We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best brunch”

Quedens Gaard Cafe og Krambod
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Ribe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
abenra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The very best brunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We go to brunch at this very cosy restaurant several times, as it is so good. Their other meals looks great also.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Searoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    80
    14
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toftlund, Denmark
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A cosy visit”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Visiting this cosy cafe/shop with its very unique interior design we spent couple of hours eating brunch and chatting. Time flew and before we knew it, we had been sitting and chatting there for over 5 hours.. We were given fantastic service and they left us alone without pushing us to order more than necessary.

My friend's ordered a brunch menu, a salmon sandwich and I ordered the Quedens burger.
For me, the potatoes accompanying my burger were very oily. After a couple of mouthful's I was done with eating them. Too greasy and the over all plate missed seasoning/salt.

Food wise, we have eaten better at other cafe's.

The cafe itself is an experience. They have a lot of items on sale. There is also a courtyard at the back where they serve when the weather allows.

During our visit, the cafe was buzzing with guests. From being a few to being totally jam packed. It is a very lively cafe during the evenings as well and has a lot of live concerts/arrangements.

Will I return for a meal? hmmm I don't think so. I will however return for a good concert and enjoy a glass of Ribe's fantastic local beer they serve.

I rate it average due to my food experience. I would rate it higher on the surroundings/service and atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Soomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Quedens with 3 kids”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We only stopped at Ribe because the weather was bad up at Esbjerg. The village was lovely and we found this amazing cafe. The kids had there first Danish brunch here and they have been talking about it ever since. The portions were generous and the food was superb, fresh and really well presented. The place is really quirky and there are lots of interesting things for the kids to look at, many things being for sale. The staff were really friendly and made us feel really welcome, and of course they spoke amazing English.... There is also a little shop attached and worth a browse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rearcardoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food but...”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had very nice sandwiches but when we asked for vinaigrette for the side salad, which had no dressing on it, we were given only some oil as apparently vinegar was not available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This cafe is in one of the pedestrianized streets, close to the cathedral. It has a good, informal atmosphere and a pleasant, interesting décor. You order and pay at the counter, which speeds things up a bit. We were only there for buns and coffee (both excellent), recovering from some sightseeing.

We would have been tempted to go back for a main meal later but they closed at 18.00. It is worth checking the closing times before going there, as they vary throughout the year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickHViborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quedens Gaard Cafe og Krambod also viewed

 
Ribe, Esbjerg
 

Been to Quedens Gaard Cafe og Krambod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing