We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski trip”
Review of Hotel Cal Ruiz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Reviewed March 2, 2014

we booked via thomas cook and our tour operator was Neilson's! What can I say, there were 20 of us a mixed group of adults, teenagers and one 10 year old. The hotel is a little dark, especially n the rooms. As with the other reviews, the rooms were very hot, but we would be the first to complain if they were cold!!

The food was absolutely fantastic! The staff could not do enough for you and as for our rep, Kelly, she was fantastic.

Would recommend this resort for improvers and upwards as there are not any green runs so there is a big transition between nursery slopes and the main slopes.

It is an uphill walk from the hotel to the slopes, however, this is a good warm up. Would definitely recommend paying 20 euro for a locker for the week, this is a heated room which is part of a bar called Pas 83, the staff are so friendly and if you time it right, you get your free drink and then it is happy hour!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank mole123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cal Ruiz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 183 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just stayed their 16th-23rd feb 2014.
Great food each day for dinner .
Breakfast full choice each day , cereal , fruits or bacon egg beans etc. all as much as you can eat .
Free sauna and jacuzzi.
Their is a big gym complex right behind hotel , ask reception for discount 40% voucher for swimming and more.
All drinks teas coffees cold drinks and alcohol all good prices.
Always very clean everywhere .
Free wifi which reaches rooms .
Bad points - rooms are hot , open a window easy fix .
The slopes are about 10 mins walk . Not a problem for us .
Make sure you hire a ski boot locker at the pas 83 bar save carrying all ya gear .its 20 euros all week and you get 2 free drinks each day after skiing , good English bar with friendly staff .
Hope this info helps !!!
I would go back for skiing next year

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
6  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stay there for a week, but can't comment much as most of the time I'm out on the slope. The Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Bedroom cleaned daily. Plenty of hot water. Lighting is fair
Free Sauna and Jazzuci is added bonus for tired skiers. Swimming Pool is next door, get a discount voucher from the Hotel prior to swim!
Fair bit of walk up to the Ski Lift, say 600m 15 min walk with the Ski Boots!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank awstheref87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for a week snowboarding/skiing. We picked this hotel because it was the cheapest in the resort so we weren't expecting much, but we were very pleasently surprised. Although furthest from the slopes it was a very short walk, no problem in snowboard boots, and there were lockers available near the lifts for the skiers.

The hotel itself was small but cosy. The room was a nice size and my only quible was it got a little hot, and the twin beds were different sizes so pushing them together didn't quite work. There was a jaccuzi and sauna which were open from 5-8, the jaccuzi was lovely if a little small.

But the best things about the hotel were the food and the staff. The breakfast was usual fair, beans, bacon, sausages, scambled and fried eggs, toast, pastries, cereals, juice, tea and coffee. All well cooked and tasty. The buffet dinner was incredible though, something different every night but all really delicious, we all had several plates each night.

The staff were all lovely and friendly, special shout out to Paulo and his awesome music taste that kept us entertained in the bar each evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CandiceKarenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our first greeting was of the receptionist and hotel manager arguing with the rep...not the best start!We opted for the "large" rooms. If these were large, I dread to think what a small room is. Enough space for a double bed and a path to walk around it. Very small bathroom. Plenty of hot water but the shower is so low I struggled to stand in it and I am only 5"6.
On the plus side, rooms were cleaned every day. Hot tub and spa downstairs which was ideal after a day on the slopes! We rented lockers in Pas 83 at the bottom of the slopes, save you carrying them back to the hotel.
The food is ok. It was better as the week progressed. Plenty of choice, very variable! Wifi is free, we could access it from our rooms.
The rooms are very hot at night..We left the window open all day and night and had turned the heating down!!
Overall if you are looking for a cheap, clean hotel with half decent food, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at Cal Ruiz from a great week snowboarding in pas de la casa! The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. Also our room was lovely with a nice clean bathroom. Only one fault and that is that the room gets very warm, even with the heating off! The cleaners came every day to our room to make our beds, change towels etc. The food was delicious with a great varitey each night. It is about a 10 min walk to the slopes. Me and my partner paid 20 euros each to hire a locker for our boots and board with was well worth the price as at the end of each day you get a voucher for a free drink and dont have to carry your boots and board to your hotel and struggle to find storage. Loads of shops around pas which we had some great bargains! Overall we had a brilliant time in pas and would definately recommend this hotel. We are gutted to be home!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14Emma1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very good all round! Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was big and had plenty of space to hang up clothes etc- which is good when you are skiing! The only let down of the room is that it was very very warm even with the heating off! We slept with the window open all holiday!
The food was lovely! The chef is an excellent cook and put a variety of food out each night. The choice was good and there was always lots of things we wanted to eat. Every night we went up for seconds! The pudding were really delicious! Breakfast was the same everyday but a large choice- cereals, cooked breakfast, croissants, pan au chocolate, other pastries, toast, fruit salads Etc plus any hot drink or fruit juice. Christmas day dinner was amazing! The staff went all out to make it special. We each had a half bottle of wine, candles on the table etc. the food was exceptional! Smoked salmon, king prawns, pate, huge steaks, lamb, some lovely veggie dishes too! Very very nice! Again a buffet style so go up as many times as you like!
A great location for neilson holidays because you get dropped off and picked up from here at the beginning and end of your holiday (everyone else has to walk!) a super location, very quiet! I would recommend getting a ski locker from the pub Pas83 next to the slopes because carrying skis and walking in boots from the hotel is not nice (but without equipment is fine, a nice walk). For €20 each you get heated storage for your skiis/board and boots PLUS 2 free Drinks a day each! Bargin! We booked this on the coach transfer with neilson.

Overal a super hotel in a great location, with free wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicki3409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casado
Hotel Casado
#6 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#17 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#9 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cims
Hotel Cims
#22 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cal Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cal Ruiz

Address: Avinguda Consell General 10-12, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: $50 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cal Ruiz 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cal Ruiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Ruiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing