We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments - but OH so noisy!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pas de la Casa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartamentos Turisticos Manzano
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Agree with other reviews. Very well equipped apartments tho i wouldnt want to share a 4 or 6 bed with 4-6 people! we paid a supplement so it was just the 2 of us.

Cannot fault the ski-ing. Was truly fantastic. Well worth going over the other side, soldeu area as it is much prettier, views are fabulous and tree lined. The aptment is really close to the lifts, just a few mins walk downhill. However, I would not stay at this apartment if you have people going to the school. Out of our group of 17, 3 were on the school and gave up by the third day and just taught themselves as the walk was about 20 mins and was just plain exhausting for them!

We all really liked the apartments but would not go back to Pas de la casa. It is like a skiing version of ibiza. There is loads of noise until 3 am every night. Our group was very mixed, very young to fairly old, and we like to have a good time, but ultimately we went for the skiing so by midnight i want to go to bed and sleep. Impossible here! Quite often vomit outside the front door of the hotel and the noise is not just in the hotel, but also in the street. If you go, go expecting not to sleep for a week and you will not be disappointed. Think maybe next time we will try for soldeu as I cannot criticise the skiing at all.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachyngravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2009

Pas De La casa is a resort centred along & winding road going up the hill. All the restaurants, shops & hotels are along this winding road. Manzano apts is nearly at the top of this hill. Most accomodation required some walking either up or down the hill to get to shops/restaurants/slopes etc, but if you cannot manage it, better stay someone more central in a flatter part of town.
Unlike some other self catering apts, Manzano has a restaurant & bar downstairs. Great to meet people, drink, have a game of pool etc.

Good Points:
-24hrs reception & nightime security guard
-Lift
-Some rooms had a tiny balcony, mountain views from most
-Room had a hairdryer & 3x shampoo sachets
-Small bath & shower
-Plenty of towels
-Dark curtains kept light out
-Great heating all day with thermostatic control
-Microwave, jug, toaster, bar fridge, bottle opener, can opener
-2 hotplates & basic utensils, pans, pots, cutlery to cook
-Washing up liquid, cleaning brush, tea towel
-2x wardrobes with plenty of hangers
-Mop, bucket & dustpan
-Free Ski lockers in hotel- same temperature as reception, so not a freezing cold basement storeroom
-Happy hour every day was 15:30-18:30 & again from 21:30-22:30
-All staff spoke very good English (most bar staff were British)
-Ski hire shop in basement of hotel

Bad Points:
-10-15 min down hill walk to main shops
-200m up hill walk from ski slopes in afternoons (if you are a beginner, its a much longer walk)
-No dishwasher, no oven
-Very small TV. Only English channels were CNN, BBC world news & the occasional Spanish channel that showed an entire program in English & all the adverts & other programs in Spanish
-Room dark even with all lights on
-No light swithces near any beds, so someone had to get up to turn them off
-No reading lights
-2x toilet rolls, but if you use these, you must buy more yourself
-Our room had a bunk bed & 2 singles, one being a roll-away. With all beds made up, the left over space was tiny. Enough for 2 of us, but definately no more.
-No carpets in rooms or hall therefore any noise echos terribly, Esp as people talk when waiting for the lift or walking along hall
-The front door to the hotel had 2 mats, but these became caked in muddy ice from ski boots each afternoon & were totally inadequate. Walking through reception to the ski locker was dangerous with all the mud & water everywhere on the tiled floor. Be extra careful in ski boots as its treacherous.
-We were told that we could have half board for an extra 60euro each. Breakfast at manzano & 3 course dinner each night at their sister hotel 'The Olimpiades' 200m down hill. Went back later to pay & was told by another staff it was actually 87euro each. Check what the price will actually be as the 87 euro was suposedly a 'reduced rate' for low season. I dont know when the 60euro offer is valid, if at all or if the 87 euro offer will go up later in the season?
-No wifi
-Internet in reception is 1 euro for 15mins. The staff said that the internet wasn't the hotels & they had no control over the rates charged
-150 euro cash deposit on arrival (they may accept a credit card swipe if you ask nicely)
-Must clean rooms before departure or money might be kept. Strip beds, fold blankets, wash cutlery/plates, mop floor, take out rubbish
-A friends room was only charged 10euro for not cleaning their room
-Our room was at the back of the hotel & there was a constant truck either turning or backing up on nights it snowed, presumably clearing the roads. I dont know if all hotels there are affected, but the trucks seemed to always spend longer under our window than anywhere else!
-There is an inventory on the wall in each room, with the cost of replacing broken/missing items. When you go to your room, note any missing things then, rather than risk being charged at the end of the week for something you didnt brake/lose
-Safe in room, but 15 euro for the week to use it
-No open fire anywhere

Overall Manzano apts were warm, friendly, clean & in a reasonable location. Much better than other 2 star places I have stayed. I read many reviews about buying a ski locker on the slopes. This is a wasted 20euro if you have skiied before & can walk the 200m back to Manzano each day from The Olimpiades hotel (which faces the slopes). The ski lockers supposedly means you can leave your skis & boots there at the side of the slopes, put on your shoes, & go shopping around town without having to go back to the hotel. My socks & feet were always sweaty after a day skiing so I didnt want to put my shoes on with wet socks, so unless I also carried spare socks around, I wanted to go back to the hotel to freshen up before shopping anyways.
Although the room & hotel in general was very clean, on arrival there were pubic hairs on our toilet seat & bathroom walls. Also the muddy, wet floors in reception were very dangerous.
All but one night we were awoken by drunken people singing, yelling, swearing etc in the halls or trying to find their rooms or other people. Some nights this continued for hours, so I dont know if the security approached these people or not. I'd take ear plugs if going back. Possibly there was a rowdy group there that week & not specifically the hotels fault. There were families with children, but maybe they are put in the other part of the hotel to where we were?
When it snowed, the roads were covered, presumably, in salt grit. Even at -10', this made the roads & pavements a slushy, muddy, icy mess. Don't wear your best white trainers or any good shoes as they will be ruined.
Pas offered a great amount of beginner & intermediate ski runs. The level of advanced/black slopes seems to be overestimated & would be called red runs in the Alps. The few black runs offered also tendered to be very short & often continued into a blue or green runs.
I would def stay at manzano apts again, but with my extra toilet rolls & earplugs at hand.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dalton1skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Stayed in Manzano apartments the week of the 26th of jan 08, as rated as 2* apts was pleasantly surprised how clean, warm and well kept they were, 2 of us shared the apartment and found it quiet spacious, kitchen is well equiped for cooking breakfast. I wouldnt advice this accomidation for a messy bunch of guys as you have to pay €150 deposit on arrival, this is only refunded if you clean and mop apartment, strip beds and take out rubbish after you you are also fined for breaking a cup! Ski hire shop at basement of apartment very handy, equipment is generally good and the guys will upgrade skis and boots for just a tip, ski lockers next to the bar means your lugging your gear around. Bar is nice and friendly good craic to watch matches there! Easy access to slopes only 3 minutes walk down hill and ski down from Olympia Bar! Over all found pas da la casa a male dominated resort, slopes were good ski cannons are on every nite, ski instructers very enjoyable! i would give manzano apartments 3.5 out of 5

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MarySkiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

After booking the holiday just 2 weeks before going we were very
apprehensive about these apartments. As they were only 2* we believed that it was going to be a "dive".

We arrived in Pas after the long bus journey. We sent the luggage up in the vans and then followed the reps up to the apartments by foot. Bear in mind - although it may be a lengthy walk uphill - listen as your rep may give you some good advise as to where certain places are. Arrived at the Manzano Apartments, and after a few minutes we were allocated our room.

There were 4 of us travelling as a group. When we entered the apartment we were amazed. It was suprisingly big! The window was the length of the room. There were 2 sets of bunks and a double bed in total. We were overall very pleasently suprised by the size. The room was also clean. The tile floors were shining. The sofa could have been doing with an upgrade, however quite comfortable.

Downstairs in the basment of the Manzano is the ski shop. Get down there early and get your skis and boots. Staff friendly and very quick.

Panorama/Airtours reps excellent - The apres ski they had organised for the week was very worth while. Especially the steak dinners at the Catsby!! it was something like 20euro for a 3 course. It was also delicious! Also went skadooing through the reps. Brilliant!!! We attended the Mexican night aswel, which was also very funny.

Bars to go to would be -
Milwalkee -(youngish crowd 16-22)
Billboard (Small niteclub) good laugh
Paddys bar (irish) we loved being the only irish in it.
Catsby - westend english bar - (Great Food) tip chef

Eating out - Catsby Grill - doesnt look appealing from outside but
excellent food after a long day skiing!

Hints and Tips

If staying in Manzano - rather than having to walk to bottom of slopes everyday - there are steps and an entry on either side of the Olimpiades Hotel which is at the corner on the hill. Put your skis on there and ski down to the lifts.

Also - Beginngers!! - Get the Ski Bus. You have a long distance to walk on 1st day to nursery slopes. The ski bus is free and will have you up to beginners slopes in 5 minutes. And it also does returns from the same place!

Overall Pas is excellent - stock up on cigs and booze before you go home. Someone told us the coaches are very rarely searched. 17euros for 200cigs and 6euro for 1ltr Smirnoff!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mikad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Lolo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benellitnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blanca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.2 mi away
Frontera Blanca
Frontera Blanca
#24 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Les Olimpiades
Aparthotel Les Olimpiades
#2 of 21 in Pas de la Casa
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solaris Apartments
Solaris Apartments
#19 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartaments Els Avets
Apartaments Els Avets
#7 of 21 in Pas de la Casa
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Neus
Hotel Les Neus
#5 of 13 in Pas de la Casa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Turisticos Manzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Turisticos Manzano

Address: 55 Carrer de la Solana, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Turisticos Manzano 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manzano Apartments Andorra offer studios and one bedroom apartments with 2-6 people and the best "Apres Ski", which contribute with a terrace on the slopes of Grandvalira, Bar, Happy Hours, Billiards and Nights Animated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartaments Turistics Manzano Hotel Pas De La Casa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing