We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Nazelles-Negron
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
257
36
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
257
36
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews troglodyte rooms summer kitchen loire valley yogurt bread enchanting place fairy tale large property fluent in english hot air balloon living room morning breakfast site seeing short drive outdoor kitchen nice breakfast places to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 295 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Very clean and beautiful chateau with a very nice and helpful staff!! Only problem is its hard to find and is not labeled well. Also in the immediate town there isnt much to do, but amboise is only a few minutes away. Breakfast is simple but nice!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aj5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Beautiful chateau. Difficult to find. Breakfast was fresh but Basic. Unfortunate that weather was not conducive to using lovely pool. Owner was helpful and so accommodating. Rooms are clean, and updated. Be nice to have t. In room.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborahc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We located this property through their website and only a few minutes after arriving in the courtyard, we knew that we were in for a wonderful experience. Our stay at the Chateau was to be the base for a week's cycling in the Loire and, in particular, to visit the International Garden Festival at Chamount-sur-Loire. We were greeted by Pedro who was filling in for the owners who were on holiday. He prepared a wonderful small meal for us of fresh salad makings from the garden, yogurt, fruit, cheese etc as he guessed correctly that we were hungry after travelling. We loved the meal which we ate on a pretty terrace overlooking the Loire and Amboise. After lunch Pedro insisted on doing our laundry for which we were very thankful and it was returned to us a day later carefully laundered and folded!
We stayed in the Marie-Louise Pavillion and enjoyed having this little building to ourselves. It does not look out across the Loire as do some of the other rooms, but its charm and privacy made up for it.
The summer kitchen was a bonus. It is located in another pavillion next to a couple of outdoor dining tables which look out at the bucolic scenery of the Loire. Most nights we enjoyed our dinner there and we were happy to share the kitchen and tables with some of the other guests . The kitchen is well equipped with everything one needs to prepare a meal: fridge, stove, dishwasher,dishes, espresso maker (with espresso!) etc.
Once the owners returned, we found them very gracious and exceedingly helpful in fine-tuning our cycle routes and any other travel details. They are a lovely couple who excel at making Chateau Nazelle a world class destination with its well kept grounds, the marvelous swimming pool, the immaculate rooms and the delicious breakfast and wonderful service.
Nazelles itself is a sleepy little town ...perfect for evening walks after busy days on the bike. It's close to Amboise..an easy cycle away. The Sunday market is delightful. This property is an excellent base for cyclists and It would be perfect for a small group to rent all the rooms and use this chateau as the base for their cycle tour.
We look forward to returning to Chateau Nazelles. It's a gem and the owners are delightful hosts!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We loved this delightful, small hotel! Everything was beautiful and comfortable. Pedro, who was filling in for the vacationing owners was incredibly kind, helpful, and sweet.
We stayed in the very small Pavilion Marie-Louise, but it was private, quiet and charming with a lovely, quirky bathroom that had a window in the shower. This room's only view is of the property's pretty entrance, but not the valley.
The hotel is a few minutes outside of the lovely town of Amboise and is convenient to several chateaux and restaurants in the area.
The breakfast, which was included, was adequate and included yogurt, a bread basket with croissants and a piece of fresh fruit.
The swimming pool is small but beautiful - and very unusual!
Pay close attention to the driving directions or you will not find the Chateau de Nazelles - but once you get here, we hope you will enjoy it as much as we did!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snyc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our four nights at the Chateau de Nazelles were a wonderful experience and provided a charming base of operations for day-tripping into the Loire wine and chateau region. The Chateau was about a 10-minute drive from the charming small medieval city of Amboise, which is complete with a chateau-fortress and great cluster of shops and restaurants and pleasant walking areas along the Loire River.

The Chateau de Nazelles offers several types of accommodations, including troglodyte rooms carved out of the ridgeline cliffs. We stayed in such a room which was very comfortable and well equipped. Outside the rooms of the Chateau are lovely garden areas which include access to a barbeque grill for those who are so inclined and a well-stocked kitchen and refrigerator for those who would like to do some light meal or cocktail hour preparations. Furthermore, and a big plus for travelers, is the availability of access to a clothes washer and dryer. Also, the garden areas outside of each of the rooms have lounge chairs and tables so that guests can enjoy a glass of wine or cocktail and snacks in comfort in the cool of the late afternoon.

The included breakfast is very nice in the continental tradition and is served in a gracious dining room near the lodging areas. Also there is a large guest lounge area with TV, comfortable sofas, and wifi access for those with laptops.

One of the pleasant highlights of being a guest at the Chateau de Nazelles is the welcoming hospitality of the owner-manager Veronique. She has two lovely children who live at the Chateau and introduces you to a friendly (but unobstrusive) dog named Sam and a very nice cat named Nutella and a recently acquired frisky kitten named Praline (named by her children). Veronique is a charming and friendly hostess with high standards for cuisine who can provide suggestions for restaurants and hints at how to enhance your travel experience in the Amboise area, which is one of the principal nodes of tourism in the Loire River Valley, enabling good day trips to nearby grand chateaux like Chenonceau or Chambord or up to such stunning sites as the Cathedral at Chartres..

Chateau de Nazelles is a keeper when wishing to enjoy a visit to this part of the Loire region of France.

Room tip: Veronique may adjust rooms after arrival if asked
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philkvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews