We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Andorra 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cal Ruiz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Andorra 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Pleasantly surprised with our stay at this hotel. The location at the bottom of the town was not a problem as it was only a five minute walk to the slopes. We rented lockers for our gear beside the slopes which meant we didn't have to carry it up and down every day. The food was fine with plenty of choice each evening.
Our room was very warm and was cleaned every day with fresh towels provided. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mark_gorman_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    70
    45
    18
    11
See reviews for
27
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had gone to pas de la Casa on boxing day for a weeks skiing holiday. We stayed at the Cal Ruiz a hotel which we had stayed previously some 7 years ago. It was good to see that the hotel was still very clean and tidy. Every day our room was cleaned, beds made and clean towels something which we were not expecting on a daily basis. New Year Eve was the best, the gala dinner was exceptional. Myself and partner were pleasantly surprised. The staff and hotel had gone that extra mile. We returned home on Monday but can honestly say enjoyed totally.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Car0lineSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I was staying in the Cal Ruiz with my step son on his first ski holiday. It is the second time i have stayed there and for a 3* hotel it performs well. Location at the bottom of the resort sounds bad, but a 5 minute (quicker coming back) walk to the town centre isn't a 'slog' (or flog). The staff are friendly and accomodating, even if they didn't speak english ( well you are on holiday).
The food was catered to english and spanish people and i must say it was more than adequate and plenty of it. There was usually a dish or 2 that was unfamilliar but on a whole it was good (no complaining 15 year old is a good thing).
The only annoying thing about the holiday was the people that obvoiusly have champagne tastes and beer money.
The bar area could do with some new chairs, but was comfortable enough and a good meeting place for the well timed happy hour. The hot tub and sauna was good for the first few days, but i think they should have longer opening hours.
To sum up, it's a decent 3* hotel that is clean and tidy with friendly staff and adequate food.
P.S. For a reasonable fee you can store your skis and boots by the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broadsword02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

was pleasantly surprised with this hotel as some of the reviews we read were quite poor. Hotel was close to the pickup drop off point for coach transfersinto Plas de la Casa. Rooms were clean and tidy, maid service good. We found the food to be quite adequate for us with plenty of choice, staff were great and helpful, only downside being a smokey bar when you are not used to it but good fun. Jucuzzi and sauna clean and quite nice to have in the hotel, close to the sports centre if you felt like a swim and close to the shops for shopping.
5 mins walk to the main ski lifts. We went in our Half Term so it was quite busy but we didn't find much of a problem with queueing on the lifts as they are run very efficiently. Pistes were immaculate and well marked and the whole skiing area (Grand Vilara) can accommodate any level of skiier as this is a vast area.
Ski storage (extra) paid through Paddys Irish Bar was a great idea as all your gear is stored and warmed right next to the ski lift.

We booked this holiday quite late through Crystal and I must say that every aspect of their service was excellent (transfers, skis and boot hire, welcome meeting, information and help were all excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Thanks to Cal Ruiz and Crystal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I have never written a review before but I felt I had to put something online (have complained in writing to my rep whilst on holiday of course). We had booked half board - breakfasts were ok (hard to get wrong) but dinner was a nightmare, the first night I poured enough grey water off my plate to fill a soup bowl, fished three hairs out of my mouth from the bolognaise sauce and had an upset stomach a day later. My teenage daughter burst into tears at the dinner table and I took her out afterwards to get a bowl of soup from a bistro. The food sat out keeping warm for three hours - most people were very careful about what they chose to eat so most of the kept warm meat was produced in the same or a different form the next day. We and most others stuck to chips or plain pasta and the imaginative salad selection (which consisted of iceberg lettuce and quartered tomato). Unless people had large families most people there seemed to eat out at least every other night. on the fourth night we were there the lady on the table next to us fished a rodent's tooth out of her food ( it really was, we saw it!) she kept it and took it to the manager - all the kitchen staff came out and peered at the dishes on the buffet - took one dish away and bought it back five minutes later!. That was the last straw and we ate out after that. Not only did eating out add to the cost of my holiday but also, after a day's skiing, we didn't really enjoy having to flog back into town while it was snowing just to get something to eat.
Good points - I lost weight from lack of food! The rooms were basic but clean, very warm (which was great) we turned the radiators off or opened the window to bring the temperature down but it was much better than being cold. Bathrooms were great - good size, plenty of hot water - bit worried about having to hold the hairdryer socket in place in the wall whilst using it though!
We liked the location - 5 minutes walk from the slopes but not in the town centre with all the noise from the bars.
We would stay there again if it wasn't for the disgusting food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Probably the furthest room from the lift, but gives a good chance to warm up and down from skiing.
The room was basic, spotlessly clean and noisy esp during mealtimes and later at night.
The food was very basic, breakfast was cereal, tinned fruit salad and a warm selection of beans,omlette and hotdog type sausages.
Overall the staff were polite but with a mishap with my coat being left in the bar and then no-one knowing it was there (one police report 3 hours later) I found it tucked under the bar, made me feel a little upset that there was no concern as obviously no time was taken to look.
Lastly no free wi-fi or lounge area make this more of a 1 star room

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendieshmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

My friends and I stayed at the Cal Ruiz the week comencing 07/02/2011, for a week. We booked with Crystal and paid roughly £500 for our flights, accomadation, and lift passes.

I've bullet pointed the relevant categories below to make for an easier read.

- Travel to the hotel: Roughly a three hour transfer from Toulouse. The coach drops you at the bottom of the resort and it will take you around 5 minutes to walk to the hotel with your kit.

- Hotel: Reasonable sized with one lift, bar and dinning area, hot-tub and sauna. The hotel was clean and tidy throughout, as was the bar area, resturant, and spa section. The lift was busy on our arrival due to various people checking in, however I can't remember a time other than this where we weren't able to use the lift quickly.

Sauna, and Hot-tub (free of charge): Small to medium in size but worked well, and didn't ever get too busy. Open at 5 between Mon and Fri, but be sure to contact reception before heading down there as usually not switched on (they needed reminding).

Bar and Resturant: Bar, average selection of drinks, service fine as English speaking workers. Would certainly make use of happy hour as prices double outside of the relevant times. Good value within happy hour though. Resturant, good selection of food in the morning and evening. Not the greatest quality but really no complaints. Their's something to suit everyone and the standard is fine. Buffet layout so you can eat as much as you like. The staff are very attentive and quick to clear finished plates. Would recommend taking your own drinks in to keep costs down. Shop next door and you can just walk in with your drinks in hand. Think you could buy water in the resturant but would cost much more than shop.

Rooms: Clean, basic, slightly small but has everything you need. TV is crap, but you're not ther to watch TV. Bathroom is fine in size, it's also clean and has plenty of towls. Service is good, new towls and bed made daily. Room was slightly dark as no main light in centre of the room, just smaller ones at the bedside. Also, a little noisey due to the thin walls. 307 is the room we stayed in, back door was broken and the view was rubbish...not a sight seeing holiday though.

Location: If you're on a snow holiday I presume your legs work (no offence intended). The walk to the slopes takes about 5 minutes, ten at most with kit. It's really not a big issue although the hotel is one of the furthest away. I wouldn't bother with the ski lockers personally. You're a stone's throw away from the town and not too much further from the slopes.

To sumarise, the hotel is good value for money. We're all in our mid twenties and in good health so a little walking wasn't a problem. In my opinion the hotel is fine for what we needed, it's clean, reasonably sized, and you can eat and eat! The sauna was a nice bonus too. If you want luxury look elsewhere, or go on a cruise. If you want a decent hotel that does the basics well, then CAL RUIZ is not the place for you; just joking, it's fine.

I'd recommend it and I'd stay there again, no problems. PS, the chef is always chewing something, odd, but looked like a nice enough chap and the waitress fancied me (I think). Anyway, I'm going off-topic. This is a serious and genuine review, and I hope it helps x x x

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bletso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pas de la Casa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#8 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#10 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llac Negre
Hotel Llac Negre
#11 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solaris Apartments
Solaris Apartments
#14 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casado
Hotel Casado
#9 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cal Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cal Ruiz

Property: Hotel Cal Ruiz
Address: Avinguda Consell General 10-12, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cal Ruiz 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cal Ruiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Ruiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing