We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pants”
Review of Hotel Panda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Panda
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Reviewed March 24, 2009

My partner and I booked our first ever skiing trip and decided on the Panda hotel, as we were beginners to the slopes we thought cheap and cheerful would suffice. We knew it was a 2 star hotel and never expected the Ritz we were both slightly amused and disappointed.
To have a wire wool carpet throughout the whole hotel may be practical and heavy duty but not very comfortable underfoot, also carpet tiled skirting boards throughout the hotel raised an eyebrow however what we found most amusing was the 'pine effect' cladding on the walls that they had in the communal areas which was not pine at all it was in-fact laminate flooring!!

The rooms were very basic and a bit shabby, the walls were artex and the bed had no head board needless to say you couldn’t sit up in bed, however to further my amusement there was a light switch positioned on the wall right behind your head so one wrong move through the night and the room was lit up! The top sheet on the bed had numerous cigarette burns in and even the clean linen had a stale cigarette smell attached!

The bathroom was well equip with a jacuzzi bath, power shower and twin sinks although some of the floor tiles were smashed which you had to be careful not to stand on.

There is one electrical socket in the room (which is in the bathroom of all places) however this did not prove an issue as the tea and coffee making facilities consisted of a thimble sized cup so there was absolutely no point in making a brew!

Food - where shall I start... breakfast was a standard continental breakfast with cereal (which you ate out of a cup), toast, ham, cheese, croissants, tea, coffee and juices. Evening meal was barely edible. The starters were okay and you did get plenty of bread to fill you up which was quite lucky but the main meal and desert were worth missing. We ate out on a few occasions just to avoid the hotel food.

The staff were okay, but I think they would prefer it if you spoke French or Spanish as there English is very limited.

The resort itself is nice and compact, your never far away from anything shops, bars, slopes. Although we did find it quite expensive whereas previous reviews claimed it was quite cheap. We were paying 8 euro for 2 beers and approx 25-30 euro for lunch and 30-40 euro for evening meal which wasn’t too bad just that we were expecting to pay less. However if you hit a happy hour (which if you time right you can have a night out on happy hour as there all at different times) beers were generally BOGOF or 1/2 price. The nightlife was quite good but getting used to being in a smoky environment again took some getting used to. We did see a few drunken brawls mainly because the ratio of men to women was about 100/1!!

The pistes were fantastic, loads of choice and if you have an all area lift pass there are some fab views and slopes. We booked into ski school for 6 days, which was well worth the money, and we also hired a ski locker at the local ski hire shop just off the slope for 25 euro per week, which was worth it considering the only option at the hotel was in a cupboard next to the food!! Plus it saved you carrying them to and from the slopes (as they are quite heavy!!)

Overall the resort was fantastic and we had brilliant weather (some locals said the best in 10 years). We would definatly return to Pas just not the Panda hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndorraGlitterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Panda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2008

Just returned from a week at the Panda, was a bit worried after reading some of the previous reviews, but everything was fine. The room was small but cleaned everyday, with clean towels everyday and great a jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was the usual continental fayre, and dinner a very adequate three course affair.
staff were friendly, although drinks were quite expensive.

Pas has geat ski area, and plenty of night life. plenty of shops, although they all sell the sane booze and fags.

Would definately return to Pas and the Panda Hotel.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank watsonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Just back from a week in Pas skiing....stayed in the Panda, and was a bit worred, but it wasn't too bad.

That said, I was scared to death when we checked in....our room had been trashed by the previous occupants. Broken glass, half empty rum bottles, the whole thing. They soon cleaned it up though, and underneath was quite a nice room. The spa bath is a real treat after a hard day on the slopes.

The food is ok - breakfast is fine, but I would consider swapping dinner for lunch in La Belle Epoque, and then going out in town (if your package tour accepts that).

Beer in the Panda is expensive, try other bars (or happy hour in the hotel across the road). Overall, the hotel is fairly quiet but we did have one night where some drunken eejit tried to bash his way into the hotel and woke everyone up.

In truth - you get what you pay for....I;d consider going back to the panda again.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank TrkyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2007

We have just returned from a week in Pas de la Casa staying in the Panda. The hotel is pretty much 'you get what you pay for’ being fairly basic but clean, tidy and in a decent location. The rooms are cleaned on almost a daily basis and all the staff seem nice enough although they don’t speak much English. The hydro baths are a nice touch and are relaxing after a hard days skiing.

The only criticism I have got of the Panda is the quality of the food served; it ranged from average to barley edible. Breakfast consisted of stale croissants and the so-called 4 course evening meals where so bad that towards the end of the week we were considering paying to eat out even though we hadn’t budgeted for this.

Pas in itself is a great resort if you looking for decent skiing and lots of partying with many bars such as the Underground and Paddies open till 3am.

Overall my holiday in pas was excellent and I would not hesitate to go back, just not half board at the Panda

Chris (24) Rich (25) Ryan (25)

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank chrissven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Split over many floors, first impressions of Hotel Panda were mixed. Coming into the front entrance you are faced with a narrow staircase and a lift. The reception is on the 1st floor with the restaurant and small bar.

Valerie {Hotel manager}, natively French, also spoke enough Spanish and English to make for easy conversation.

Food; basic, but certainly enough choice for most people. A few local delicacies were combined with more all-round dishes for pleasant meals.

Rooms; basic but with excellent bathroom. Recently refurbished, two of the three rooms we had had spa baths, the other had power shower with spa jets. Excellent both to cure a hangover, and to relax aching muscles after Pas' slopes!

Overall, good value for money, daily maid service, not far from slopes, free ski locker on the pistes included for hotel guests.

7/10

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2007

I was a little worried after reading a number of previous reviews on this hotel, but we found it to be very clean, tidy and friendly. Its good location meant we were never too far from the slopes, shops and supermarkets. The food was excellent and the new year gala dinner was an experience!!!!.

The timber ski storage shelter on the side of the piste was very helpful.

We all had a good holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fforrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2006

first impressions were not good. As it was only 100 yards from the coach stop, no assistance was given with the luggage. We had to traipse through deep snow with three heavy bags, three boot bags and skis.
The lift barely fitted 2 adults, therefore getting all of this to the first floor reception was also a struggle. Having booked in we had the same problem transfering to the room on the fourth floor.
The room was small, barely room for the three of us, but it had all the bare essentials. It is advertised as having been recently refurbished, mmmmm. Not much sign of that; the toilet leaked, the windows didn't shut properly and leaked, the decor was dirty and there was vandalism damage to the ceiling tiles. On the whole, not a promising start.
There is no storage for ski gear at the hotel,(there wouldn't be room for it anyway) however they have a little wooden shed on the side of the slopes (20m from the lifts)the use of which is free. This was a great service and saved a walk through the town twice a day in boots, carrying skis.
The beds were comfortable and clean, and most importantly the hotel was quiet.
The town has a reputation for its lively atmosphere until the early hours but we were not disturbrbed once. The Panda is only about 100 yards from the town centre and the nightlife but is not affected by it at all.
The food.
Breakfast was good; unlimited buffet.
Dinner was odd. It would appear that the only thing vegetarians eat in Andorra is fried eggs.
I can't really complain because of the four courses served every evening the only one there was a problem with was the main course. Fried eggs with a variety of accompaniments.
After a few days I anticipated no main course and ate large from the soup course, which was great.
Everybody smokes in Andorra, and they do it everywhere. The chef smokes while he's cooking, the staff smoke by you while you're eating, other guests smoke at the dining tables. Everywhere, everybody smokes. Beware!
The weather wasn't particlarly kind to us and prevented the full exploration of the slopes, however what we did do and see was fantastic and I would love to go back to the area and see some more of it. But we would not go back to Pas De La Casa. It is an ugly town with little to do if you can't ski and don't want to party all night
I hope this doesn't sound too critical because on the whole we had a good time, we didn't pay much so can't expect 4*.
The hotel was basic, quiet and comfortable and very warm. The staff were friendly and the cleaner came every day with fresh towels and tidied up.
If your a smoker and not vegetarian you'll probably find little to gripe about.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#18 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casado
Hotel Casado
#7 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Hotel Cal Ruiz
#20 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#9 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panda

Address: Avda del Consell General 11, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: $57 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Panda 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Panda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing