the Billiards Room. But the weather was too nice to stay inside.

The first time we went to Chateau de Nazelles we were with another couple. This time we brought our 14 year old granddaughter and stayed for four nights. Both times, we stayed in their unique Troglodyte Rooms, which was a great experience, especially on hot days, because of the natural air-conditioning from the rooms which are carved out of the hillside. Suite Maja & Suite Mathilda have an adjoining inner door, which is nice if you are traveling with someone. But, it can be locked, too. Both rooms have sitting areas, roomy & modern bathrooms and comfy large beds. Tea & Coffee can be made in the rooms, should you so desire. The descriptions & photos of all of the rooms on the website are very accurate. At the moment there is also a sumptuous Honey-Moon Suite being built on the hill above the chateau. It looks like it will be fantastic. (~PackAndGoMama)

Breakfast is served at several tables in the beautiful, large Dining Room. Our first morning was our anniversary and the owner, Veronique Fructus, put a lovely, large, fresh flower arrangement on our breakfast table. That, certainly, provided a very special beginning for our anniversary. The breakfasts are large and have quite a variety of offerings: juice, fresh fruit, fresh local cheeses, meats, yogurt, breads & jams/honey, as well as boiled eggs precisely cooked to order, tea and several types of coffee. Breakfast is served at your convenience, The very congenial Veronique stops by every table to help with sight-seeing, restaurant & activity ideas, as well as with any reservations that you might need. She wants to make sure that you have the best time possible in the Loire Valley. We were grateful that she managed to reserve a Hot-Air Balloon outing that was a big hit with us and our granddaughter. Veronique also suggested that she make a reservation for us at the Michelin-rated Chateau du Pray for our anniversary dinner. Dining on the Chateau du Pray terrace on a perfect June evening was a real treat. There are several wonderfully different restaurants in Amboise or nearby that she can steer you towards. Her ideas are always spot-on.

We adore staying at Chateau de Nazelles and we can't say enough about Veronique Fructus. She is the consummate hostess -- friendly, cheerful, concerned, helpful & fluent in English, She runs an excellent B&B. We will stay there any time that we visit France and we definitely recommend that you stay at Chateau de Nazelles, too!

Room tip: I don't think that you can go wrong with any room. It would be a matter of which type of room you would prefer.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PackAndGoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verofructus, Propriétaire at Chateau de Nazelles Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was such a pleasure to seeing you again with your lovely granddaughter Abby, enjoying the beautiful Loire Valley. Thank you for your kindness and your wonderful review. It means so much to me.

Warm Regards,

Véronique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

We liked our stay at Chateau Nazelles a lot. A charming place with friendly hosts, nice breakfast and a unique pool which helped us to cope with the heat. We will come back. Thanks also to Piedro to help us set up the BBQ near the self catering summer kitchen

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verofructus, Propriétaire at Chateau de Nazelles Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review!
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Véronique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Veronique was an amazing host and fluent in English. She was most helpful with ideas of places to visit and diner recommendations were right on point. The chateau is even more spectacular than the pictures.

Room tip: we did have a second floor room very large and quiet. There was no elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jhrphotova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verofructus, Propriétaire at Chateau de Nazelles Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review!
It is always a pleasure to suggest the best restaurants and activities around Nazelles.

If you want to share with us your beautiful pictures, feel free to do it!

Véronique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

We were only able to stay 2 nights at the chateau which wasn't nearly long enough! It was far better than I ever dreamed. The pics on the website don't do it justice. Everything was immaculate and in good repair. We stayed in an upstairs room that had been recently renovated and it was just perfection. We loved the hosts' recommendations on which chateaus to visit and she was spot on. The breakfast was great and we will do our best to return for a future visit.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelnanaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews