We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prehistorical site of Castel-Merle
Review Highlights
Be a Spear Thrower!

A nice look at the way Cro Magnon man lived. You even get a chance to throw a spear with an... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
Craig T
,
San Rafael, California
Fantastic guide!!

This is certainly worth a visit. Delightful setting and a guide who is the Lady Mayor of the... read more

Reviewed June 22, 2017
OsloScot
,
Oslo, Norway
Read all 58 reviews
  
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
44
9
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
44
9
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cro magnon man skills sites public cave spear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 58 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2017

This is certainly worth a visit. Delightful setting and a guide who is the Lady Mayor of the community who really knows the history!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank OsloScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

an extraordinary setting packed with history: pre-historic, roman, medieval, present day
we were privy to an informative presentation of the skills, trades of pre-historic peoples and how they gathered to exchange their knowledge much as modern man does today at conferences
You can walk through the forest all the way to St Leon sur Vezère from this site
wonderfully atmospheric

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank globalartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We spent a delightful couple of hours at this humble archaeological site. Part of its charm is not being an attraction with a capital A. Its background as a major centre for nomadic Palaeolithic populations has been only partially revealed for visitors. More evidence must lie within the collapsed rock shelter, or abri, sites which haven't yet been explored along the base of the limestone cliffs overlooking the Vézere. It was Isabelle, a relation of one of the original investigators at Castel Merle who greeted us the day we visited, keeping her family tradition alive. She was happy to deliver her guided tour in English as well as French. Her English was more than adequate and evocative as well, buoyed by tremendous enthusiasm for a place she obviously has known well for years. We arrived just out-of-season, so some of the summer animations such as flint-knapping and fire-lighting weren't on offer, but we were each able to try our hand at using a sagaie, or spear, with an antler-tipped propulseur. A reconstructed Palaeolithic roundhouse dwelling was on display and there is a small abri on site that can be visited (with resident bats), the Abri Reverdit, though unfortunately it is much degraded. A self-guided woodland walk along the cliffs leading to the river revealed other shelter sites (and exposed 'gisements', or archaeological layers), including some that were used for refuge during the unstable times of The Hundred Years War. An information board at the site claims there is a small artefact museum, but it wasn't included in the tour and we weren't told where it was or when it was open. Some of the most special relics from Castel Merle, the 'parure', or handmade jewellery can be seen in the Musée de Préhistoire in Les Eyzies. They are incredibly fine and amongst the oldest in Europe. Castel Merle is quite remote, near the village of Sergeac, which has an excellent public toilet. Use it before you visit. There are no sanitary facilities on site, though you can buy soft drinks and souvenirs.

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank loulourella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

This was an amazing day, memorable beyond description (although I'll try). Our group was scheduled for a full day of learning at Castle Merle. First major insight, we were not "cave men" we were shelter dwellers. And the shelters, occupied by Cro-Magnon man are 35,000 years old! And you see them for real - you also see how they are deteriorating because of pollution, and mankind in general. We were met by the property owner Isabelle Castanet who gave us a guided tour of the shelters and a nice introduction to the prehistoric artist. We then met Nicholas – who was mentored by Isabelle’s grandfather in flint knapping and all things Cro-Magnon. We had workshops in sculpture *using only tolls that Cro-Magnon would have used – Nicholas made them for us - another surprise evidence of jewelry was found, we always have wanted to adorn our homes and our bodies! Capped off the day with some spear throwing, so fun, and a private tour of Isabelle’s grandfather’s collection of artifacts. This was a magical day and I strongly recommend booking a full day at Castle Merle regardless of your age!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2015

WE had a comfortable room adjacent to the garden. We dined in two nights and both dinners were excellent. We eat in some nearby villages on the other two nights. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. We extended our stay as long as we could. The view from the garden over the valley is beautiful. Dining in the garden is very enjoyable too. A very relaxing place. We'd love to return to this gem. June 2014

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank JEG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews