We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual Retreat and Tranquility”
Review of Casa Palopo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Palopo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed 6 lively nights at the Casa Palopo and was in awe of the decor, the food and the location. The grounds are impecably maintained, the customer service was outstanding from check-in to arranging tours and transportation.

The food was fabulous and I was a bit leary as I had read other reviews. I can not justify any type of comment that was made for too expensive when I enjoyed the meals that I had with a view that was so breathtaking and service that was outstanding.

I viewed all of the guestrooms and they are all beautiful with spectacular views of the lake and volcanoes.

All charges were explained to me in my confirmation so I knew up front what to expect. No surprises,

Room Tip: for traveling with a friend - # 4 is large with 2 beds and a very large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodi789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 294 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just checked out of Casa Palopo this morning, and I don't want any time to pass before expressing just how fantastic this place is...WOW!

Before I get into its brilliance, I'll start with the one thing that felt off about the hotel—the prices for food and drink. We met several other guests while we were there, and though all of us were enchanted by the hotel, everyone seemed to be complaining about the expensive menu...we're talking $10 for a French press coffee. The hotel's restaurant is not just for guests, and perhaps they could consider giving a discount to guests staying at the hotel. Just a thought.
There are loads of restaurants in Panajachel however, and a fifteen minute tuk tuk ride will get you there with no problem.

Now to the good stuff...
Casa Palopo is absolutely beautiful, in every way. The rooms are spacious and beautifully designed, and the bathrooms are fantastic...we had a massive shower with a glass wall that looked out onto the lake, which, by the way, is easily one of the most beautiful lakes I've ever seen in my life.

There are so many common areas in the hotel, and each one is perfect...some indoors, some outdoors...comfy chairs in front of a fireplace, large living room with terrific art, cozy library with lake view, and too many terrace choices to count. All with lake and volcano views of course. Every foot in this hotel is designed to perfection, and it all feels welcoming and comfortable. It's truly one of the most charming hotels I've ever stayed in.

The staff is terrific...friendly and attentive and entirely helpful. Everyone went out of their way to make sure our stay was just right, and it was. All the beautiful flowers and endless bird songs added to the already perfect environment.

Stay here if you get the chance...you will be absolutely thrilled that you did. There's plenty to explore around Lake Atitlan...and we did some exploring...but if you wanted to just sit around and take a dip in the pool (not very big but nice) and revel in your perfect surroundings, this boutique hotel (only seven rooms) lends itself well to spending endless hours doing a whole lot of nothing.

Enjoy!!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ScottFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were looking for a quite peaceful getaway and this place was perfect. We just needed a quiet place to recharge our energy. The hotel is quiet, out of the way, and have a well trained staff. They are there when you need them, and will leave you alone if you don't.
The beds and linens are top-class.
Remember this is a third world country, so there are a couple of minor things we overlooked. However overall we can recommend this property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great place. No bugs, great food, good location.
Only thing is that it's so secluded that it's costs a lot to get around.
We stayed 4 nights and for 2 nights we were the only ones there.
Be aware of extra charges! We got a ride from airport to hotel and back and they charged a tip of 10 percent! They charge that on everything, but they contract all services out so I wonder if they get the tip? Worse thing was we tipped the driver 15 usd and the hotel charged the tip too. Becareful of what u are being charged. Carlos is a great employee there!!!

Room Tip: Get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimr153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

i had my concerns about this place before going as i was worried about a emerging country like this but it totally exceeded my expectations. we were there with our 3 kids and took the epic 2 bedroom hilltop villa. It has a huge disappearing edge pool, outdoor sitting rooms. Loads of covered potchs looking over the lake and 3 fireplaces. Full kitchen and dining room too. Also a heli pad!!!!! Wow..... Only concern is the numerour steps to walk up there from the hotel itself. Breakfast delivered on time and by the butler. Could not have beeen more impressed. Food in the main restaurant was good but not excellent. Staff is very very attentive and always working hard to help!!

Room Tip: go for the villa on the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I had a business meeting here and rented 3 rooms and they were all exceptional! The setting is so peaceful and away from it all. It is a self contained paradise. You are not in town but a short distance out of town high up on the side of the lake. This place is a super romantic getaway and can also double as a great place to have a business meeting(small) with no interruptions while being surrounded by natures beauty. They have a wonderful pool and sun deck. There are NO TV's or CLOCKS in the rooms which turned out to be a wonderful thing! I would not recommend children as it is not set up for them and no TV...well you can only imagine. The resturaunt setting was also magical as was 100% of the meals we ordered.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! The less expensive rooms are also a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPSMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Nothing we can criticise about this hotel, except perhaps that it's a long way from Panajachel, or 'Gringotenango' as it is also known. This, on reflection, is probably a good thing. The hotel has all the little details you expect from truly special places, great cosmetics in the bathroom, lots of hot water, attentive staff, even hot water bottles tucked into your bed at night.
The staff a friendly and professional and we ate in the restaurant twice, on both occasions the food was very good.
Best of all is the view across the lake to the volcanoes which changes throughout the day with the light. We definitely want to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 - marvellous views from the bed, nice little patio to the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAS907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
507 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tzam Poc Resort
Tzam Poc Resort
#3 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#2 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
176 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo 07011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range: $456 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Palopo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which feature seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork or a more modern outtake in the private villa located above the main building with a private pool, jacuzzi, living room and kitchen. In the main building relax in front of the fireplace in our hotel living room or enjoy a gourmet meal in 6.8 Palopo restaurant, with elegantly set tables in an intimate cluster. On the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing