We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lets get things straight, it's a cracking 2* hotel!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chat Catsby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chat Catsby
Ranked #12 of 14 Pas de la Casa B&B and Inns
Earth
1 review
“Lets get things straight, it's a cracking 2* hotel!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great staff, always friendly and helpful despite some of them speaking limited English. Very good food, especially dinner which was always hot even up until the last sitting.
Noise was occasionally an issue, but a pair of ear plugs helped ensure an undisturbed nights sleep. Nick the Aussie Catsby barman was a total legend, full of advice and good humor, he even took time out to ski guide my party.
Every room was allocated a lockable cage within the first floors boot-room, with padlocks being available from reception.
The extreme high temps throughout the hotel was the only complaint, which was never resolved regardless of the Reps best efforts. This became a significant issue in my top floor room, where I slept on the mezzanine level. If the heating was sorted, I'd definitely return to the Chat Catsby.
A short walk to the chairlifts and the many bars, mean you'll never be to far from the action. The street adjoining the hotel was relatively quite, as it largely contained apartments blocks and hotels.
Lets not forget that this is a two star hotel, so if you want the Ritz go elsewhere. If you want to sleep in, expect some noise from the corridors etc. It's a ski resort, so get up in time for the first chairlift at 9 and get ahead of the background hubbub of the hotels sleepier guests.

Room Tip: Select a room on the second floor and don't sleep on the mezzanine level within the room if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    7
    9
See reviews for
6
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Upon arrival the reception area was filthy, the carpet was black and the sofa was battered. When we attempted to check in a party of 6 they only had a room for four booked in. After attempting to explain that we required another room to the receptionist who spoke limited English, who claimed he knew nothing as he was night staff, we were finally given another room.

WELL i would have preferred to stay in a hostel!!! The beds were not made, there were bottles of alcohol and pop bottles left lying around the room.

It gets worse!!!!.......When we entered the bathroom there was a overwhelming smell of poo! when we attempted to use the toilet at our horror it was full of poo!!! There were used tampons in the bin and graffiti on the wall! also the lock on the hotel door was not secure.

WE WILL STAY ONE NIGHT!
we contacted our hotel rep to move however could not until the morning. In the morning we attempted to eat breakfast. Breakfast???? all that was on offer was stale cereal or the odd yogurt in a dining room with no windows and dim lighting.

We got upgraded to a 4* hotel after this!

WHAT EVER YOU DO DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mad_for_skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The front desk staff were rude and unfriendly. When we checked in we were given our key and told not to go to the room for twenty minutes, we weren't even told where the room was or how to get there.

We went for breakfast the first morning of our stay at 9.45. Breakfast was supposed to be until ten but there was nothing left. When we asked the staff about more food, we were met with blank faces. We didn't bother going again.

The room was basic, alot of stuff has been mentioned below already. The walls really are paper thin, our window wouldn't open, the curtain didn't keep the light out, the timber beam running across the roof looked like it would collapse at any minute. The bathroom wasn't great either, the shower wasn't very strong and we had no hot water one of the nights.

On the positive side, it's close to the slopes and the cleaning staff were very friendly.
The guy who runs the bar is an absolute gent aswell.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reds1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Bad start; despite rep on transfer coach telling us we had an evening meal, hotel dining room was all cleared up when we arrived, no food. Only one sheet on my bed, turned back, so I was supposed to sleep on a bare matress.
The Noise! People in next room sounded like they were IN our room, those in the corridors no quieter, light spilled through large gaps all round the door so no sound baffle there. It went on all night, every night!
Food (self service buffet) started off OK, nice lamb hot-pot thingy, but, as the week went on it sadly deteriorated, burgers, suasages, pasta (no meat). It was also not kept warm so must have fallen below UK reccommended temperature limit.
Electric fittings dangerously loose; shower leaked through door seal; blind, I think, was frozen solid could not drop it down.
Party animals who don't sleep and are not particular what they eat; this is YOUR hotel.

Room Tip: 207 is right by open wooden stairs to level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank half p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you want to get a good nights sleep don't choose this hotel... the walls are paper thin.. room basic but has everything you need. our blind didn't work so it was fairly loud from people outside and people could see into the room. food was of a good standard if you go at 7.30 when the restaurant opens, there was always plenty of choice. really close to the slopes, i actually skied home on a number of occasions as there was so much snow!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We chose rooms with two dangling electric sockets, one missing lightbulb and falling apart stairs, as the other two rooms we saw were in worse condition. Don't hand keys in as you leave each day, as there is a good chance staff won't be able to find them again; as for getting safe keys - this was a problem; also the wi-fi/internet was a problem.
I always thought the purpose of keeping food in the tin trays was to keep it warm; not so in the Hotel Chat. If you don't get there immediately after its dished out, its left to go cold. Stone cold chips, eggs, veg. aint nice!

Room Tip: Take your own lightbulbs, screwdrivers and do a course in basic plumbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This basic hotel is towards the top end of Pasa just past the famous Milwaukee bar so it is a bit of a trek from the coach station, but we went with Crystal who dropped off our bags by minibus. It is however located less than a minute from the slopes. The best way to get to them is to turn right out of the front door and up the hill 100m to the Olimpiades hotel and then go down the steps by the side to the slopes. You can then ski to the main lifts.

The reception is small and like many places in Andorra it does smell of cigarettes. However the rooms are a good size (we had a triple for 2 of us) with comfy beds, are cleaned well daily and it was warm. The bathroom only has a shower but hot water was plentiful.

The breakfasts are buffet style and consist of bread, meats and pastries. All perfectly good. Evening meals were also buffet style. There is not a huge choice but each day there was a salad bar, very nice soup, a meat choice and a fish choice as well as a range of puddings. It was not fancy food but certainly tasty and filling. The serving staff were very friendly and drinks, though not included, were reasonably priced. Most guests were young Spanish groups and it certainly is not a family orientated hotel but it was fine for us as a couple.

The main criticisms are the thinness of the walls/doors (if other guests are coming back in a little worse for wear late at night you can get woken up) and that you had to keep skis etc in your room.

I would certainly go back as long as it was as cheap as on this occasion. All the British guests had booked at the last minute.

Room Tip: Top floors are better as they are away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oliderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pas de la Casa
0.0 mi away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#6 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalaia Pas
Hotel Himalaia Pas
#10 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#5 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arka
Hotel Arka
#15 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chat Catsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chat Catsby

Property: Hotel Chat Catsby
Address: Carrer de la Solana 18-20, Pas de la Casa, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pas de la Casa
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chat Catsby 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the shopping center of Pas de la Casa at 100 meters from the Grandvalira resort and just 300 meters from the sports center of Pas de la Casa with indoor pool, gym, sauna, garage and parking.ROOMSThe hotel offers 29 rooms equipped with bathroom, satellite TV and direct phone.FACILITIES AND SERVICESBuffet restaurant (drinks not included), Pub Gatsby, WIFI in public areas, internet point, laundry service and ski-locks free.Pets are allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Chat Catsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing