We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best deal of our trip.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sergeac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge de Castel Merle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sergeac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We arrived about 7:30 in the evening and were told to be in the dining room no later than 8:00. We threw our bags in the room and raced to the dining room for our first dinner of the trip and in retrospect, one of the best. The breakfasts and dinners for the next two days were outstanding and very well served. The wines were local, reasonable and excellent.
Our room was simple, clean and comfortable. A few conversations with Christopher, the chef and owner, were very helpful for our day trips into the country and for buying wine. We had a very positive experience at Castel Merle.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

We have just spent eight days in the Dordogne and three of those at the Auberge de Castel Merle. This is a truly magical place. If you are looking for a rustic, peaceful, dreamy sanctuary, then this is for you. Firstly the views are amazing and supper overlooking the Vezere River and villages of Sergeac and St Leon is breathtaking and of course incredibly romantic. There are chateaux and 12th Century churches in view and the hint of more round the corner. The food is simple but delicious regional fare. Mushrooms, garlic, wild boar, fresh figs, home made jams, delicious honey and the local nut flavoured fortified wines served as aperitifs. We fully expected to eat out in the evening but were drawn by the simple chalk board informing you of the evenings menu de jour, to be viewed by the door as we came in for breakfast. The auberge staff were friendly, efficient and unintrusive. You got the sense that this place was deeply connected to the local community and that the family running it were part of the very backbone of this community. The rooms were auberge style but not luxuriant so if you need all mod cons they won’t appeal, particularly in the bathroom department. They also provide pack lunches if you fancy going off for a hike or a cycle. Will definitely be going back. Oh, and they also have a public tennis court in Sergeac village, so take your rackets. It was like going back in time. Just what was needed after a hectic time in London.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monro68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We spent five nights at this charming and tranquil country hotel. Located in the tiny village of Sergeac, along the Vérzère river in the Dordogne, the Auberge de Castel-Merle is very well situated for visits to prehistoric cave paintings, magnificent castles, and lovely hikes. The owners, who speak perfect English, are attentive to every detail. (I hate to admit this part: the WiFi is also excellent, and free). The restaurant is also very good, with several local dishes and a nice selection of wine. We found the prices very reasonable. I would love to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peterinannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2005

A small auberge in a lovely location. The weather didn't help our stay as it turned very cold with high winds, and the bedroom was cold. Not over impressed with evening meal.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubecas, Propriétaire at Auberge de Castel Merle, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Sorry I have taken so long to answer to this comment!You will be happy to know that the heating system in that room has been changed so you can have the exact temmperature you desire .The rooms are all climatised also for the summer.As for our cuisine we do traditional home made 'slow' food which is less spectacular than some fashionable cooking,but alot of people enjoy as you can judge by the comments of other guests.Chris&Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Livingston, Scotland
15
Reviewed April 26, 2005

Had a lovely meal (wild boar if I remember correctly) while we stayed at the gite of the owners. The restaurant is perched on a bluff high above the Vezere river. You can eat outside watching the striking sunset over the river.

Stayed: July 2002
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Defi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dortdine, Propriétaire at Auberge de Castel Merle, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre une chambre avec vue sur la campagne .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank languedoc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sergeac
5.4 mi away
Hotel de Bouilhac
Hotel de Bouilhac
#4 of 6 in Montignac
30 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#1 of 6 in Montignac
212 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#2 of 6 in Montignac
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
367 reviews
7 mi away
Hotel Albizia
Hotel Albizia
#21 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Castel Merle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Castel Merle

Address: Castelmerle, 24290 Sergeac, Montignac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac > Sergeac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sergeac
Price Range: $71 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de Castel Merle 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge de Castel Merle is perched on a roc overlooking the vezere valley with medaeval villages below.Breakfast is served in our garden or périgordian breakfast room.Restaurant walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge De Castel Merle Sergeac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing