We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you can affort it, go for it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Palopo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Palopo
Certificate of Excellence
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you can affort it, go for it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I LOVED this hotel. It is located on a perfect part of the shore which afforded the best views of the lake. Just sitting on the balcony every morning taking in the sunrise and then in the afternoon for the sunset was something not to be missed. The decor is a huge plus - so thoughtfully done - and the staff could not have been more acommodating. After my first day there I would only have to sit on the balcony and my coffee would be brought out without my even asking. They really do look after you here and it is tough to tear yourself away from all of the comforts to go "see" everything the lake has to offer.

Room Tip: I liked room 7 since it was upstairs a bit from the other rooms and had even better views of the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller48570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    38
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
139
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beatiful decoration and sightseen over the Atitlan lake. It is strategically located to watch a fantastic sunset behind the vulcanos over the lake.
The room was fantastic, really big and well decorated, and with 2 private terraces included. We can see the lake from the bed.
The service and food were also excellent.
There are very few rooms, so it is really quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anagbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A beautiful, intimate resort with gorgeous views of Lake Atitlan and a staff to match. Every request is handled swiftly and professionally at a moment's notice. Everyone was incredibly friendly and gracious. The hotel is wonderfully appointed, the decor is top notch, and the ambiance is relaxing and inviting. We didn't want to leave!

The food is fantastic and the kitchen is amenable to requests for dishes not on the menu.

Only visit if you like designer accomodations, relaxing under the sun or shade while looking across a glistening lake under clear blue skies, eating delicious food, and being surrounded by an attentive and friendly staff.

This was the highlight of our trip to Guatemala!

Room Tip: The Atitlan Suite is perched above the main house of the hotel. Beautiful room. Great shower. Gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral de Pozos, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived by helicopter to the hotel helicopter pad. The staff was there to greet us and from the first moment, it was magical! The room with an incredible view of Lake Atitlan, the chef and restaurant of the highest quality, the management friendly and accommodating for tours of the villages! Highly recommend this beautiful and unique hotel. Superb service by each and every person on the property!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Buzz77018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This small hotel overlooks the infamous with the most spectacular views possible, the rooms and overall look of the hotel is beautiful. I would recommend this place to anybody. You may not have a fancy rain shower like at a four seasons but you have the most beautiful shower overlooking the lake with a window view just as an example. The rooms, beds, special touches, views from the terraces, the food, restaurant, library are all decorated in the best of taste giving a special ambience to his wonderful place. my only recommendation is that upon check in they tell you there is room service or massages available (for example we asked last mintue and we had the most incredible massages in our room a half an hour later!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leaffangoleafsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Two nights stay in a low season at Casa Palopo was the highlight of our Central American trip.

Facilities, amenities and food of the high international standard quality are well complimented by the seamless with attention to detail service.

True value, especially considering the unique desigh and location of the hotel.

It is very rare to find a boutique hotel that provides a real 5 star experience that I have been lucky to receive during in my worldwide travels so far.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay at Casa Palopo was absolutely wonderful! We were greeted with a delicious hibiscus punch and shown to our funky chic room with a gorgeous view of the lake. We were there in the off season, so we were 1 of 2 guests at the hotel so we had the place to ourselves most of the time. The dining area outdoors was simply stunning, and the food delicious! I looked forward to every meal! The pool was the only downside, there was a lot of leaves and such in the pool and in the luxurious little cabanas, but I didn't come to swim so I did not mind. Overall, amazing place to stay, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aekloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
3.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tzam Poc Resort
Tzam Poc Resort
#3 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#2 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
2.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Property: Casa Palopo
Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo 07011, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Palopo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which features seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork. A large living room with fireplace, gourmet restaurant, elegantly set tables are set in intimate clusters inside the relaxed dining room and on the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing