We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Placid Apartments
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had a great room!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at Lake Placid last week. After reading the reviews of other people that have stayed here we were ready to expect the worse. On meeting Carlos at the reception, we checked in and then went up to our room No. 813. The lift got us there no problem (other people had complained about the lifts!) Fiddled with the key in the door, opened the door..................walked in......................hey presto a very clean tidy room! OK the décor could be a little more up to date, but the room had been cleaned thoroughly. We were on the 8th floor so we had a fantastic view of the mountain opposite.We have stayed here before and the cleaning of the rooms then was left to the previous weeks clients, so not very good .But now that Carlos has a good team of cleaners and now it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 8th floor 813 or higher and have a fantastic view or just sit and watch the people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    20
    17
    53
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

If you are a family who want to come skiing in pas de la casa, take my word for it and look elsewhere. If you are a student or looking for cheap but well located accommodation you MIGHT consider this. But consider the following negatives from my week stay:
1) I was asked for a €150 deposit with only one days notice. There is nothing in the room worth close to €150... I also had to wait ages to have somebody inspect my room when I was trying to leave in a rush to get it back
2) Really noisy, don't expect a good nights sleep
3) half the blankets we were provided were disgusting, 1 was covered in blood/pasta sauce (didn't reach a verdict on which...)
4) my room was meant to be for 5, even with the various random fold out beds and unsafe bunks that room should take no more than 4 at most
5) Hot water runs out after shower number 2, so good luck if there are 4 of you
6) Mould on the walls
7) Only 2 tiny slow lifts to get me in my ski gear, and the other people in the hotel down stairs. And for the vast majority of the time only 1 worked. Normally gave up after 20 mins and just took the stairs
8) No chopping board in the kitchen and knives were blunt-makes a fun challenge for self catering!

However if you want a cheap well placed hotel, and are willing to put up with the above, it's close to the slopes and shops.
Your move, just don't take your kids

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

You do get what you pay for. It was half term week, so everything in Pas was double the normal price.
The room was basic and small, but thankfully just two of us were in a studio for four so we used the bunks for storage & slept in the main room. The "pull out double bed" was a single wooden bed with a tin camp bed underneath. There was no balcony, in fact few rooms seemed to have such. The "well equipped kitchen" comprised two halogen rings with a mere on or off setting, a microwave about as powerful as a hairdryer, two pots with convex bottoms to ensure everything burned, no wooden spoon, a knife no sharper than ones finger nail, and a corkscrew that was broken in half. The plug sockets almost came out when plugging and unplugging the kettle by the bed (no kitchen sockets). There was a TV with French & Spanish channels, and one channel showing a frozen picture of Queen Victoria staring into a box. The beds were terrifying, the blankets may have been laundered sometime back in the '80's, but they did provide clean sheets, since there were only two of us we were able to double wrap the "mattress" (think thin foam block), and have sufficient sheets to keep us far away from these blankets. However, the studio was warm.
We DID have plenty of hot water, though having a bath revealed the amber water. Ear plugs became essential due to the thin walls and the fact the doors didn't actually fit plush to the floor.
On the plus side it is close to the lifts, (if you can squeeze into a lift in the block in the morning to get down there), and as we were there for the snow, it did the job. The biggest disappointment was the lack of facility to cook, particularly porridge in the morning, and maybe some vegetables since the staple diet in Pas de la Casa is pizza, pasta and fondue.
They returned the deposit, but did give a thorough check and we'd spent some time making it spotless, however we were given one key on arrival, but they tried on our departure to claim it was two. Checking out took about 45 minutes, so don't cut it too fine for the bus transfer.
It wasn't a nightmare, it just wasn't very pleasant. I've stayed in better places in Pakistan that cost 50 pence a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcskinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just got back from this place, if you ever think of booking it dont. We booked this a sleeps 7 there were 6 of us, no space, was very very well used, no hot water after 5 people had had quick showers. Very limited crockery, safe didnt work and that was after we had complained 3 times. No where to unpack or store belongings & the place was un clean. On the plus side the apartment block is handy for the town centre & pistes but note there is no parking and the traffic wardens are extremely keen

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just got back and have to say it is awful, plus point is close to lifts for skiing, from this point on the rest is terrible, good luck with the lifts, sometimes you may get them working, even to the extent of the doors opening when you get to your floor, rooms basic to the point of 1970's Russia, in a room that sleeps 6, not 1 real bed, pull outs from under the sofa or the sofa, no linen for the first 3 days despite constantly asking, kitchen could not be used, no utensils, pots not clean, room not clean, broken tiles everywhere. Noise was abysmal from above rooms and outside, and if you are a non smoker, just stay away as you simply can not avoid the smoke, so thick you can cut it, can still taste the stale smoke in my lungs after 3 days of leaving, bathroom so dirty used it to store ski's as nowhere else.

Room Tip: Stay in a different location!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

First off the location is absolutely superb, right at the bottom of the slopes, also there are two supermarkets just outside the hotel and numerous ski shops for renting skis etc. The staff we encountered were very helpful and pleasant, they also spoke english which helped a lot. The interior of the building itself does look a bit shady to be honest however the rooms are a great size, very clean and have everything you need. Our room had a double bed, a good shower and bath, a stove, microwave, dishwasher, toaster and fridge, dining table, sofa, TV and a coffee table and also plenty of wardrobe space. I can honestly say that I have no complaints about my 7 night stay in Lake Placid Apartments and i would definitely recommend it, especially for only €47 per night. Also with regard to many reviews that state there was no hot water, we had hot water constantly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

although the location was great (either for skiing/snowboarding or to go out at night) we were stuck with a T0 for 6 people (only one bathroom). everything in the kitchen was ruined to the point that the food got small pieces of the pot. the heating only worked at night and there wasn't enough hot water for the six of us to shower (dishes had to be washed with cold water). One of the elevators only worked for a few hours during our stay and the other one broke every few days, so we had do go up and down from the 7th floor with skis on our backs by stairs!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felipe_AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 mi away
Solaris Apartments
Solaris Apartments
#18 of 32 in Pas de la Casa
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cims
Hotel Cims
#23 of 32 in Pas de la Casa
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#20 of 32 in Pas de la Casa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#8 of 32 in Pas de la Casa
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 32 in Pas de la Casa
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#5 of 32 in Pas de la Casa
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Apartments

Property: Lake Placid Apartments
Address: Carrer dels Vaquers, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Placid Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lake Placid Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Apartments Hotel Pas De La Casa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing