We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
257
36
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
257
36
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews troglodyte rooms summer kitchen loire valley yogurt bread enchanting place fairy tale large property fluent in english hot air balloon living room morning breakfast site seeing short drive outdoor kitchen nice breakfast places to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 295 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Chateau de Nazelles was our first stop on a two-week tour of France, and it was an enchanting introduction to our trip. Set high on a bluff that overlooks the Loire valley, the rooms of the chateau are discreetly scattered about the large property and its many picturesque nooks. We stayed in a "troglodyte" room, which means part of it is built directly into the stone face of the bluff, but it's hardly primitive. The plumbing was modern, the space generous and the decor what Pottery Barn aspires to. A delightful petite dejeuner was served each morning in the small dining room, and the lovely hostess, Madame Fructus (wife and mother of the family that owns the B&B), usually was there to offer advice and suggestions. It is easily accessible by car to the nearby town of Amboise, with its many brasseries and other attractions, such as the huge Amboise chateau and the Clos Luce, Leonardo da Vinci's last residence. Chateau de Nazelles is highly recommended.

Room tip: Our troglodyte room, of which there were several, was very private and somewhat secluded. Other, more traditional rooms are nearer the breakfast room, so somewhat more accessible, if that's an issue.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesigningWoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Its not always easy to find the right mix of rustic and elegance- on their own they are each pretty easy to identify but locating a spot that offers both in the right combination is what I'm always on the look out for and Chateau de Nazelles delivered exactly on that. An unpretentious beauty that allows for exploration and relaxation. While the property was fully booked it was quiet and we felt that we had the place to ourselves. We particularly appreciated the summer kitchen where we could rustle up a little impromptu meal from the goodies we scooped up at the market and then enjoyed alfresco with a bottle of champagne on the terrace looking over the valley, Loire River and the Royal Castle of Amboise. Our room was spacious and had a wonderful view of the valley as well as a very large bath with a wonderful soaker tub. Our trip was during the early fall but could imagine that even in inclement weather that an indoor weekend would be most cozy. The owner recommended a wonderful little pub "Le Shaker" right on the river and across from the Castle where we enjoyed the sunset spectacle while 4 hot air balloons drifted by-priceless!

Room tip: We selected a room through booking.com that was actually the least expensive room available and were very pleasantly surprised, it exceeded our expectations.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BandolRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the suite for an amazing 3 nights,on september 2013.
I cant say enough about this elegant and breathtaking beauty.The villa was perfact for 2 couples .
The beds were comfortable,the kitchen is fully equiped,and the surroundings were even nicer than the pics we saw at the site.
Veronique the owner was very helpful and kind.Helping us planning our day trips and sites to see around the area.
Do not miss this magical romantic France chateau!!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidEilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This 16th century chateau in a very small village near Amboise is delightful in all respects. our room in the main building, Viele-Griffin, was very comfortable, nicely furnished and charming. The real secret to this inn is its owner, Veronique, who is very helpful in all respects in making the best use of one's time in the Loire region. She steered us around crowds, selected fine restaurants and knew out of the way places to go. Veronique not only speaks excelllent English but she understands an American cultural point of view. A continental breakfast(included) with fruit and cheese is served in a delightful room. Overall, just about perfect and highly recommended. The best place we stayed in France!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toadhall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed there in July 2013 and enjoyed our stay, the owners were very friendly, the breakfast was really good and there were some nice areas to walk round and explore. The only downside was the hard mattress, the continental pillows and the shower over the bath which didn't go up high enough for either myself or my husband to wash our hair without bending down. There is room for it to go higher so this is something that they could improve on and the shower screen could be longer to stop the floor from getting wet.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews