We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better 4 stars in pas” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arka
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better 4 stars in pas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2006

its just not a four star hotel even by andorra standards. There are four or five better hotels that are four stars and just as cheap. Try the magic hotel.
This hotel is at the top of the resort and a trek to the middle although there is a short cut to the slopes. Reception is ok, but although many rooms face the slope and have a good view ours was rubbish and the room was small and pokie. Bath rooms was smart and tidy and the linen was done every day.
The jaccuzzi was terrible and you have to pay extra. it was smelly and all the floors were awash with water, it was noisy and hair floating all over it. I didn't get in and got my money back. Also have to pay for lockers and and safe. Use the lockers on the slope.
Food was hit and miss. some days it was excellent and others it was ok and cold. Staff are nice though.
As i say I would stay else where and you will make your money back by using their free facilities. Good resort tough and caters for all needs. Maybe get your lessons i soldeu though as they are english and have better runs. Just a short bus trip if you can't shi over though.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxsaf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    12
    16
    20
See reviews for
17
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2006

After a long trek in the middle of the night we arrived at the hotel tired and weary which was not helped by an unfriendly greeting at reception. After what seemed an age and a lot of confusion we eventually got checked in to the hotel. Our room was suprisingly small for a 4* but the bathroom was clean and a good size. As previously experienced by others our bed clothes were stained and we also had a kettle with no cups. The breakfast was good but the buffet/ dinner was uninspiring and cold which was disappointing as were staying half board. There was no lobby or anywhere to relax and it cost an extra €5.00 to use the sauna. Overall, I found the reception staff unfriendly and unhelpful. I would definitly not return there and would advise others to avoid it also.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2006

We stayed at the Reial Pirineus last year and although it was ok it was not the standard we expected. I do work in the travel industry and am aware that * ratings differ in some countries but there were certain elements that were pretty bad.

The hotel on the whole is clean and tidy - as said before it is built into the side of a mountain so there are no windows in any corridors which means it can be very dark. The restaurant has large balconies which during the summer months would be lovely with brilliant views. We went and found the Sauna/Steam area but I have to say we didn't use it as it was so dirty at the time - this may have been because it was near the ski storage with people carrying wet equipment through. There was a fee to use the ski storage but I would recommend that you use the ones on the slopes as there is a very steep hill between the slopes and the hotel ( very difficult walking in ski boots and carrying skis + poles). The slope storage is heated so boots are dry and warm every day.

We had paid for a room with balcony on check-in we were given a standard room (very dark) I would recommend paying for the balcony if you decide to stay here. They reception staff, very helpful, found a room with a balcony but we were told they try not to use it because of the views!! We understood why when we opened the curtains we were staring at the back of the building in front of us - we could just see the top of the mountains in the distance but it gave a lot more natural light in the room than the original room we had been given which had just a small window. Bedding was stained, the balcony door wouldn't lock - we had to fix it ourselves as there was no one on site who could do it.

The food at this hotel was awful - the breakfast was ok as long as you liked slimey eggs - nothing else hot otherwise, the continental style breakfast they served would have been lovely in summer but for a day on the slopes we were hoping for something hot for breakfast !! The restaurant opened at 7pm for dinner by 7.15 the food was cold (all buffet style) very limited choice - complained to restaurant manager but no change. A main meal could be cooked to order but took over 45 minutes to be served.

The hotel was full when we stayed as it was the peak season for skiing. I would not return to this hotel during the ski season as I do not feel it provided us with the standard we had paid for. I know of other hotels in the town which provided a much better service all round as family were staying in resort at the same time as us.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2005

The wonderful thing about Trip Advisor is the right of free speech and the ability to write things as you find them.
I read the previous two reviews and thankfully was not put off visiting the hotel. I showed the reviews to the hotel manager on the reception computer and he was mortified. I promised to write to Trip Advisor to "set the record straight".
Yes. The hotel is dark. It has grey slate floors, grey walls and mahogany veneer paneling. I did not find this oppressive. It did show some battle scars of a hard ski season.
Yes. The reception area is small but is that a criticism? Its a small hotel!
The 5th floor reference is slightly misleading. The hotel is built into a hillside and thus the minus 5th floor isnt some subterranean dungeon but is at more or less street level from the front of the hotel (you enter at the back of the hotel at level 0 with just one floor above (+1). I found no odorous pong. Perhaps this came not from sewage but from sweaty ski gear?
I used both the jacuzzi and sauna and both were fine.
The room. We had a double bedroom (very small), bathroom and sitting room (with my older son´s bed in it), separate loo and two balconies (note: stunning views from the balconies. see photo).
There was a kettle and no cups. We bought a couple of cheap mugs within a 100 metres of the hotel and brewed up when we wanted.
At breakfast a high chair for our toddler was brought to our table without asking. The food was plentiful but not exceptional.
The hotel is only a short (but steep!) walk from the town. and was very quiet.
The staff were excellent: friendly, informative, multilingual and helpful.
One could argue about star ratings in Andorra, Spain and Europe until the cows come home. I can only express my total satisfaction with Hotel Reial Pirineus. A small, friendly hotel that provided us with a wonderful break on our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2005

Just came back from Pas. 4 of us staying in Reial Pirineus for 8 days.
The hotel looks OK from outside, the entrance lobby is quite small and dark. Actually the whole hotel is dark. One and only great thing was the food. Good and plenty of it. The worst was the 5th floor in the base of the hotel where you are supposed to keep your gear. It stank of sewage.
We only went down there once to check the lockers and after that we kept everything in our room. The jacuzzi is on that same (-5th) floor but because of the smell we never used it. One of my friends has and said once you are actually in it you can not smell anything but just the thought of the smell was enough for the rest of us. The sauna was great but there were no showers or a plunge pool!!? Only one little bench.
The rooms were seen to everyday and generally clean. There was a kettle but no cups?!
Wouldn't give it 3 star hotel rating.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2004

Went to Pas de la casa in Andorra in September, out of snow season so not many hotels open. Checked into Reial Pirineus, classed as 4 star and from reception looked modern and clean, just a little quiet and empty, which was to be expected. We were asked to wait while a room was prepared for us but I don't know what the preparation was! The room was a good size with a balcony but was really shabby and dirty. The bed cover and curtains were stained, the window was so dirty you couldn't see the great views of the mountains. A kettle was included but no cups or anything. A sofa was in the room but covered in a blanket to cover another big stain. Overall it was dirty and looked used and not worth the money we were quoted. We soon checked out and into the Font D'argent which was 30 euros cheaper and a million times better.

Helpful?
2 Thank lucyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Pas de la Casa Alaska
Residence Pas de la Casa Alaska
#16 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#6 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magic Pas Hotel
Magic Pas Hotel
#11 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalaia Pas
Hotel Himalaia Pas
#10 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#5 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arka

Property: Hotel Arka
Address: Calle de la Solana 64-66, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra (Formerly Hotel Reial Pirineus)
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pas de la Casa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arka 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reial Pirineus Hotel counts with an excellent and privileged location, to 500 metres of the commercial centre of Pas de la Casa and situated to the same time in some only natural surroundings. This hotel of 4 kites counts with 39 acollidores rooms. All the rooms are entirely instrumented with telephone, minibar, TV satellite, heating, strong box and complete bath with dryer of pel. Between the installations will be able to find a restaurant, a room of TV and a meeting room. The location of the hotel is ideal because you can practise sports of snow (to as only 200 metres of the tracks of ski of Grandvalira), hiking for his peaks and his lakes, active tourism, routes gastronomiques, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahotels Reial Pirineus Hotel Pas De La Casa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing