We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa hotel is not the manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Porvoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hotel has two sides: the actual manor and spa. We stayed in the spa side, which was rather old-fashioned in a 80's-congress-way.
Bed however was good and breakfast just excellent. Very wide selection and very nice gluten-free selection&service. Breakfast was served in the main building (manor).
Minibar was very reasonably priced, but slippers cost extra 3 euros.
We also used the spa, which was quite small but nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was one of the places I always wanted to visit since it looks so good in brochures and it is well known in Finland. The brochures are all about that manor and beautiful grounds so concrete block comes a bit as surprise:)

There are at least 3 different kinds of rooms: romantic and tired rooms in the manor and some tired and some updated rooms in the "newer" part of the hotel. I had one of those updated rooms and I was quite happy with the room, althought the view was toward concrete building. The room had nice fresh colors, laminate flooring and small but nice bathroom. I would stay in that room again but probably not in those other rooms.

We also ate in the restaurant 3 times. The two lunches were salmon and reindeer and I did not like either of them very much, just basic stuff which I would not order again. The 3-course dinner was just ok because it tasted mass-produced (which it was since there were 80 of us). Wine was good though and I think they have potential for very good meals. The breakfast and all pastries they offered during coffee breaks were great. Service was very good both in hotel and restaurants.

I stayed here in March for conference so the park was covered with snow. I would love to see the beautiful grounds in summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Came there for lunch with family 10 people ranging in age of 2-87. The lunch menu was superb and all but the very smallest had it. Service was unusually attentive AND with a superb attitude towards both young and old.
The starting raspberry-peppers cocktail as a compliment of the chef tasted well to everybody!
Its been about 10 years since we last went to Haikko (then for the buffet), but it will not be as long for the next time.
Taking Runeberg ferry there was a great way to enjoy the day, but we had to logistically get our own cars there in the morning. If you take the ferry you can purchase lunch tickets through the ferry company, or use Stockmann customer card for a discount.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Finn_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent three nights here when my husband had a business meeting. the room was small, but adequate. We had a beautiful view out our window. The breakfast was wonderful. there are many beautiful walks and paths. I took the bus into Porvoo to wander around the old city. The spa is also very nice, with wonderful staff! It worked for us. Also, you can take the bus to Helsinki Central Station, much cheaper than a taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the Baltic Sea.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GramG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times on business, and found it a pleasant experience, set apart by the location rather than the accommodation. The hotel is in a gorgeous setting, in the woods on the shores of a long fjord off the Gulf of Finland. The centrepiece is the manor house itself, which is a beautiful building, but most of the rooms are in rather uninspiring box-shaped annexes in the grounds. My rooms on both occasions have been comfortable but not memorable - a little more than basic, but nothing special. Some rooms just look out onto the next concrete block, but I imagine if you get a room with a view over the sea it would be much better. Bed was comfortable, and bathroom reasonable; temperature control in the room was by opening the window (though I assume there would be heating in winter!). Staff were very pleasant and helpful, and food in the manor house restaurant was very good: imaginative and well-cooked, with generous portions. However, on both occasions, what raised the level of my stay above average was being able to walk out in the grounds and along the shore - glorious! I would certainly stay here again if here on business.

Room Tip: If possible, pay a little more to get one with a view over the water.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersTale001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Haikon Kartano (or Haikko Manor in English) is an award winning hotel and congress center located just 6km from the fabulous city of Porvoo. It is popular amongst business travellers and is also a very desirable place for weddings and other family celebrations.
The complex consists of the main manor building (the white, splendid one one usually printed on postcards) and less "festive" hotel premises, where the spa and the congress center are located.
The hotel rooms are nice and clean, but the building itself gives a bit of an "outdated" impression.
The spa is not very big, but it has all one needs to relax: steam sauna, traditional sauna, swimming pool, jacuzzi, a pool with hot water (38 centigrate) and it's total opposite - tiny pool with cold water (12 centigrade). The brave ones can also try out the cold room - minus 110 degrees :-)
The fitness lovers will also find a well-equipped gym in the building and lots of tracks suitable for running of just walking outside.

About the food:

It is nice and tasty, of course (3-course menus highly recommended), but You would expect it from an award winning hotel, wouldn't You? While waiting for the main course, we got a cup of cold raspberry-pepper soup with the compliments of the chef, which was a nice surprise. Also the bread was fantastic.

Great buffet-breakfast - try the buckthorn juice and You will be energized for the day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Whatever I was expecting, it was not this. We were told a meal in a local inn. Not a feast. Its nice to be surprised with excellent food, an nice view and terrific white-glove service. If you are near Porvoo, its worth the trip here.
We had just left St Petersburg so the excellent bread (as opposed to the bitter Russsian bread) was a nice surprise, but just wait until you taste the desert. Mousse like you've never tasted before. Enjoy
Editor's note, we arrived as part of a tour, so I am not sure how much of our ticket paid for the meal - or what you will pay if not part of a tour. So I can only say the dessert made it a great value.

Room Tip: We did not stay, we only had a memorable lunch in the Romanov room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porvoo hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pariisin Ville
Hotel Pariisin Ville
#2 of 5 in Porvoo
89 reviews
3.2 mi away
Seurahovi Hotel
Seurahovi Hotel
#4 of 5 in Porvoo
36 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sparre
Hotel Sparre
#5 of 5 in Porvoo
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Onni
Boutique Hotel Onni
#1 of 12 in Porvoo
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ida-Maria Old Town B&B
Ida-Maria Old Town B&B
#2 of 12 in Porvoo
37 reviews
4.4 mi away
Guest House Stranda
Guest House Stranda
#4 of 12 in Porvoo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa

Address: Haikkoontie 114, Porvoo 06400, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Porvoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Porvoo
Price Range: $160 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Haikko Manor & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing