We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly French!”

Review of La Vieille Auberge

Exterior, front/side view of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior, front/side view of house
Front view of house Side view with original sign advertising Coaching Inn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Exterior, front/side view of house
Front view of house
Side view with original sign advertising Coaching Inn
Double bedroom (en-suite)
Twin bedroom (en-suite)
Double Bedroom (seperate shower downstairs)
Log burning range cooker (electric cooker also installed)
CHRISTMAS....  Mid November / December, a decorated Christmas tree will welcome your arrival.
Part of the rear garden
Part of the rear garden
House next to the village church
Outside a bar in St Privat, mid October......YES OCTOBER !
The Dordogne river
Hire a canoe on the Dordogne in Argentat. big enough for 3 people, safe, comfortable and great fun!
Country walk (just down the road from the house)
..........further along the road
I live in the front garden wall and I love sunshine :-)
Early morning mist in the nearby hills
A view from nearby 'Salers'. A place you MUST visit!
Relaxing in the evening
The morning after the night before!
One of the locals!
Poppy's in June
Flowers in the village
Nearby historic site: La Tour de Merle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Argentat, Argentat-sur-Dordogne, Correze, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cparker71...
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly French!”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent a week at this lovely old house in the heart of the Correze region. It was a perfect home from home with everything we could hope for to make our stay hassle free. We loved the area and enjoyed visiting the towns and villages, with a special day out in canoes paddling down the Dordogne. Would do that again! Thanks to Neil (the owner) for the bread, a lovely bottle of wine and a superb Camembert. Hope to come back one day before too long.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Wonderful guests!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Much appreciated.
Regards
Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOYENI
JHB
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“french fairytale”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2012

A spectacular drive through the quintessential French countryside had us arriving late on a balmy September evening at La Vieille Auberge. Neil, the owner had provided us with excellent directions from the airport plus advice to stock up with groceries in Argentat at the local supermarket called "Casino". This detour was longer than planned. We lost ourselves in hedonistic delight at the cheese counter, bakery and fresh produce. I could barely drag my husband away from the well stocked wine shelves. The little village of St Julien aux Bois is so perfect as to appear unreal. One expects the characters of all ones favourite fairytales to be sauntering about. Obviously the photos on the booking website give some indication of what la Vieille looks like but we were still thoroughly enchanted before we'd even applied key to lock. And the first impression of that glorious minstrel gallery as you do enter is breathtaking. We're seasoned travellers. Perhaps slightly jaded too. But we were instantly smitten. The house thrums with history and warmth and welcome. Although it's been modernised to provide for your comfort, much of it's originality has been gently retained. From the flag stoned kitchen to bedrooms nestled under eaves, from tiny little windows with wooden shutters to a staircase burnished to a gentle arc on every step, to exposed beams and slippered baths, from feather duvets to the dulcet hourly ringing of the local church bells, from stone walls to country views, from ancient roof tiles to your own dungeon. It felt libellous to be English. We not only made merry in the kitchen with all things French (tarragon in our omelettes - too divine) and roasted the walnuts that were in season (and drizzled in honey when still warm) but found ourselves infusing every word with a french accent. We spent most days touring the countryside and it is worth touring! A canoe trip down the Dordogne had us disembarking at the wrong "port" and when the tour guide failed to collect us at the time arranged, we shouldered our canoe and paddles to walk back thinking they'd closed shop and forgotten all about us. I'm sure they are still relating the tale of two South Africans (one big and hirsute and one tiny and blonde) walking stoically back to town to return same before the guide realised we had misunderstood her and she heroically saved us just before we arrived back at base. We also made use of the bicycles so thoughtfully provided by the owner. But I warn you. If you cycle out of town hills appear overnight. We pushed our bikes to the outdoors museum, popping lungs and using all our pejorative French.
In 2012, La Vieille was a few hours from the nearest airport. So our early morning flight back home incurred a before dawn rising. The smell of the earth. the view from the bedroom window, the chittering birds and the sunrise will remain one of my most vibrant memories. We left St Julien with the church bells ringing in the dawn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house.
Liked least: There is no cupboard space for groceries in the kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2014
To anyone reading this review - please be assured I DID NOT pay for this to be written. It is without doubt the loveliest review I have ever received and so beautifully written. Thank you so much. I hope you will return one day soon.
Neil Wright
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dinner gong - every home should have one!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Lorna - how very lovely of you to take the time to write such a review of your holiday. It brought a lasting smile to my face - thank you.
I hope you return one day.
Kind regards
Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Hi Katrina,
Thanks for taking the time to submit your opinion of La Vieille Auberge.
So pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
Kind regards
Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just had a great time with my Daughter,enjoyed doing things together ie..bike riding canoeing, and walking.
Liked least: Leaving!!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham
Reviewed May 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A unique gite.
Liked least: Small garden for the size of gite.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2010

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House is full of character and the furnishings were of a high standard.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing