We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“500 years old and wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast PostGaarden
Ranked #2 of 43 Ribe B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I with my mother-in-law stayed last night and found Postgaarden to be spotless and full of character. There is not a 90 degree in the whole hotel, the four poster beds are clean and although our rooms did not have bathrooms as we were the only guests in that part of the hotel we had the whole floor to ourselves.
The host speaks great English and has a sense of humor! He was extremely helpful and informative telling us about the free walking tour at 8pm and places to eat. The breakfast was amazing, delicious cheeses. meats, fresh fruit, great coffee and even though it is hard to stomach in the morning....lax. The bread rolls were so fresh you will have to eat more than one!
The hotel is in a perfect location - within the historic town.
We have been coming to Denmark for 25 years (husband Danish) and try to visit a new place every year, Ribe is undoubtedly one of the most picturesque towns in Europe and full of interesting walks, stores and history. Around every corner you will find another picture waiting to be taken. The Cathedral is well worth the time to visit (free), the mosaic's behind the alter are typical Danish modern, imaginative style which should be out of place but it works. I enjoyed the mixture of recent artists work mixed in with the historic artifacts.
Take the evening walk with the town watchman, it starts at 8pm and takes an hour. He speaks in Danish and English and covers some of the towns factual history and interesting points about architecture and life in the last few centuries.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the main street and while I was concerned about the noise, we slept with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank My_Lady_of_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Postgaarden is a charming old, historic bed and breakfast in the center of the oldest town in Denmark. It has probably been used as an inn/hotel for several hundred years.
The host was great, helpful,friendly and full of interesting information about the area. The room was large and clean, (the renovated barn?) Breakfast was delicious and plentiful served in the cozy cafe of the inn. The location is central to explore the town of Ribe and the nearby Wadden Sea National Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngeRiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very big room (in fact it was a small flat!), very good breakfast, amazing position and a really kind owner. Shared kitchen also available. Maybe the bathroom could be slightly better with also cold water at the lavatory but this is just a "5 star" issue... a really good value for the price. Try the beers at the shop!

Room Tip: Do not worry for parking, the Ribe municipality offers free parking nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a lovely historic building in the pedestrian centre of Ribe. We had a great welcome by the owner who was very helpful, assisted us with our luggage and gave us a welcome bottle of wine.

The room was full of character with a very comfortable bed and spotlessly clean shared facilities.

Breakfast was excellent with high quality ingredients and we felt it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for the largest room - shown in hotel pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Postgaarden B&B is very conveniently located in Ribe, a few minutes from all major attractions. Our room was clean and spacious, although a bit lacking in furnishings (bed, table and chairs) given the size of the room. At the back of the property, it was very quiet and private. The breakfast was excellent, with a wonderful variety of breads and abundant toppings. We defnitely recommend this property.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are spacious and quiet. Brand new when we were there, so perhaps better furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MortenDK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Verificare con titolare orario di chiusura ristorante attiguo, in quanto le finestre delle stanze da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paolopring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ribe hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dagmar
Hotel Dagmar
#2 of 6 in Ribe
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ribe Byferie
Ribe Byferie
#1 of 6 in Ribe
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Den Gamle Arrest
Den Gamle Arrest
#4 of 6 in Ribe
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ribe
Hotel Ribe
#3 of 6 in Ribe
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weis Stue
Weis Stue
#22 of 43 in Ribe
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Den Gamle Kobmandsgard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast PostGaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast PostGaarden

Address: Nederdammen 36, Ribe, Esbjerg 6760, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg > Ribe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ribe
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bed & Breakfast PostGaarden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bed & Breakfast PostGaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing