We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
240
36
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
36
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local honey loire valley summer kitchen yogurt marie louise bread swimming pool picnic dinner stayed longer surrounding gardens hot air balloons large property homemade jams sweet dog table tennis table offer advice charming owner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 277 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2019

We arrived on a cold January day 2019. The place is magical. Beautiful. Unique.
Rooms are comfortable, chic, new, and, with everything you need. They are tastefully put together.
Restoring and maintaining this gorgeous property is a labor of love, and it shows.
If you come to the Loire Valley, please stay in this place. It was such a pleasant surprise for us.
Breakfast was cozy, plenty, and in our case, in front of a warm fireplace.
There is a sense of tranquility, of peace in this place. A sense of good. This IS a very special place.
Charming owner Véronique, goes out of the way to be sure you are comfortable. She was helpful, cooperative, available. Just good people. Thank you Véronique. We appreciate your kindness. Thank you to your son too for his help.
The biggest town with plenty of nice shops, and great restaurants is only 8 to 10 minutes away (maybe less). We had dinner there every night.
The best thing you will get from this review is our Tip to arrive to this place.
Your GPS will probably take you to the road that Veronique says Not to take. But you will discover too late that you are on a very steep, narrow road; and worst of all your car might get stuck. It almost happened to us!
So do this. DO NOT PUT THE ADDRESS OF THE PLACE in your GPS. INSTEAD, JUST PUT NAZELLES-NEGRON, in your GPS. Once you are in Nazelles, you are two minutes away from the Chateau de Nazelles, in a normal, and safe road. Then call the Owners.
Now, this is an old Chateau. So the first time you will feel the entrance is challenging. So make a WIDE turn towards the entrance, then put your car in reverse, go back a little bit, straighten you car, and now you will enter perfectly to the property.

I hope you find this useful. We love this place, and would absolutely love to come back.

Room tip: See my review to know the correct way to arrive. Very important TIP.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EVELYN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018

I don't remember the name of the room, but we had the one on ground level underneath the living room with the entry door at the base of the stairs heading up to the living room. It was very charming as the old decor was still there (stone walls, radiator heaters, old stone sink relic, etc.). The owner was very friendly and goes our of her way to make sure you are welcome. Due to jet lag we missed the breakfast the next morning but she saved some of it for us to take in the car. The grounds around the chalet are enjoyable for strolling, and they have a very friendly cat that roams the area and will follow you to make sure you're not getting lost. The only minus was the shower water didn't stay warm for very long. So it was very quick showers for us that morning.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 232az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

Loved staying here. Large property with a gorgeous garden. We had an upstairs room which was full of character. It was functional but the stairs were a bit of a challenge with luggage. Narrow and steep.

Pedro was friendly and helpful and served us breakfast which was nice. The only downside was that our shower head was broken. Had to hold it up the whole time.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tonic1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Great location, service and most importantly - very, very helpful... Host - Veronique providing really practical hints, information, suggestions and help. Definitely thanks to Veronique we were able to see much more than we would basing only on guides, as well as had a chance to taste local food and wine in recommended (and booked) places.
We have stayed in Pavillon Lucas (Cottage), very convenient for a stay of 2 couples and with a fully equipped kitchen.

Room tip: all rooms are quiet, the location of the Chateau is in a quiet area.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gstefan612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We had a fantastic stay at this wonderful property. The location is great, quiet yet close enough to Amboise. The property and grounds are stunning - beautifully restored to a very high standard, and we loved the pool! Veronique is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable of the local area - she was always ready to offer advice, maps, help with bookings - which really added to our enjoyment of the local areas (we never had a dud!). We would strongly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews