We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Nazelles-Negron
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
257
36
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
257
36
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews troglodyte rooms summer kitchen loire valley yogurt bread enchanting place fairy tale large property fluent in english hot air balloon living room morning breakfast site seeing short drive outdoor kitchen nice breakfast places to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 295 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Really relaxing place to stay with amazing views. Veronique was very helpful particularly with dinner reservations. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grthompson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Marvellous small chateau, decorated with good taste, beautiful surroundings. A perfect place for a romantic getaway, for example. Service was very friendly.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mliisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 nights (15-18Nov2010) in this Rick Steves-recommended B&B located a mile and a half from Amboise. Words can’t begin to describe how attractive and captivating is this “16th-century hillside manor house” (from Rick Steves’ France 2010) with lovely gardens and a number of “cave dwellings” dug into the hillside. After you drive through the stone archway that forms part of the house’s foundation, park in a graveled courtyard with immense stone fountain and lovely landscaping, and look up to admire the architecture of the house itself, you will easily imagine courtiers strolling about and armor-clad men dismounting horses.

We join “Rick” in recommending a stay at this chateau where English-speaking owner Veronique Fructus is both charming and helpful. Every morning Madame Fructus greeted us at breakfast (included in the room rate) while overseeing our dining wishes and tending to the breakfast room’s fireplace (the latter very welcome in November). Breakfasts were “French style” with croissants, breads, cheeses, homemade jams, juices, coffee and tea (my wife maintains the cheeses were particularly tasty). Many of the breakfast ingredients were either locally grown or locally produced.

A stay at Chateau de Nazelles really requires renting a car (I would not recommend walking or biking along the narrow highways leading to Amboise), but renting a car is the easiest and surest means of visiting the many (many) chateaux in the Loire Valley. One reviewer mentioned some (understandable) confusion in finding the B&B; we recommend following (exactly) the directions provided on the B&B’s website, which led us without mishap to the chateau.

Out of sheer curiosity, we elected to stay in one of the two “troglodyte” rooms offered by the Chateau – rooms formed from cave dwellings cut into the limestone hillside. With two large windows opening onto a small garden patio, the room was charming; a nice bathroom, separate glassed-in shower, and another separate toilet stall meant we didn’t lack modern conveniences in the “cave.” And, while we didn’t actually make use of it, we did briefly see the chateau’s attractively furnished “living room” that was available to all lodgers for lounging, entertainment, and internet connectivity.

While visiting the Loire Valley in cold (and occasionally rainy) November meant minimal-to-no delays in tourist lines at the various chateaux, the November weather regrettably kept us from widely strolling the grounds at Chateau de Nazelles (one path leads to a nearby forest) and also kept us from using the swimming pool. Good reasons to return to this wonderful B&B in another season!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillHandBeckyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

This was our first trip to the Loire region of France and everything exceeded our expectations. My husband and I brought 4 teenagers to Chateau de Nazelles for three nights and those notoriously picky travelers LOVED it. The chateau and grounds couldn't have been more charming and beautiful - I felt we were in a very special place. Our hostess was welcoming, helpful and professional and the staff were all polite and attentive. Our family took three of the five rooms. My husband and I chose the troglodyte suite and were not disappointed. Simple, but elegantly furnished with a fabulous view to the garden. While we were there, flowers were in bloom and the grounds were lush. If you've time, take a stroll around the grounds and the land up the hill from the chateau. We also enjoyed touring several of the well known chateaux in the area, including the one in Amboise which was worth the trip. Amboise itself was a very pleasant dinnertime respite from the day's activity. Try the going in the am to the local bakeries for ham and cheese sandwiches on french bread for picnic lunches to go.

This place will not disappoint!

Date of stay: June 2010
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank tsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This is just the most beautiful place. Madame Fructus is a welcoming, stylish, informative hostess. She is also very fluent in English, if that is a consideration.

We stayed in Viele Griffin, but Madame Fructus showed us all of the rooms and they are all beautiful. Our room was huge, and comfortable, with a lovely and spacious bathroom. My husband liked the advantage of being in the main house, just steps from the lounge (with free computer). I think next time I'd like to try the Troglodyte suite, which has one of the coolest bathrooms I've ever seen (and is slightly cheaper than the main house). All of the rooms are elegantly appointed. It is less than a 10-minute drive to Amboise, with its variety of restaurants.

The Chateau also serves one of the nicest breakfasts I've ever had in France, in a beautiful little dining room with fireplace overlooking the valley. To work off all those locally-made jams, take a hike on the adjoining trails which go on for miles.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cessnapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews