We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than expected”
Review of Hotel Catalunya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Catalunya
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
A TripAdvisor Member
London England
15
Reviewed February 19, 2006

We as two families of four got a last minuit deal at the Catalunya after reading the reviews i was begining to regret it. When we arrived it was a short walk uphill to the hotel, the luggage being taken seperatly. Because we had children with us we wanted all the rooms close together, we also requested rooms on a higher floor. When we got our rooms we were pleasantly surprised, they were very large with large bathrooms, although the bath sizes were small. The rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable the maids were friendly and done a good job. The staff at the Catulunya were really friendly and went out of their way to find me a birthday cake for my son. The dinners were varied and edible, with lots of desserts to choose from. Pas de la Casa is a lively place with loads of shops and restaurants, the only one i would not recommemnd was Le gigantica they were really rude and ignorant other than that the others were really friendly. The location of this hotel is really good with just a short walk to the first lifts on the slops although the nursery slops and the kindergarten is a bit of a treck. All in all i have had a good experience at this hotel as it was a budget holiday and we didnt expect too much and i will be recomending this hotel to my friends. My only advice is to request a high floor as the lower floors did hear some noise.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Catalunya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 129 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Inverness,Scotland
12
Reviewed February 8, 2006

I have never stayed in a hotel that you can hear so much noise. I then realised it was not so noisy but that walls are so thin you can hear everything. I doubt there is a room in the hotel in which you would get a good nights sleep though you definitely do not want to be on first floor like us.
The pub downstairs goes on till 3.00 am with front door of hotel banging every 5 minutes and people coming and going. In a normal hotel you would probably not be bothered by this but here everything seems amplified. The staff were very nice and friendly, rooms were reasonably clean but in desperate need of refurbishment. Food was basic buffet style and looked a bit like the rest of the hotel - worn out and old.
This hotel is a cheap ski holiday and therefore I would normally compromise on the other faults but unless you are partying every night until 3.00 am do not go here.
Pas De La Casa is great and many of the people we spoke to had been there several years. Most of them stayed in the Catalunya first year then vowed never to go back. I do not normally write reviews as I accept that 2 star should not have high expectations but sleep deprivation on a ski holiday??

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Northwest, UK
13
Reviewed January 18, 2006

In January 2006, I stayed at Hotel Catalunya with a party of 21 friends. Our experience was one we would like to forget. Upon checking in we discovered a single member of our party wasn't assigned a room. When we brought this up with our First Choice representative she said, 'It's not my problem'. There were enough beds, but they expected our friend to bunk in with us or another married couple. This was definitely not our idea of a fantastic skiing holiday.
Our first night and every one thereafter left us with sleep deprivation. The hotel walls were very thin. Until 2 or 3 a.m we would hear the two hotel bars quite clearly. There seemed to be no effort made to keep the music level down. Noise from the street was just as disturbing, whether it was people leaving the bars or the snow plows at 4:30 a.m. At 7:30 in the morning we were woken up with the hotel staff banging the metal chairs on the ceramic tiles in the dining room, we found this impossible to sleep through as well.
We found the food served to be basic and repetitive, with several members of our party developing stomach upset. The worse part of our hotel experience was the cleanliness of our rooms. The dust bunnies under the beds were thriving, and silverfish infested all of our bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2006

The good point about this hotel is the proximity to the slopes. Apart from this there is little to commend it.

Tatty furnishings, extremely noisy owing to the bar opeining on to the stairwell with no door to keep out the noise. Very cold the week we were there. We repeatedly complained to the manager but the problem was not resolved until 4 days into our stay. Until then the only way to keep warm in the rooms was to get into bed and pile on all the extra bedding.

Food very basic and but adequate BUT vegetarians beware the 'vegetarian' option is fish and is always fried!

I would not go back.

Stayed: December 2005
2  Thank stacpollagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

I went to this hotel in March 2005 and the hotel is exclusive to First choice holidays.

This hotel is a small hotel that is well located about 100meters from the nearest chair lift (about 400 meters from beginners slopes).

The hotel is in a small street that cannot be reached by coach so you have to unload your luggage from the coach and walk about 400/500 meters to the hotel ( a van takes your luggage).

A minus is that the van driver throws your luggage into a pile in the middle of the road and it is a free for all to collect your luggage.

After you have collected your luggage you then have to queue in the street with the rest of the new guests which is again another free for all.

Once inside the hotel you are allocated your room which although a little tired is fairly comfortable, the main let down is that the walls are paper thin and you can hear EVERTHING.

We are a family of 4 and we booked this hotel through first choice very early with another family however we were not anywhere near each other in the hotel which was one of thouse things BUT the hotel managed to put 3 groups of youngsters next to each other and in turn put them next to us??

The hotel does suffer noise at night and although there were complaints from various guests the hotel did little about it.

The good side is that the hotels food was reasonable and varied especially for a 2 star and the hotel bar has a good atmosphere and the barman is very nice.

I probably would not go back to this hotel mainly because of the noise.

Moving onto pas de la casa they call it the IBIZA of the slopes.......Its not that bad, there are many bars etc but it was not like I thought it would be...a word of warning though I would not waste your money on an excursion called MEX TEX a so called mexican night...... it was awful.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank bjfkdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Manon37530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alicia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casado
Hotel Casado
#6 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Hotel Cal Ruiz
#20 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cims
Hotel Cims
#23 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#17 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalunya

Address: 4 Carrer Catalunya, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Phone Number:
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: $43 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalunya 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalunya Pas De La Casa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing