We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still awesome!”
Review of Casa Palopo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Palopo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still awesome!”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We returned to Casa Palopo, after staying there two years ago, It is still AWESOME!
The staff can't do enough for you, sit back relax and enjoy luxury and beauty at it's best!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    40
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
46
156
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We've travelled extensively, and this is one of the nicest places we've stayed aanywhere in the world. The setting is magnificent, with gorgeous views of Lake Atitlan and the surrounding volcanoes. Rooms are beautifully decorated with lots of local flavor. The food at the restaurant was wonderful, and the staff are incredibly accommodating. You can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HM_from_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This hotel is just perfect. The house is beautiful, simple and elegant. The feeling is casual, comfortable and unpretentious. The views are incredible from everywhere. There are diferent terraces in different levels facing the lake and the volcanoes that are the perfect place to watch the sunset while having a coffee or a glass of wine with an appetizer. The service is impecable. Food is very good. Front desk staff is very helpful. Make sure you go to the small garden across the road on the lake side. It belongs to the hotel and there are beautiful views from there. My only advice is to have a car because the location is very remote (which is part of the charm). This is the perfect place to just disconnect from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed in suite 3 and it was a gorgeous room of primary colours and "rustic chic" with huge double doors out to our large private terrace with spectacular view over the lake. The weather our first day was dull, cloudy and cold but we still loved it and woke the next day to clear skies! The whole place is beautiful with charming sitting areas, outside and inside dining. There is a well stocked library within another sitting area downstairs which we only discovered the morning we left. Free internet. Efficient laundry - shirt £2, socks £1, trousers £3. Bath robes provided. Pretty shower room with a view to the lake from the shower, but I would have liked a bath for it to be perfect (there was room)! Food was mostly good, apart from the main courses on our first night which we sent back almost uneaten, but no one commented on it. They really need to improve their website, and have pictures of the individual rooms and suites. It doesn't advertise itself well, and doesn't even make it clear that each room has a lake view.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Casa Palopo was one of the most beautiful and charming places I have ever been. Every single last detail had been thought through in the designing and planning of this beautiful masterpiece in Santa Caterina Palopo... only a 10 min Tuk Tuk from the center of all touristy stuff, it's the perfect lil' hideaway on the hill. I stayed there with my dearest cousin for our own fun getaway, but it would be an INCREDIBLE choice for a honeymoon spot or perhaps a proposal. :)

The views are MAJESTIC. You have to pinch yourself every time you turn your head... even when you're not looking at the glorious lake and it's surrounding volcanoes, you're charmed by every precious element of the hotel- the lanterns, the chairs, the side tables, the art, the tiles, EVERYTHING!! My cousin and I were going on and on even about the public bathroom they have in the lobby.

The ONLY thing that was sorta' annoying was the cost of food and drinks- it was appropriate for a "luxury" hotel, but when you're in Guatemala you expect to pay a little less I guess.

But all in all I hope and pray I can come back to this amazingly precious place!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

I stayed with a friend for two nights at Casa Palopo - the Talliman room (part of the upper villa). The room was lovely - very clean, spacious and modern. The bathroom was just about perfect and the views over the lake were priceless.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly, although we had a miscommunication upon check out that meant we paid over $100 more for the room than we expected. If you are dealing with them via email as we did, ensure the emails are 100% clear about a total price including tax and any transfers.

We were disappointed by the pool - the one featured in most of the advertising is actually the private pool. The general pool is basically a long narrow pool - not really practical for playing around or if more than one person is trying to swim at a time.

We ate dinner at the hotel once and weren't overwhelmed - my requested well-done burger was medium at best. The restaurant appeared to have great write ups, but for the cost we had better meals in Pana.

The location is what this hotel is about though, and it didn't disappoint. If you are considering the rooms at the top - be warned that the 150 steps are steep!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anchmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed at casa palopo with my wife this month on a leisure trip to guatemala. We bought a four night package to stay here on luxury link. We had high expectations and it exceeded them. The manager's name is Jennifer, and she is friendly, warm, and so accessible! Even before we arrived, we had exchanged countless emails with her setting up transportation and restaurant reservations. Her staff made us feel like we were at home, catering to every need. For example, one morning we felt like having breakfast on our private porch instead of in the restaurant; we asked if this was possible, and within minutes we had a romantic breakfast set up for us on on our balcony. And the food was delicious! The restaurant is the best restaurant we went to on Lake Atitlan.
We were in suite 2, the room's decor was beautiful, comfortable bed, and amazing view from our large private balcony. Our room was right under the restaurant and so my only criticism would be that we woke up a few mornings to chairs and tables being moved around by the staff setting up for breakfast. However it did not bother us enough to even mention it.
For affordable luxury I have not been anywhere better. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjsager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
491 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
773 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tzam Poc Resort
Tzam Poc Resort
#3 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
48 reviews
2.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Property: Casa Palopo
Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo 07011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Palopo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which feature seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork or a more modern outtake in the private villa located above the main building with a private pool, jacuzzi, living room and kitchen. In the main building relax in front of the fireplace in our hotel living room or enjoy a gourmet meal in 6.8 Palopo restaurant, with elegantly set tables in an intimate cluster. On the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing