We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chateau near Amboise, with superb views of Loire” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Nazelles Amboise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Nazelles Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Chateau near Amboise, with superb views of Loire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed two nights at the lovely Chateau which has been restored with taste and charm by Veronique and Olivier Fructus. We stayed in a "Troglodyte room", built into the caves which was very nice indeed. Simply furnished, but with style and good taste, it had a very comfortable bed and it was spotlessly clean. Bathroom was well fitted, again very tastefully tiled and equipped. Outside the gardens were an absolute joy and the views over towards the River Loire and towards the Chateau in Amboise were quite breathtaking. Our view on waking early on Tuesday morning was of a bright red Hot-Air Balloon very low over the river just drifting by peacefully - absolutely magical. Breakfast is a real delight with locally sourced Apple Juice, Honeys, Yogurts + beautiful breads, croissants and home-made jams. Veronique (who speaks English) was exceptionally helpful in arranging for us to have breakfast earlier than usual to allow us to leave in time to drive up to Calais for the Eurotunnel booking we had made and also with directions locally. The Chateau was a little difficult to find, particularly with the roadworks in front of the Mairie making it look like the road was closed off, but when they are finished, access to it will be greatly improved too! Cannot recommend Chateau de Nazelles highly enough. It's an excellent retreat of calm just a short drive from Amboise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
150
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this splendid B&B for the 3 nights during our 30th anniversary trip to France. It is located on a narrow road in the hills of Nazelle, a suburb of Amboise. The stone buildings are extraordinarily picturesque. Everywhere one looked was picture perfect country French with beautiful gardens, arches and decorations.Every detail seemed to be perfectly placed yet natural and not contrived or forced. We stayed in one of the so called Troglodyte rooms, which was built into the stone hillside. The bedroom was quaint with rustic country furniture, large windows with blackout curtains, and modern bathroom fixtures. The entire grounds gives one a feeling of peace and solitude with lovely views of the valley below. The owner, Veronique, was wonderful. She gave excellent suggestions, spoke English well, and was very helpful. She was quite concerned and attentive when my wife developed some type of 24 hr viral infection. She also made special arrangements for getting us some provisions in lieu of the regular breakfast when we had to leave at 5:30 AM for a hot air balloon ride. She gave us a coffee maker for our room, so we could have hot coffee before we left. We enjoyed the regular breakfasts on our other mornings in the beautifully decorated country French breakfast room. These consisted of delicious croissants, fruit and homemade jams, yogurt and coffee. Internet access via Wifi was free, but limited to the comfortable communal living room. There is also a separate kitchen for guest use, which was being renovated while we were there.This was really a little slice of paradise, and we were reluctant to leave. We definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Troglodyte room was excellent, away from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfriedsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Because of false information posted by Booking.com, I wasn't able to stay at Chateau Nazelles. However, the kindness and the extra care demonstrated by its host, Véronique, during the booking process compelled me to write a review here.

When I first contacted Véronique several months ago, she was very responsive and professional. Unfortunately, because Booking.com showed that the last room at Chateau Nazelles was booked, I settled with another chateau B&B in the area, only to find out shortly after that Booking.com does not work with Chateau Nazelles during the peak season and hence the "the last room was booked 3 days, 19 hours ago" information shown was just a lie.

Just a month before my intended trip, the chateau B&B I settled with got bought out, and I had to find another accoommondation. Certainly, by then, popular as it is, Chateau Nazelles has no more room left. Nevertheless, Véronique not only recommended another chateau B&B that I may find a room, but when she found out I didn't hear back from that place, Véronique went out of her way to call up the mananger of that chateau B&B to follow up until my reservation got confirmed.

I was really touched. If Véronique does this much for stranger who probably won't bring any commercial upside for her for the foreseeable future, it's not hard to imagine how well she will take care of her guests and her B&B. For that alone, I would recommend Véronique and her B&B. Certainly, if you have seen the pictures of the place, you probably would love it too.

Lastly, if you want to make a reservation, don't bother with Booking.com. Contact Véronique directly. Her email address is info@chateau-nazelles.com.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkLifeNotBalanced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantrae Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed one evening here and we took a room outside the castle. It had a lawn in front with chairs and tables. It was very pleasant and peaceful in the evening. Internet is available in the lounge only. Breakfast was average. Room was clean, big but no TV.

Room Tip: Ask for the new addition room or either of the two rooms outside the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timberbank26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Chateau-de-Nazelles, a 16th century Chateau conveniently located close to Amboise in the Loire Valley, is a stunning property. I just stayed there for three nights in mid-May 2012. Many of the rooms retain original limestone walls. My room was quite comfortable and had lovely views of the Loire valley down to Amboise. The place is run by the husband and wife team of Veronique and Olivier, who are not only charming but extremely helpful. The Chateau is beautiful and the breakfast simple but wonderful. Additionally, the property itself is quite expansive and fun to explore with their very cute dog, Sami. I could not recommend Chateau-de-Nazelles more!

Room Tip: Have their dog, Sami, take you on a tour of the extensive property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We recently visited Chateau de Nazelles for our fourth time and once again left completely satisfied. This is one of those special places that you always want to return. The location is just outside of Amboise and makes the perfect base for touring all the Chateaux of the Loire. Olivier and Veronique, the owners are wonderful hosts and very helpful with recommendations of places to see,eat and even making reservations for dinner. The Chateau is located on the side of a hill with beautiful grounds and sitting areas that offer a spectacular view of the valley and Amboise. The two troglodyte rooms (carved into the side of the hill) are our favorites and would be perfect for a family desiring connecting rooms or just couples travelling together. The rooms and bathrooms are luxuriously furnished with all the amenities you would need. We have sent family and friends to Chateau de Nazelles and they have all commented that their stay here was one of the highlights of the trip.

Room Tip: Troglodyte rooms would be great for a family or couples travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corion3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the tour room at Chateau de Nazelles. The chateau cascades down the side of a limestone cliff overlooking the Loire valley - it's a little tricky to get to the first time (get directions, don't trust your GPS), but once there, it's relatively easy to navigate in and out of - but you need a car without question.

Our room was very spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, bathroom had both a claw foot tub and a separate shower with loads of hot water and great pressure. Bathroom also had these beautiful little artisan lavender soaps and organic shampoo - hairdryer was provided and was curiously powerful. We had a king sized comfortable bed, the wifi worked well and breakfast was delicious - typical French with choice of breads, yoghurt, jams, etc.

All this though isn't what made us wish we'd stayed longer. Truthfully, when we first arrived, we were mildly disappointed at how seemingly remote the chateau was from the heart of the action. Then we saw the spectacular view our room had over the Loire valley. You can open the louvred windows right up and watch the storms roll in, see the sun setting against the chateau in Amboise across the river...it's magical. After a day we started to feel like we'd finally escaped the mania of the well worn tourist trail and had slowed down enough to really appreciate where we were.

You can hike up from the chateau to the plains above the river valley where the vineyards are (the chateau used to be that of a wine landlord of sorts). From there you can wind your way back around the property and walk down the road in front of the chateau. Then, head back into the chateau where Veronique and Olivier can answer all the questions you've got about the property and the area. To say they're good hosts is a gross understatement.

As we toured the property we noted that they nearly have finished renovating another rental property at the chateau - it's a two story, self sufficient house with beautiful kitchen, troglodyte living room, two big bedrooms, dining room table for 8, and a roof top terrace. Evidently it'll be available in two weeks and I can attest that it has been beautifully finished and has the same view we had from our room.

For a great meal in Amboise, try Chez Bruno, but make a reservation...

Anyway, after a few weeks of travel, Chateau de Nazelles ranks as my favourite stay - I highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank OotyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nazelles-Negron
0.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
8.8 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Nazelles Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Nazelles Amboise

Property: Chateau de Nazelles Amboise
Address: 16 rue Tue la Soif, 37530 Nazelles-Negron, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise > Nazelles-Negron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Nazelles-Negron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Chateau de Nazelles, an authentic and intimate sixteenth-century manor surrounded by extensive and tranquil grounds. Snuggled on a hillside across the River Loire from Amboise (1.6 miles) and nearby Château de Chenonceau (10 miles), Chateau de Nazelles is ideally situated to visit all the castles of the Loire Valley. Dating back to 1518, residence of the Lords of Nazelles, the chateau, a listed historical monument, was also a wine estate for many centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Nazelles Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Nazelles Amboise Hotel Nazelles Negron
Chateau De Nazelles Amboise France/Loire Valley - Nazelles-Negron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing