We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Himalaia Pas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Himalaia Pas
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here Feb 2013. I really enjoyed my stay. I would describe it as a lovely friendly relaxed hotel, with the atmosphere of an adult hostel, it's really quite unusual in that sense. There is a hot tub and small pool, which are great after a days' snowboarding. The food is a good, there is a chef who can cook you fresh omelettes in the morning and sometimes steak in the evening. It's a five min down hill walk to the slopes. It's one of the better places to stay in Pas de le casa - which is essentially a party town. The location is quiet, you won't get woken up by drunks - but possibly by the odd snow tractor lol.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the top floor, because you don't get proper windows (just velux, which if it snows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 243 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from 1 week 3rd to 10th March.
This hotel was fantastic. When we got there we were not happy with our room. The manager moved us with no fuss. Room was huge (406). Hotel lovely and warm. Hot water all the time. Good shower and very powerful.
Food was excellent in my opinion. You couldn't have asked for anymore choice. We loved the buffet style. Very unusual for a ski hotel.
The egg man in the morning does need to smile a little bit more. He really is miserable which stands out as everybody else is so lovely and friendly.
The first 3 days was cloudy and I've never known so much snow which made for fantastic skiing.
One of the best weeks we have ever had all round. We will be back next year and really wanted to stay another week.
Pas is a great resort with good bars and on happy hour is good prices.

Room Tip: Top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travelled here with a group of guys for a ski holiday. The Hotel is generally quite basic but is kept clean and is well run. It has all of the facilities that one would expect but none of them are amazing but are adequate for a ski holiday in that you are not as reliant on the facilities. The staffs were all good and happy and pleased to help. The breakfast was good in general with a good selection for most tastes and plenty of it. For me the egg chef was great with good omelettes or fried eggs on the go all the time. On the continental side there was everything you would hope for along with a good selection of breads and rolls. The dinner was not as good in that although there was a lot of selection nothing was ever that good apart from the soups. The dinner choices were at best mediocre I would say. The staff in the restaurant were good though and happy to help. The rooms were not too bad in size for a ski hotel with plenty of hanging space and cupboards which is just what you need. The decor was dated but the rooms functioned well in general and the daily cleaning standards were good. The shower itself was good but the screen was at the wrong end of the bath and even when you tried to tuck yourself in the corner the bathroom still got wet. A Shower curtain would have worked a lot better in my eyes but the continentals seem to have different ideas on these things. On the plus side the bath was fairly long and deep and I did have a good soak on a couple of nights so all in all not too bad really. Our room was situated on the top floor so were in the roof space effectively so I am not sure how our room compared in size to any others other that my friend's which all seemed to be around the same size. The TV was old fashioned with only one English speaking channel, that being CNN. There are two lifts in the hotel and this seemed to be sufficient for the number of people in the hotel so no complaints there. The spa area was not too bad although the Jacuzzi was not hot enough really and I would not recommend the massage there. She was very pleasant but it did not seem to hit the spot with those aching limbs after skiing. It was more of a relaxing massage than a sports one as such. Finally the bar area. This is quite good in size and good for a pre dinner drink but is not an après ski bar as such. The prices there are reasonable. In summary I would say that the hotel met expectations but did not exceed them so it is worth what we paid. One thing to bear in mind is that although it is based close to the ski slope (50 yards walk) it is at the top of town so it was always an uphill walk coming back at the end of the day or night. I would think that the middle of town, where the lifts start, would be better placed if you have the choice. The town is on a hillside so everywhere is either up or down so in the middle is best I feel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4fun0164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

the only reason it dident get excelent is becuse the bed was uncomfortable.

becide that every thing is excellent.

the hotel is close to the slopes and offer abar with happy hour from 16:00 to 21:00 .

the workers are really nice and the food is good.

Room Tip: take a room from the second floor to not be affected with the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yonathan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one week with my children (ages 2 and 3) for their first ski trip.
Service is great. Everyone is very kind and available.
The food is far from good.
The worst thing about the hotel is the fact it is on the opposite site to the snow garden and beginners area which forces you to walk a long distance which, if you're a beginner or have babies is an ordeal.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here as a group of three couples in January 2013 travelling as part of a crystal package.

We usually stay cheap and cheerful however this back fired last year so decided to splash a little more cash, this paid off.

The hotel is in a fab location, very close to the slopes and almost ski in ski out (theres a tunnel at the end of the road directly on to the slopes), the hotel benefitted from a small spa, the pool was small but perfectly formed as was the jacuzzi, both of which would get busy as peak times but this was still a great perk to a well positioned hotel. The lounge ara/bar at the hotel was comfortable and welcoming, it would have been nice to have the fire lit but this didnt spoil our stay. Our room was sizeable with a nice bathroom including bath (great when jacuzzi was packed), our room was a little on the hot side (i had read this in previous reviews) our thermostat did work so we could control the heat. My only gripe about the room was the pillows, they were long and narrow, one wasnt enough, two was too much...after a few days i did develop a neck ache which when combined with snowboarding made me quite uncomfortable, next time, i may just take my own......

The pool table was a great addition and never seemend to be 'hogged' by people. A great addition was a mini shop where you can buy things. You must wear a swim hat and flop flops when using the spa, these are sold at this shop but more expensive that if bought in the uk.

Service in the hotel was fantastic, all staff were really nice and helpful.

Food in the hotel was nice, i wouldnt quite say 4 star but nice. My boyfriend is a vegetarian and on the first night the vegetarian options were non existent, we raised this with reception and after a small debate (she was adamant they were there we just hadnt found them) she agreed to raise with the chef. the subsequent nights vegetarian options were there and not just pasta.... they started off great with plenty of variety but trailed off towards the end of the week to just pasta which can get repetitive..... this is unfortunate but not enough to ruin our holiday, we ate well at lunch on the slopes!

The resort itself is fantastic, there is a wide variety of bars, shops and restaurants selling yummy food all high quality and reasonably priced, even on the mountain, this is refreshing given how expensive ski resorts usually are. There was an abundance of happy hours throughout the town and on the mountain which we took advantage of, lots of BOGOF! If you hear of Barney playing, he is a must.....great entertainment (him and his guitar) and a really nice guy.

During our stay the weather was not the best, it snowed all week, whilst this gave great powder, visibility was sometimes impaired and some of the lifts up to the top of the mountain were closed. Usually you can ski the whole ski area as it is linked. We took advantage of a shuttle bus to other resorts, namely Soldeu, this cost only a few EURO and Soldeu has many tree lined runs which protect from the weather and a greater ski area without having to brave the elements. The benefits of catching the bus was also it saved time as its quite a way to ski there so also good for beginners who are a little slower and may not wish to tackle the tougher runs.

As with may ski resorts, the buses are not allwoed in resort, you will get dropped off at the bus park and have to walk through the resort, our reps took our bags up in a mini van which was just as well as this hotel is the other side of the town to the bus park....

on heated ski lockers are available in the basement, a deposit of EUR 10 is required for the padlock. The garage and basement is also passcode protected (im not sure if this is 24/7)

Overall we had a great holiday and enjoyed our time at Hotel Himalaya. Having visited a couple of other hotels (on rep organised activity) it made us truly appreciate the warmth and comfort we had at this hotel. If i was to come back to this resort, i would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuppygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just come back from our ski ing trip. Hotel Himalaia was great! Not 4 Star which I usually stay in. But I had no complaints at all.!! Everything was very clean. Staff were Excellent!!! from maids to Wonderful Reception staff. to Waiters, to Bar Staff ( If you want to be served a drink with perfection, The Bar Manager is the man for you) Could beat any 5 star barman. The food I found good. Plenty to eat, I don't eat much meat . Two veggie dishes. Plenty of salad etc.
Swimming pool small ., But it is a little hotel in comparison. Plus jucuzzi and Sauna. Was fine to end the day after the ski slopes. Very Clean. ( You need hats if you go in the pool) plus you do have to pay to use. ( Not much) . Hotel is near the slopes. If your a good skier you can ski to Sondu ( the next resort.) Or from the bottom of the town by the church you can catch a local bus. ( It is a bit of a way to lug your skies and bootes. But we did. (Added to a good work out) Sondu is worth a visit. Different type of skiing.) more blue and green runs. Loved the town of pas de las Cas more than Sondu it had more character. Some pubs/bars were lively. but something for everyone. I took two teanagers,. Both loved it. I would go back to hotel Himaliaia definately!!!

Room Tip: Front of the Hotel a little noisey. ( people coming in at night) Have had a lot worse. But may be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyneth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magic Pas Hotel
Magic Pas Hotel
#12 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#7 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#6 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaia Pas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaia Pas

Address: 51 Calle de la Solana, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: $81 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Himalaia Pas 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Himalaia Pas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing