We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Hermitage
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buzancais
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Whenever we travel to the south of France, we try to stay at l'Hermitage. It's always a nice experience, in a way it's like coming home;
Rooms are very correct and clean, good bathroom, very nice view over the lovely garden (we always try to reserve room n° 5).
Food is always very nice (we prefer to take their set menus, which are correctly priced), although their wines are good but a bit expensive. The restaurant is very cosy and inviting. When the weather is nice, they have a beautiful terrace where you can take your apero, have breakfast or dinner, or just sit and enjoy their lovely garden.
After your meal, go for a walk in their garden, or just relax and admire the trees and flowers. At the back you'll find the Indre.
We certainly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laureyssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    55
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
81
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel is a gem, set in an ordinary street but with enormous grounds including formal and vegetable gardens and parkland to the river bank. The hotel is a charmingly extended mansion with rooms also in a modern but tasteful extension. It is great for an overnight stay with a meal in the excellent restaurant, or a longer stay with some time to relax and enjoy the garden or tour around. The Friday market in the town is good fun.
The staff are friendly and the M & Mme who own the hotel are very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreakyDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed here overnight. A lovely small, old hotel with nice gardens. Our room was one of the better ones I think, with a large bathroom, however, the toilet was in a cupboard, very strange! There is no where to eat around there that we could see (although we did arrive very late) so had to eat in the hotel which was quite formal but impeciale service and we felt very spoiled at 26 euros each. The staff were very friendly and even ironed my partners shirt for him when he went searching for an ironing board. No English spoken here so brush up on your French!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljfWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

This was our third visit in four years and the meals were originally excellent but this year the accountants seem to have got at the menu and my meal was meagre and not very well cooked.
But at least I had a bathroom with a toilet in it.
The toilet has always been in a cupboard near the bed in the previous rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baksheesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

After a long, but possible, drive from Calais this is perfect for a one night stay en route to SW France. It is very quiet being on the outskirts of the village and has its own courtyard for parking, which is locked overnight. The hotel building itself is typically French and creeper covered , with modern additions in the form of an extra wing of rooms and a pleasant restaurant with outside eating area. It has a large garden running down to the river, with outside sitting areas and a wonderful kitchen garden, the produce of which was evident at dinner.
The double room we had in the new wing was excellent - of average size, a good bathroom and wonderful big fluffy bath towels! Dinner, outside in the shade of trees, was good value with various set menus and typical french cooking. The staff were helpful and friendly, and this is certainly a hotel I would use again for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carpet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

Stayed here for 1 night in June. We had booked a room with bath (many have only showers) well in advance and were given what is probably the best room, with a small balcony overlooking the garden. The room itself was pleasant, but the bed was not terribly comfortable. The bathroom was large, with twin basins. But the toilet was housed in a cupboard about a yard from the top of the bed...

The food in the restaurant was ok, but we thought that too much attention was paid to presentation rather than quality. My fish was overcooked. Had a big shock when we paid the bill the following morning - our after dinner cognacs were €15 each!

The staff all seemed pleasant and friendly, although we were not told about the secure parking when checking in.

Note if you look on the michelin website for this hotel it directs you to a village 11 km away!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank thetwojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

Stayed here several times over 10 years or so with growing family. Now under new and good management, with continuing tradition of a good table at reasonable cost.
Comfortable if slightly small rooms- see Logis de France for current rates-they give it 3 chimneys-nice dining room with good food at good price, wine by carafe discontinued now( sign of the times) , lovely large gardens down to the river Indre,and peace & quiet. Good security for cars within locked at night walls and gate.Elegant yet inexpensive. Excellent RQP - rapport qualité/prix here. Richard Binns would have approved, but the great man may never have discovered this little gem. Quite formal (but unstuffy) dining room if that scares you - I like that.
Really lovely and worthwhile stopover North/South or return - we use as only night stop between Minervois & Calais - slight treat but saves against 2 average hotels.Very near Loire Valley too.Strongly recommended but book ahead, esp weekends, as it's popular.

  • Liked — high standard not high price
  • Disliked — bedrooms on the small side
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank etinArcadiaEgo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buzancais
0.0 mi away
Chateau de Boisrenault
Chateau de Boisrenault
#2 of 2 in Buzancais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Colbert
BEST WESTERN Hotel Colbert
#1 of 12 in Chateauroux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Chateauroux Deols
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Relais Saint Jacques
Relais Saint Jacques
#1 of 1 in Coings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
16.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Amarys Chateauroux
Inter-Hotel Amarys Chateauroux
#1 of 2 in Le Poinconnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
21.1 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage

Property: L'Hermitage
Address: 1 Chemin de Vilaine, 36500 Buzancais, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Buzancais
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buzancais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing