We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low price/Quality OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arka
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Cascais, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low price/Quality OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

With a low price, you cannot expect luxury. Very clean, fantastic and dedicated personel. The lack of a lounge with TV(it wasn't available) and the wi-fi is very weak. The food was ok.
But in the end, it matched our purposes! Nice ski-tip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDF2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    12
    16
    20
See reviews for
17
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Small rooms, all the four star services they say they have, you have to pay by the half hour, and the Jacuzzi isn't working. The lift isn't working, i had to carry my bags to my room. The food is bad and repetitive. We ended up having dinner out despite having payed for half board. There are no lockers for the skis, they stay in your room. The towels had holes in them. Some of the rooms only have a shower instead of a bathtub.

It is not a four star Hotel. If you just want to sleep and ski, and have no problem with the quality of the food, this hotel is cheep and close to the slopes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel_Alves_Vieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hotel Arka, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Miguel_Al,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments through TripAdvisor. All of them help us to keep improving the service.

We would like to explain to you that the hotel has some services such us the sauna or turkish bath that have an extra cost. We are sorry that this information was not clear when you booked your stay in your travel agency. On the other hand, the hotel has not jacuzzi service and this information is not published in any sales channel. Nevertheless, if you saw it in any, we would like to know the name in order to advise them about the wrong information.

Moreover, we would like to clarify that the hotel has lockers free of charge to all guest. You only have to ask for them at the reception. But if you prefer, you can also keep them in your room.

Finally, regarding the foog and towels, we have taking note about them and pass comments to each department in order to verify what happened and if it is necessary, to correct them.

Once again, thanks for your valued comments. We hope to see you in a near future in order to show you all the improvement we are doing.

Regards,

Almudena Salas
Sales Manager
Dormicum Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel was clean and nice. The rooms were ok but its a 4 star hotel so you get higher expectations. The wifi barely worked in the rooms, the ski lockers were paid (5€/day) which is ridiculous for a ski trip. The dinner (half board) doesn't include drinks and the jacuzzi was out of order (waiting for a spare part and didn't know when it would arrive. Yeah right). The dinner meals were repetitive and not very interesting but the breakfast was good. I did watch something interesting: a waiter dropped a drawer and all the spoons fell. She took them all to the kitchen to be washed, so extra points for keeping it clean.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portuguesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hotel Arka, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Portugues,

We thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you had a good experience at the Hotel Reial Pirineus.

We would like to explain to you that you have to pay 5€ for the small padlock you use to closed the ski storage. You do not have to pay for the Ski Storage. It is free of charge.

Regarding the dinner meals, we would like to tell you that we are changing meals more often in order to satisfy client's needs. On the other hand, we also want to explain you that drinks are not included in half board services in any hotel. You have to pay them directly in the hotel.

Finally, we thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see you soon at the Reial Pirineus Hotel.

Best Regards,


Almudena Salas
Sales Responsable
Dormicum Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent a week at the hotel reial pirineus, and where astonished by the great dedication of the staff.
Very good price to quality ratio - although the menu was a bit repetitive (the manager ensured us that was be a change he will soon make).
Great breakfasts, with bacon, eggs, cereals, fruit, bakeries, ...

Room Tip: ask for mountain view side (those rooms have a balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hotel Arka, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Good morning,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with all TripAdvisor's users your experience at the Hotel Reial Pirineus. We are very glad to hear that you stay was a pleasant one.

We have initiated a new stage full of energy and illusion. We have taken into account your comments about the menu and, as the Manager said, we have made some modifications and improvements.

Once again, thanks for your qualifications and we hope to see you soon at the Hotel Reial Pirineus.

Regards,

Almudena Salas
Responsable Comercial
Dormicum Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

We booked a really good deal which perhaps should have warned us that this wasn't really a four star hotel. We had a good stay; the food was fine, the room small but comfortable and the staff mostly friendly. However, the hotel facilities are not as described on the website; there is no separate bar area, no ski locker, the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were each on a separate floor with no showers or water and I objected to being charged for the use of these facilities on check out despite not having been told at any point that there was a cost involved.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnerleyCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

How could I start?
The most inefficient hotel manager I have ever met. Apparently they never received my e-mails because the e-mail address on their web page does not work. Lie!!

I traveled with my husband and two children but they put us on two different floors on the first night. Why? because we were late arriving, although i had booked two months before with my requirements and i had told them that we would be late on the date of arrival. We were moved to two different rooms the day after and i did not pay for the first night of accommodation as I refused to do so.

This is more like a Spanish 2 * hotel. Don't expect the standards of a 4*.

We did not have dinner at the hotel but breakfast was disgusting, except for the coffee, the croissants, the fresh fruit and the toast. They were the only things that we could eat.

If you are going to Pas de la Casa, I would recommend the hotel Font D'argent. It is a proper 4*, with great food, closer to the slopes and professional staff. Our friend was staying there because we could not book him in Reial Pirineus (he was so lucky in the end!!). We ended up spending more time in his hotel than in ours.

Please avoid this hotel, especially if you are traveling with children. They seem to think that it is ok to split families and put them on different floors.

It was horrible!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vejeriega2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

My friend and I have just returned from a skiing holiday in Pas de la casa Andorra, where we had the misfortune to stay at the Reial Pirineus Hotel, classed as a 4 star establishment.
IT'S NOT!!! I would say it's a 2 star at best. Food abysmal, staff unfriendly and unhelpful, apart from one girl, Yasmina, who was the only one to help us at any stage of our stay.
Rooms very basic and ours in particular, 108, had the added treat of having a generator in the wall next the bed!!! Really great to get to sleep with!
If it hadn't been for the skiing and our fanatastic ski instructor, the holdiay would have been a complete wipe-out!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eppyblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 mi away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#6 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magic Pas Hotel
Magic Pas Hotel
#11 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Pas de la Casa Alaska
Residence Pas de la Casa Alaska
#16 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalaia Pas
Hotel Himalaia Pas
#10 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#5 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arka

Property: Hotel Arka
Address: Calle de la Solana 64-66, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra (Formerly Hotel Reial Pirineus)
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pas de la Casa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arka 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reial Pirineus Hotel counts with an excellent and privileged location, to 500 metres of the commercial centre of Pas de la Casa and situated to the same time in some only natural surroundings. This hotel of 4 kites counts with 39 acollidores rooms. All the rooms are entirely instrumented with telephone, minibar, TV satellite, heating, strong box and complete bath with dryer of pel. Between the installations will be able to find a restaurant, a room of TV and a meeting room. The location of the hotel is ideal because you can practise sports of snow (to as only 200 metres of the tracks of ski of Grandvalira), hiking for his peaks and his lakes, active tourism, routes gastronomiques, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahotels Reial Pirineus Hotel Pas De La Casa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing