We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very spacious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ribe Byferie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ribe Byferie
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ribe
Certificate of Excellence
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for just one night to have a little extra space....it worked. The apartment had plenty of room to relax and stretch out. The location does have a on site self serve laundry facility which was very welcomed for us after 10 days on vacation. As you may be aware Denmark can be a bit pricy to eat out and the kitchen may come in very useful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    33
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We rented an apartment here for just one night on our way back to Esbjerg. It was a great apartment, clean, comfortable, well equipped and spacious. The location is really good for visiting Ribe - an interesting old town with good restaurants and just a short walk away. Byferie has lots of facilities if you want them and we would imagine it's good for children too, although it was quiet when we were there.

Room Tip: Sound proofing was a bit on the poor side so pick an upper floor apartment if you're a light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matilda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed in one of the apartments in the Easter 2014. We used this place as an starting point when we visited Legoland (a few minutes more than one hour drive if you drive the alternative roads), we also went to the beach of Rømø to watch the beach and all of the people flying the kites.
The apartments was nice for us. We just wished there had been a microwave oven in it. The flooring between the kichen and the living room area was quite noisy, I am not sure if the couple staying under us was bothered when we walked between the areas. My daughter enjoyed the playground outside the apartment a lot.
We enjoyed the areas around the center a lot. It was nice to just walk around in the area around the vacation center and into the Ribe city.
There was free entrance to Ribe swimmingpool, and the Esbjerg waterpark but we did not manage to find the time to use these facilities at this stay.
We will come back an other time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torjussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here with work - what a great place and lots of room space.
each apartment has one bedroom, one bathroom and a kitchen/diner with a small hallway.
Has all of the usual self catering acoutrements......in the kitchen fully equipped but no microwave. Bathroom has basically got hand wash gel and hairdryer provided. Rooms and area are well lit. Large TV in sitting area has CNN in English the rest of the chanels are local or German. Shower has good pressure.
All adds up to a lovely relaxed place. Just sorry I did not get to explore the local area a bit more. Ribe is a really old town with an impressive Viking heritage. We had a packed breakfast during our last stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky-parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We selected Ribe as a destination point for many reasons. It was the start of our summer family holiday and we needed somewhere between Hamburg (Germany) - which was our set-off point, and Legoland in Billund. Ribe is described as Denmark's oldest towns. It is in fact very sweet - but very quite for those who prefer more activities. It has a very sweet small inlet harbour and a main road lined up with a good selection of shops. The town square is charming as well as the houses around it. The Ribe Byferie was our accommodation for 3 nights. Situated within walking distance (10 minutes max) of the town centre, it is made up of a series of apartments in the shape of upper and lower level. The blocks are aligned along the Ribe stream and I honestly cannot find anything but praise for the setup. We are a family of four, including 2 kids, and our apartment had a kitchen, a living room, a bathroom and an additional bedroom. Being a ground floor, we also had a very comfortable back yard. Amply spacious, modern and clean - an excellent base for anyone. The main block houses the reception area (which is open until 6pm daily). Here one can avail himself from free hot drinks, apart from a very well-equipped games room with Table-Tennis, Table-soccer, Playstation and Xbox, other board games etc. It is a fantastic way of spending an hour or so after having been out in the morning and before planning to go out again at night. Breakfast can be ordered from the evening before. The basic breakfast comes in the shape of a paper bag with a selection of aroud 5 different breads, jams, butter, cheese and a fruit juice. Other things can be ordered but I am not sure what these are. There is also a launderette, and fantastic outdoor facilities for warmer summer months - such as a playground, a football pitch and a BBQ area. There is also a safe enclosed parking area for those who like us had a car. By the way, you can take your own linen (sheets and towels), or else you need to rent these for the duration of the stay. Beautiful place and I seriously recommend this setup to anyone planning a visit to this part of Denmark. From this spot we were 90 mintues away from Legoland and 15 minutes away from the island of Mondo. Try it, seriously.

Room Tip: We were lucky to have a room facing the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rambumica1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Being world travelers, the Ribe Byferie is one of the best places we have ever stayed. We had a one bedroom apartment on the ground level that was fully equipped with a nice patio for our 4-day stay. All the modern conveniences you could ask for was there, except a microwave. Staff could not have been more friendly. When booking, be sure to include the morning breakfast. Breakfast every morning was awesome with rolls, yogart, cheese, butter, jams, and orange juice and plenty of it. Ribe Byferie is conveniently located to the point you don't need a vehicle to go into town. With the exception of traveling around the area, our car stayed in Ribe Byferie's gated parking lot. While this is a great family oriented place with many things to do on the premises, it is also a great place for couples. Can't say enough about this location!

Room Tip: I can't think of a bad room you could get here. The facility is off the main road. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed only one night in a one of the smaller apartments (A1) with two little kids. Ribe Byferie is really close to the old town and in good walking distance, this was actually our main requirement and fully fulfilled.

The apartment was clean but everything looked a bit 'old' especially the bathroom / shower. Also the small river outside was a bit smelly. This is complaining on a high-level, but what really annoyed us was that you could hear everything going on in the apartments next to ours.

I think it is a good choice for a larger family group that is staying for a few days and is going to some north sea safaris. However for a small family staying only one night and looking more for a hotel this is maybe not the best choice as it is also quite pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PascalMullerSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribe
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dagmar
Hotel Dagmar
#2 of 6 in Ribe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ribe
Hotel Ribe
#3 of 6 in Ribe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Den Gamle Arrest
Den Gamle Arrest
#5 of 6 in Ribe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hjerting Badehotel
Hjerting Badehotel
#1 of 14 in Esbjerg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
16.0 mi away
Scandic Olympic
Scandic Olympic
#2 of 14 in Esbjerg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Danhostel Ribe
Danhostel Ribe
#3 of 5 in Ribe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribe Byferie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribe Byferie

Property: Ribe Byferie
Address: Damvej 34, Ribe, Esbjerg 6760, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg > Ribe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ribe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribe Byferie 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular holiday centres in Denmark. High standards and beautiful surroundings in the heart of Ribe. Waddensea Nationalpark 2 km. LEGOLAND 55 km. Beach 30 km. Airport 55 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ribe Byferie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing