We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Palopo
Nearby Hotels
Villa Santa Catarina(Santa Catarina Palopo)(Great Value!)
$129
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tzam Poc Resort(Santa Catarina Palopo)
$189
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Villas Balam Ya(Panajachel)
$255
$220
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradise Inn(Panajachel)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Playa Linda(Panajachel)
$35
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Grande Inn(Panajachel)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Utz Jay(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dos Mundos(Panajachel)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Chaparral(Panajachel)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
238
41
17
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
41
17
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake atitlanrisottomaster suitelarge showerlarge terracesteep drivewaystunning viewsstar servicewatching the sunsetsmall hotelslocal textilesthe main hotelinfinity poolamazing hotelguatemala cityspa servicesdelicious food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 310 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Beautiful hotel, tough ride to get there from Antigua or Guatemala City. The food is good but pricey for Guatemala. The service is pleasant. The rooms and beds are comfortable. Deserves high rating from all but not my favorite. Does have Magnificiant views.
Closest main city is 20 minute cab ride, hotel does not offer any shuttles or tours but will arrange for you at additional high cost.
I felt that the expenses were far higher than anywhere else we travelled to in Guatemala. Seems to take advantage of well to do travellers.

Overall I'm very glad we stayed there, enjoyed seeing that part of the country but I don't think I would return to there.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank honestreviews52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Casa Palopo is well worth the effort getting there. Once you arrive in Guatemala City, it is about a three hour drive to Lake Atitlan and its beautiful views. The hotel has a very warm and cozy atmosphere. we stayed in the master villa which is a bot of a hike from the main lodge below. The views from the terrace were incredible. The food was uneven (superb one night, with the same dish less so the second night). The staff was very helpful, organizing a specific tour we wanted as well as massage and private yoga class in the villa.
The one disturbing thing about our stay was a pack of dogs barking loudly at each other in the middle of the night, disrupting our sleep. This was particularly unnerving the night prior to our departure when we knew that we had 12 hours of travel ahead of us. The staff said that the dogs belong to a neighbor and that there was nothing they could do to solve the problem. While I understand their response, it was still quite frustrating to be disturbed at 2 AM by ferocious barking.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank adventure1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

If you would like to see the midnight stars in all their glory, you must visit the hotel Casa Palopo! We stayed at both the hotel itself and the Villa above, and would return for a stay at both the next time we go. We have visited many places in Guatemala before, and here we have found all the things we love in one place -- a luxury worth spending a little extra for, and after all, isn't that what a vacation is all about. The exclusive Villa has an absolutely magnificent lake view from the balcony (there's even a view from the shower), and the hotel below, with its beautiful views, has a closer proximity to more of the kind, personable, and efficient staff, which we also enjoyed. We had both breakfast and dinner each day of our stay, and the food was outstanding. In fact, our servers went out of their way to bring us whatever we needed and spoil us at every opportunity. We are thrilled to know this fabulous place exists for us the next time we need a wonderful romantic getaway.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank peaceofmind08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Stayed for four nights over Xmas. We had suite one, that was very large with a terrace overlooking the lake- a good one to go for. The rest of my party had slightly smaller suites but overall the accommodation superb- large showers, good selection of toiletries- rooms a little on the dark side (but then the whole of Guatemala seems to be lit by a 60 watt bulb!) - but the public areas- terrace, dining room and snug bar all excellent- and we loved the log fires. We had the hotel more or less to ourselves throughout the stay which was an unique experience. The local staff in the dining room and the bar were extremely friendly and attentive. The location is out of this world- one of if not the most beautiful lakes we have ever seen, surrounded by volcanoes and hardly a tourist in sight. The downside? The food was dead average bordering poor- yet the hotel (tho empty) charges London prices- e.g £15++ for a spaghetti bolognese (side salad extra!); £2 for AWFUL toast and £2/3 for coffee etc (breakfast should be thrown in at these rates) and 80$++ for complusary Xmas meal including curdled creme brulee that left my daughter with violent food poisoning- and the wine? £25++ de minimus for an average Chilean that was on sale for £15 elsewhere in hotels (not to mention £2 in the supermercado!). We raised the poor Xmas meal and food in general with the American manager when we finally located her - who was very defensive, so no joy there. It's a shame that wanton greed preying on a captive audience (there really is no alternative eatery in the evening unless you fancy a hairraising ride in the dark to Hotel Atitlan ) can leave one feeling exploited in what was otherwise a glorious glorious location. SO........, my recommendation would be to go if you are anywhere nearby- well worth the schlepp from Anitigua (and the scenic route has stunning views); do the Pueblos tour on the lake (but don't organise via hotel as they will add their cut to the cost); eat lunch at least at Hotel Atitlan- very nice gardens and much better food and wine at c 1/2 price); buy your wine/beers/water at the off licence or another hotel and consume the minimum on site- and ask for breakfast to be thrown in- at 350$ a night per room this is not an unreasonable request! But cannot fault location, locals, and the accommodation itself.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Being from Las Vegas and in the hospitality business, it takes a few tricks to get our attention. The surrounding beauty of the lake, the accommodations and the staff were superb from the beginning to the end. We were met at the doorway with the Inn's signature drink. This set the tone for a wonderful two day stay.
We should have stayed for two weeks. Sandra and her staff will take care of you. It is well worth the time and effort it takes to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews