We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem of a place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sergeac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge de Castel Merle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sergeac
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A true gem of a place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

When planning a visit to the Perigord we found this hotel on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. It was outside a quaint little village and well located within the region. Absolutely peaceful and quiet. The room was well decorated, large, clean and VERY comfortable. Anita was a wonderful hostess; allowing us to practice our French. Chris gave us a real taste of French country cooking with great tips on wine thrown in. I loved the fact that there were so many different nationalities staying here. Would definitely recommend this place and will stay here again when we return to the area.
Kathleen and Donal
Florida

Room Tip: Stay for dinner!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    24
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
'the world
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you are looking for a central location for visiting the region that is typical of country life, this is the spot. We spent 6 idyllic days with demi-pension toward the end of June. Our eyes, ears and hearts are full of pleasant memories. The hotel is comfortable and well-appointed for a country inn. Breakfast and dinner on the cliff overlooking the valley started and ended our day with visual delights. The food is adequate, though this year it seems budgets are tight everywhere in France. The setting more than fulfilled our needs, however. This is a must-do stopover for those in need of a real change of scenery and lifestyle pace.

Room Tip: Room 2 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pictograms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent one night here in May. Staff is very accomodating. Setting is rural, very tranquil with an amazing view of the Vezere River. We ate in the large garden, overlooking the river and valley. Our meal was excellent and very reasonably priced. Numerous caves and aubris with ancient paintings and carvings are nearby. We had requested a room with twin beds, but were given a queen instead. Otherwise, rating would be 5.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregoncowgirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'the world
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are looking for a central location for visiting the region that is typical of country life, this is the spot. We spent 6 idyllic days with demi-pension toward the end of June. Our eyes, ears and hearts are full of pleasant memories. The hotel is comfortable and well-appointed for a country inn. Breakfast and dinner on the cliff overlooking the valley started and ended our day with visual delights. The food is adequate, though this year it seems budgets are tight everywhere in France. The setting more than fulfilled our needs, however. This is a must-do stopover for those in need of a real change of scenery and lifestyle pace.

Room Tip: Number 2 was delightful with a large double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pictograms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

A three night stay was not long enough at this lovely old auberge. Stunning views from the garden overlooking the river Vezere and, although the late May/early June evenings were rather cool, we were able to take dinner outside whilst watching the peregrines and kites flying off the cliffs nearby. Owners were charming and helpful and food better than the 1-pot logis classification would suggest. Rooms not over-large but very comfortable - and everything worked! This whole area is outstandingly beautiful and we shall certainly want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, East Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at this wonderful auberge. The owners were kind and helpful. The restaurant was not open on the Sunday night, but on Monday we had a delicious meal of soupe de campagne and duck which was cooked to perfection. The room looked out over the courtyard. It was all so peaceful. There was a lovely garden, with seating for outdoor dining, with a view looking out over the river below. An out of the way place to find but well worth it. A great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrieandTeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here last week for a night while we were in this part of France.It was a complete find,the kind of family run,characterful hotel you rarely find in these parts these days.The welcome from the owners Chris and Anita Millinship was warm(they speak good English) and they were a fount of knowledge about the area including the Templar village ,Sergeac,where the Auberge is situated just outside of the nearest town of Montignac.The drive from here to the hotel is magical- alongside the Vezere river and by two Chateaux.
When you get to the hotel it really is picture perfect,a rustic sand coloured stone building and an unbelievably scenic terrace with a view for miles.We had a couple of drinks and just enjoyed it.Chris told us about the history of the area and suggested places to visit .This area is the centre of prehistory but also has so much more.
The deal here is what we thought was a very lovely room plus an extensive breakfast featuring wonderful home made preserves,croissants etc and dinner.
This was a highlight for us.We ate on the terrace and watched the sun setting.The food is excellent and typical of this area.There is a set menu which changes each day but there is also an a la carte menu.The confit de canard was the best i have had and the portions were hearty.We paired our meal with a Pecharment red which was exceptional.
We will be going back for longer next time to explore the area and to enjoy this charming and peaceful country hotel.
Its also very easy on the wallet.We thought the cost was much lower than we are used to for this quality in what is a pretty touristic part of France.I don't know how they offer such good value but everything about this little auberge says its a labour of love.

Room Tip: We stayed in the self contained one on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonathanR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sergeac
5.6 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#1 of 5 in Montignac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Montignac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Archambeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le P'tit Monde
Le P'tit Monde
#4 of 5 in Montignac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Castel Merle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Castel Merle

Property: Auberge de Castel Merle
Address: Castelmerle, 24290 Sergeac, Montignac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac > Sergeac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sergeac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de Castel Merle 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge de Castel Merle is perched on a roc overlooking the vezere valley with medaeval villages below.Breakfast is served in our garden or périgordian breakfast room.Restaurant walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge De Castel Merle Sergeac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing