We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop over”
Review of L'Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Hermitage
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buzancais
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stop over”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Ideal overnight stay en route to the south of France. Quiet location with lovely garden - produce used in the kitchen and cut flowers for the tables. Friendly owners and staff, slightly quirky, dated decor but clean and comfortable. Dinner very good but agree with another reviewer that breakfast was rather expensive. Room in the main hotel was fine with modern bathroom, but nowhere to hang towels or clothes whilst washing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geri711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
83
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was just a one night stay where we had diner but did not have breakfast. Our room was in the annexe perhaps a little bland but the room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and even apologetic for having to place us in the annexe.
The meal was reasonably priced with sufficient choice and was of a fairly high standard. The dining room was in two halves with one half looking out on to the grounds but there were only sufficient guests to use the more traditional half during our stay though this was clean and attractive.
The town is only a short walk away and, from our brief evening visit, seemed pleasant enough.
In all, a hotel well worth using if you're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themorrisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was a quick stop off for us prior to a day in Chateauroux.
Overall quality of rooms and welcome was good, the garden is really nice - the dog enjoyed it.
We only had breakfast which was ok.
No problems with anything but it left us a bit cold - felt as though the target audience was a bit older then us.
However, for one night ......why not!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P68B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel and would return. Our room was in the annexe. The room was comfortable and the bathroom very good with lots of hot water! In the evening we ate in the lovely bright dining room and enjoyed an excellent meal. The grounds are delightful and you can take a pleasant meander down to the river. The only slight point would be that the breakfast is expensive and compared to the evening meal is not good value. Next time we would take the evening meal but not have breakfast.
However we would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in the annexe which was very modern so can't comment on the main house. We had a lovely alfresco dinner taking benefit of the evening warmth. The service and menu were superb. The clientele were a good mix of locals and tourists which is always a good testament to a venue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieBorderCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Small hotel in a pretty setting. Quirky rooms. very friendly owner and staff. Great food and very lovely atmosphere. In the summer would be wonderul as it is on the river. Also secure parking.
Would reccomend it to anyone

Room Tip: between the old and quirky and the new rooms in a seperate building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We always break our journey to and from our holiday gite at the L`Hermitage and they continue to maintain excellent standards of both food and accommodation. Madam and her staff are very friendly and work hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambswonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buzancais
0.0 mi away
Chateau de Boisrenault
Chateau de Boisrenault
#2 of 2 in Buzancais
59 reviews
14.2 mi away
Relais Saint Jacques Chateauroux
14.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Colbert
Best Western Hotel Colbert
#1 of 12 in Chateauroux
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
57 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ace Hotel Chateuaroux
21.1 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage

Property: L'Hermitage
Address: 1 Chemin de Vilaine, 36500 Buzancais, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Buzancais
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buzancais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your L'Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing