We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Hotel Sparre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sparre
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Porvoo
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is very good - the hotel is in the center of the town and a few minute's walk from the Old Town and the Cathedral of Porvoo. Many shops and restaurants very close.

The room was functional, and the bathroom/shower was good. The hotel was apparently slightly understaffed, with only one person handling both the reception and the breakfast restaurant. The breakfast was sufficient, The carpet in the corridor was not very clean.

All in all, it is a fairly good choice for a one-night stay (mainly because of the location).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 65 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is right next to the bus station, so the location is very convenient. The beautiful old town is a small walk away. There is a restarurant/bar across the street and there are excellent restaurants within walking distance.

The room had sticky floors and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned very well.

Breakfast is very basic.

The hotel's decor is stuck in the 80's. Reminded me of a cruise ship from that era.

The lady at the reception was very friendly and accommodating which is always a plus.

I wouldn't want to stay here again but if I had to choose between Sparre or the other hotel across the bus station, I'd choose Sparre. If you are looking for a romantic hotel, this is not it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

It was a pleasant weekend stay at a nice small hotel in Porvoo. The room was clean and bright and everything worth every penny.
The hotel location is 10 mins of lazy walk to the old town.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

If to pick at, the room was 'pretty cool' at night - around 22 C, late October, with heater reg at max. Sauna'd be handy yet you have to book one beforehand.
Reception closed at 10 PM.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neposeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Only one night on a business trip, with minimal use of facilities. The room was spacious and had everything required. Comfy bed and not too hot. The bathroom was a little tired, but the shower was terrific.
I don't like the current fad with soap/shower dispensers stuck to the wall; just too institutional.

Front desk staff were friendly and informative. The breakfast was average, verging on poor, particularly the coffee - but there was plenty of it and with variety.

All in all a servicable hotel in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennywithoutacause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Rooms look to have been redecorated recently and our room was very nice, good bathroom, comfy double bed. 2 mins walk from the old town and bus station and en route from the ferry stop to the old town. No complaints at all, and Porvoo is definitely worth an overnight stay. Eat or drink at Johans which was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle_Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The Sparre won't win any prizes for beauty especially being a stone's throw from the pretty old town area of Porvoo. It makes up for this with friendly and helpful staff and comfortable if tired rooms. Traffic noise can be a problem during the day but dies away at night. It's handy for the bus station and the tourist traps of Old Porvoo. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in Sparre for one night during our summer holiday. The staff was very friendly, and the location of the hotel is good. It's a short walk away from the old town, but also close to shops and restaurants.
The rooms are a bit weird and it looks like the beds have been rearranged from their original positions. We were able to hear the car noises from the street, but luckily traffic wasn't too heavy. The breakfast was ok.
The hotel has a safe parking lot, which makes life easier. Just check the details from the reception.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porvoo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pariisin Ville
Hotel Pariisin Ville
#2 of 5 in Porvoo
95 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa
0.1 mi away
Seurahovi Hotel
Seurahovi Hotel
#4 of 5 in Porvoo
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hotel Degerby
Hotel Degerby
#1 of 1 in Loviisa
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ida-Maria Old Town B&B
Ida-Maria Old Town B&B
#2 of 12 in Porvoo
39 reviews
6.6 mi away
Seikkailulaakso
Seikkailulaakso
#7 of 12 in Porvoo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sparre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sparre

Address: Piispankatu 34, Porvoo 06100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Porvoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Porvoo
Price Range: $140 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sparre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy , quiet hotel right in the centre of idyllic town of Porvoo. 40 Rooms with bathrooms. Buffet breakfast and free wi-fi included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Sparre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing