We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Landudec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Guilguiffin
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The “Chateau de Guilguiffin is most probably one of the greatest and most remarkable places you can stay at. It is not a chateau turned into a boring and anonymous hotel but still a genuine chateau from 15th century where you get a room and stay with other people for several days. This is maybe an important information for you if you want a posh hotel with luxury services.

The welcome to the chateau was really friendly. It was like “come in and feel at home” or “my chateau is your chateau”. Almost the whole building is opened for the guests. If you like, you can bring your food or have dinner in the salon downstairs or outside in the huge garden. (This is of cause only possible, because the Chateau does not have an own restaurant.)

Breakfast is eaten in “family style” at a huge table in the kitchen of the chateau where you can talk with other guests / the owners of the chateau. I am honest and have to admit that I am the type of person that does not talk much before one litre of coffee. So I wasn’t too pleased at first with that situation. But actually I found that I liked if quite well after the first morning. Somehow this is the special thing about this place. Staying in the Chateau is not anonymous as in a hotel. The breakfast itself, to finally mention this, is okay but nothing fance. But that is typically French I’d say.

Our room, sorry: salon, was huge, almost sized as a flat. Next to the huge bedroom with a great view out into the garden (park) there’s a smaller room with a TV set and a bathroom. Furniture and everything in the rooms looks authentic (I am sure much of the things there are authentic). So staying in such a room becomes something quite special. You maybe could think that old equals shabby. But no, everything was perfectly tidy. So I really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drscheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

We first visited Le Guilguiffin in 1971, when Philippe Davy had begun the herculean labor of restoring it to its massive 18th century splendor. He is an uncompromising architect and builder, undaunted by the scale of the place. The synthesis of austere gray stonework and soft Breton light makes for an unlikely atmosphere of prettiness about the chateau and its lavish parks. And despite the grandeur of the main house and its outbuildings--chapel and stables and cottages--the experience of being at Le Guilguiffin is above all restful and comfortable. This is as Philippe and Angelika wish it. Their ease and charm are inbred. Considerate and helpful, they are unoppressive, encouraging guests to explore at their chosen pace. To have such a retreat as home base in this astonishingly beautiful edge of France--in the neighborhood of Quimper, Audierne, Douarnanez and Cap Finistere--is to be more than especially glad to be alive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our visit was so pleasant we extended our stay another two days. Phillipe and Angelika are ideal hosts - charming, helpful, good humored and warm - and the chateau and its grounds are simply splendid. This is an deal location from which to explore the South Finisterre area of Brittany.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenmtnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay at Chateau Guilguiffin was absolutely delightful. We stayed for three nights with our adult children - all of us found it enchanting. Our hosts, Philippe and Angelica could not have been warmer or more welcoming. They went out of their way to help us with local sightseeing plans and restaurant recommendations, often sitting with us in the breakfast room (with open fire) marking local highlights on the map.

The Chateau itself has a wonderful sense of authenticity and history. The rooms are large and charming without being grand or opulent. The location is great for exploring the fascinating towns (especially Quimper) at the tip of Brittany.

Very hard to fault - Our only tiny suggestion for improvement would be to use pure cotton sheets. Otherwise, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneysiders005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Very nice location for this chateau in Brittany. The parc is nice, even if the garden is not up to standard for a chateau (could be alot better), however the grounds are absolutly smashing!! The bedroom we stayed in was well furnished, the overall service is OK. This was an nice first time experience in Brittany.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madbrittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Beautiful environment - felt as though I was in a beautiful dream. A fairy-tale experience.
Philippe and Angelika Davy, the owners of the chateau were extremely hospitable and gracious. If anyone wants to visit Brittany this is the PLACE to stay. A truly inspiring visit. Beautiful walking paths and lush gardens plus close to the quaint town of Quimper. Would have loved to stay longer. The chateau is magnificient as well as the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed here with our UK family for 4 nights while looking at the Quimper area where my Great Great grandmother had come from in 1800s to NZ.
A little hard to find in country area, and having driven from Nantes and arriving in the evening, found it a bit disappointing to have no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms or lounge areas. That for us this was a big minus as it meant the only time you could have a hot drink was at breakfast, or otherwise travel out some distance away.
The Chateau is a beautiful old place and pretty comfortable on the whole. Parking plentiful. Breakfast ok. Fascinating history as so many of these old places have.
Quite expensive. If ever went to Brittany again would stay nearer to a village or city. However on coming back to NZ it was nice to be able to say we had stayed in a chateau.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kiwitravellersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Guilguiffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Guilguiffin

Address: Chateau de Guilguiffin, 29710 Landudec, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Landudec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Landudec
Price Range: $153 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chateau De Guilguiffin France/Brittany - Landudec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing