We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central position in Porvoo”
Review of Hotel Sparre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sparre
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Porvoo
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Central position in Porvoo”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel has a central position, 2 minutes walk from the bus station and the old town. The size of the room is correct and there is a courtesy tray.

What is surprising for me, because the price is not cheap, is that the room is only cleaned once a week and you have to ask for it. There is no staff during the night, just an emergency service (not free), if you'd need some help. The buffet for the breakfast is OK, different kinds of food, even if there is not a great choice for each kind. For example, just boiled eggs.

According to the prices in Finland, it's not too bad, I would probably come back there if I had to go to Porvoo again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joëlle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
15
23
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is excellent if you don't need any extreme luxury in your stay.

Simple, clean, cheap, great location. Parking place downstairs.

Absolutely no complaints what so ever but it is not the most romantic place ever.

Price and quality are match made in heaven here.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lemmy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I firstly want to say that I think very carefully before berating or criticising a business.I am not hot headed and consider the implications before I speak.But.....
This hotel was nothing short of appalling.I appreciate that the cost of living in Finland is far higher than in the UK Nevertheless this hotel was about £100 a night.
It is situated above some shops in the centre of town (its only redeeming feature!) within buildings probably built in the 1950s/60s The foyer and lift is uninviting and dirty,the lift not always working.
We booked for 4 nights,the room was basic with broken furniture.The shower cubicle was nothing short of disgraceful the shower itself was powerful and i spent a good 10 minutes spraying the surface dirt off before I used it.
Breakfast was awful,it consisted of the cheapest most basic food.After the first morning we went into the town and found a cafe for breakfast.
Fortunately,not until the last night did I discover that the mattress had no mattress cover and
was severely stained.There is just no excuse good enough for that.
The staff were quite unhelpful (unusual for Finland ) but I think they were very overworked and despondent.
I hope never to have such a horrid experience again.

Room Tip: All rooms as far as I could see were the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porvoo hotels

Terrace Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were attending a wedding in Porvoo and required a room. Even though rooms had been set aside for guest, the hotel had no knowledge of the rate and no no knowledge of the reservations. The WiFi did not work at first. Assistance at the desk was poor. Finally able to get the WiFi to work. Parking was another special treat. The spot assigned for the rental car was taken by another. Forced to park on the street and incurred a fine as a result. No compensation from the hotel, but did take payment without even offering a special room rate. It was a totally frustrating experience after having flown in from Canada.

Room Tip: We had a 'Superior" room, suitable for 3 or 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensioner270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

stayed here just before christmas for the night, hotel had a good location though the room was very tired and breakfast was poor so considering the price paid for the room overall a little underwhelming .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leroy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larsmo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is very good - the hotel is in the center of the town and a few minute's walk from the Old Town and the Cathedral of Porvoo. Many shops and restaurants very close.

The room was functional, and the bathroom/shower was good. The hotel was apparently slightly understaffed, with only one person handling both the reception and the breakfast restaurant. The breakfast was sufficient, The carpet in the corridor was not very clean.

All in all, it is a fairly good choice for a one-night stay (mainly because of the location).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mats L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is right next to the bus station, so the location is very convenient. The beautiful old town is a small walk away. There is a restarurant/bar across the street and there are excellent restaurants within walking distance.

The room had sticky floors and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned very well.

Breakfast is very basic.

The hotel's decor is stuck in the 80's. Reminded me of a cruise ship from that era.

The lady at the reception was very friendly and accommodating which is always a plus.

I wouldn't want to stay here again but if I had to choose between Sparre or the other hotel across the bus station, I'd choose Sparre. If you are looking for a romantic hotel, this is not it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porvoo
0.1 mi away
Seurahovi Hotel
Seurahovi Hotel
#3 of 5 in Porvoo
35 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pariisin Ville
Hotel Pariisin Ville
#2 of 5 in Porvoo
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Scandic Jarvenpaa
Scandic Jarvenpaa
#1 of 1 in Jarvenpaa
178 reviews
19.8 mi away
Finlandia Hotel Degerby
Finlandia Hotel Degerby
#1 of 1 in Loviisa
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guest House Stranda
Guest House Stranda
#3 of 12 in Porvoo
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sparre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sparre

Property: Hotel Sparre
Address: Piispankatu 34, Porvoo 06100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Porvoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Porvoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sparre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy , quiet hotel right in the centre of idyllic town of Porvoo. 40 Rooms with bathrooms. Buffet breakfast and free wi-fi included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sparre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing