We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
245
36
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
245
36
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loire valley bread large property living room fairy tale morning breakfast short drive the main house outdoor kitchen troglodyte room restaurant recommendations places to visit perfect stay base for exploring the river veronique chateau
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 282 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2019

A wonderful spot on the hill overlooking the valley, with woods behind and caves to explore. Garden kept beautifully and the courtyard from another era. Private parking is a plus and the rooms were very clean, comfortable and cosy.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

Long overdue review.
We had a lovely cave room this summer. The chateau was a relaxing and beautiful base for Loire valley excursions. Far enough outside Amboise City Center that it was quiet but a quick drive into town for dinner. The breakfast each morning was delicious and still waiting for us, our first morning, when we overslept due to jetlag. After a little site seeing it was a perfect respite to sit outside and drink a bottle of wine in the afternoon or evening or have a picnic.Host Veronique was lovely and very helpful with local recommendations. Great value for the price as well.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank littledebbiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verofructus, Propriétaire at Chateau de Nazelles Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Thank you very much for such a lovely feedback! I sincelrely hope to welcome you another time at Chateau de Nazelles, in our beautiful Loire valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2019

We arrived on a cold January day 2019. The place is magical. Beautiful. Unique.
Rooms are comfortable, chic, new, and, with everything you need. They are tastefully put together.
Restoring and maintaining this gorgeous property is a labor of love, and it shows.
If you come to the Loire Valley, please stay in this place. It was such a pleasant surprise for us.
Breakfast was cozy, plenty, and in our case, in front of a warm fireplace.
There is a sense of tranquility, of peace in this place. A sense of good. This IS a very special place.
Charming owner Véronique, goes out of the way to be sure you are comfortable. She was helpful, cooperative, available. Just good people. Thank you Véronique. We appreciate your kindness. Thank you to your son too for his help.
The biggest town with plenty of nice shops, and great restaurants is only 8 to 10 minutes away (maybe less). We had dinner there every night.
The best thing you will get from this review is our Tip to arrive to this place.
Your GPS will probably take you to the road that Veronique says Not to take. But you will discover too late that you are on a very steep, narrow road; and worst of all your car might get stuck. It almost happened to us!
So do this. DO NOT PUT THE ADDRESS OF THE PLACE in your GPS. INSTEAD, JUST PUT NAZELLES-NEGRON, in your GPS. Once you are in Nazelles, you are two minutes away from the Chateau de Nazelles, in a normal, and safe road. Then call the Owners.
Now, this is an old Chateau. So the first time you will feel the entrance is challenging. So make a WIDE turn towards the entrance, then put your car in reverse, go back a little bit, straighten you car, and now you will enter perfectly to the property.

I hope you find this useful. We love this place, and would absolutely love to come back.

Room tip: See my review to know the correct way to arrive. Very important TIP.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EVELYN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018

I don't remember the name of the room, but we had the one on ground level underneath the living room with the entry door at the base of the stairs heading up to the living room. It was very charming as the old decor was still there (stone walls, radiator heaters, old stone sink relic, etc.). The owner was very friendly and goes our of her way to make sure you are welcome. Due to jet lag we missed the breakfast the next morning but she saved some of it for us to take in the car. The grounds around the chalet are enjoyable for strolling, and they have a very friendly cat that roams the area and will follow you to make sure you're not getting lost. The only minus was the shower water didn't stay warm for very long. So it was very quick showers for us that morning.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 232az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

Loved staying here. Large property with a gorgeous garden. We had an upstairs room which was full of character. It was functional but the stairs were a bit of a challenge with luggage. Narrow and steep.

Pedro was friendly and helpful and served us breakfast which was nice. The only downside was that our shower head was broken. Had to hold it up the whole time.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tonic1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews