We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck on the pick”
Review of Hotel Pic Maia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pic Maia
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stuck on the pick”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is aislated from the village, since no transport is provided and if you want to have a walk or dinner in town you must drive, most of times with chains. The quality and variety of the food is poor. Temperature in the room is too high and you can't adjust it. Furniture is old. Staff is quite affable. Easy access to the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delantero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    30
    11
    47
See reviews for
27
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

What's good about this hotel: location near Gavatxa ski slope (red—not recommended for beginners!), a few friendly staff, affordable.

What's bad: everything else, including (but not limited to) tiny and uncomfortable beds, badly trained and inefficient staff, generally substandard (buffet) food, maniacal heating everywhere but especially on the top floors, total lack of atmosphere which is especially annoying in a hotel that's miles away from everything else, hotel in dire need of maintenance to the point of literally falling apart in places, general lack of cleanliness, smells of sewerage from bathroom, cheap in all senses.
Lowlights: upon arrival, an attempt was made to lodge us in a room measuring about 10 by 8.5 feet (!!) on a floor where the temperature was well above 40 degrees celsius. While preparing tables for dinner, a waiter dropped several items of cutlery on the floor and proceeded to place them on the table without even so much as wiping them off. The same item in the bar was billed at € 2.50, € 4.00 and € 8.00 depending on who did bar service. During a 10-day stay, our room was not vacuumed one single time. A chambermaid dropped a book we left in the bathroom in a bidet with a leaking tap and left it there for the day which reduced it to soaked pulp. The day before our departure, the water was off for eight hours at a stretch (no showering or flushing toilet, brushing teeth with bottled water) which, according to reception, was due to the fact that the hotel was fully booked.

Valuable experience: we were in room 101, which we now know is a room number to be avoided in any hotel with Russian guests, unless you want unsolicited wake-up calls at odd times—they generally appear to assume "101" is the number to call for reception.

  • Liked — View, affordability
  • Disliked — Just about everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Eetschrijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Well i'm not sure what can be said regarding this hoptel, if you can call it that. Dirty rooms without hot water - even though the hotel radiators seems to have
> been plugged into the water mains of hades! Breakfast was nice, if you're into gruel. Dinner, well, if breakfast was anything to go by, i
wouldn't go near it! This is a great place if you're really prepared to
rough it, however, at those prices i expected a little more, well, hot
water would have been nice... Pay the extra and get a nicer hotel in thetown. This place is miles away from town and don't be fooled by there hotel taxi service. The last bus into Pas de la casa was at 7.15 pm and the next one to take you back to the hotel was 8am the following day!
Avoid!!!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxyOneHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

What's good about this hotel?

1. It's cheap (in all sense of the word)

2. WHEN IT WORKS the showers are great with nice soft water

What's bad?

1. It's 5km away from anything. If you stay here you will either need a car or be t the mercy of the bus service that runs 4 times a day at very inconcenient times. The last bus from the town leave at 19.30 so forget seeing any nightlife. Taxi's are few and far in between.

2. The rooms are dirty. There were lots of hairs in my bathroom floor. There was a nasty stain in the wall - could have been blood or something sililarly nasty.

3. Smells of sewerage. Came and went - not nice.

4. Heated to ther point of being stifling. It was so hot we couldn't sleep without the windown open.

5. There was a hair on the sausage that is served at breakfast.

6. The hot water failed one morning, meaning we couldn't have a hot shower.

7. Staff are generally unhelpful. Didn't seem to care. Butr I guess if you work somewhere that terrible you must become immune to the endless complains.

8. Hallway lighting: Didn't always work. Made the place seem really edgy.

9. Dangerous. There were brooms and otehr cleaning equipment stored on the fire exit.

10. Parking: There are 2 petrol stations right outside the hotel and limited parking. Your car can't block the petrol stations.

11. Smokey: All the public creas seemed to be constantly full of cigarette smoke.

12. Thye bar prices are very high and remember you are pretty much stranded here.

  • Liked — Check-out!
  • Disliked — The fact they haven't gone bankrupt.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank The_curious_limper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#19 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#5 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magic Pas Hotel
Magic Pas Hotel
#12 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Hotel Cal Ruiz
#20 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pic Maia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pic Maia

Property: Hotel Pic Maia
Address: 28 Ctra General KM. | Cap del Port d'Envalira, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pic Maia 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pic Maia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing