We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High end in Heaven”
Terrace in front of living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace in front of living room
Exterior View of La Casa Colibri Heated plunge Pool with Sauna, Fireplace and Waterfall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Terrace in front of living room
Exterior View of La Casa Colibri
Heated plunge Pool with Sauna, Fireplace and Waterfall
Swimming pool at sunset..
Living Room
Dining Room at Sunset
Rooftop Hammock Deck
Rooftop Hammock Deck
Terrace in front of dining room
Bedroom #2
Bedroom #2 ensuite bathroom
View from bedroom #2 balcony
Bedroom #3 with ensuite bathroom
Bedroom #3 with double-sized sleeping loft
Bedroom #4 balcony
Bedroom #5 with ensuite bathroom
Outdoor living room/ Games Room
Outdoor living room/ Games Room
Outdoor living room/ Games Room
Entry area with Fountain
Entry
View from gardens
Poolside
As seen from gardens...
View outdoor living room/ Games Room
Hallway leading to bedrooms  #3 & 4
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
tinyhappy...
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
“High end in Heaven”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My husband and I spent 5 nights in this jaw dropping home situated perfectly to take advantage of the best view of Lake Atitlan. Every morning we were treated to a home cooked meal with fresh salsa, guacamole, tortillas, eggs, banana bread, and a huge fruit platter. We had two massages in our room, showered and then lounged on one of three different spots as there are three separate decks. This house offers tremendous privacy and enough bedrooms to fit five couples comfortably. We had the place to ourselves. We had dinner one night with the owner, David who has lived in Japan and his eye for art and architecture is extraordinary. Meeting David was a highlight of the trip. We are big travelers: Safari in the Serengeti, riding bicycles in Cambodia, Petra, etc. Guatemala was an easy 3 hour flight from Miami and the house was perfectly positioned on the lake to offer both privacy and easy access to the nearby towns. The fee was extremely reasonable, the service exceptional, and experience very romantic. You simply cannot go wrong with choosing this magnificent home to rent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borglum
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and staff!”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent 10 days at the hummingbird house and had an amazing time. The house and views are beautiful! Ronnie and all of the helpers and cooks really made this an unforgettable experience. Breakfasts were included and I recommend the dinners which were well worth the additional price. The steep hike/road up to the house is the only negative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren110...
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

That is a amazing place! Its a amazing experience!! the house is very big and confortable, and we did not let that views!!! The lake and volcanos views are wow!!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexus1155
san luis obispo CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning, Surreal and a great place to re-energize...”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Colibri and the entire staff are top notch. I take tour groups through Guatemala, Hawaii, Fiji and New Zealand so I have seen my share of properties. The best reviews are the ones that are short but tell you all you need to know. What you need to know concerning Casa Colibri is to just book it, the location, views and staff will take care of the rest !!!! Highly recommended....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephmcc...
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is actually the second time we have stayed at Casa Colibri. To be perfectly honest, we love it. It is the perfect place for a gathering of friends. Both times we have shared the house with a group of good friends. And for a stiutation like that it works perfectly. Up to 5 couples-parties each have their own very private bedroom. Four of the bedrooms have drop dead views of the lake.
Angela is an amazing chef. We so enjoyed wonderful, gourmet dinners served beautifully at the end of a busy day of walking and taking in the lake villages.
And then there is Lake Atitlan, an ever present mystic being, changing colors, moving in strange patterns between the volcanoes.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les O
1 review
“Luxury off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The view from the house of the lake and surrounding mountain range is breathtaking, your staff attentive, and the accommodations superlative. My wife and I look forward to our next visit to your lovely house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMac8
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They thought of everything...and the view!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have wanted to stay at La Casa Colibri since I saw it for the first time in January of 2015 while visiting Guatemala for work. In full disclosure, I am good friends with the owner. We've known each other for 20 years and both of us have traveled many places and stayed in all kinds of accommodations from dumpy budget to luxurious high life. Once I saw this home that he designed, built, and decorated, I knew that I wanted to organize a group of friends to come down and stay there. So we finally did that last month! The house is so nicely appointed (I call it ethici rustic elegance) at the price point, can suit a family or several families as we were. We have a cook the whole time we were there which took out that decision point from our day-and we ate fabulously well. I loved the details in the home, and I loved how quiet it was. One morning I woke up very early, sat on my balcony and I could hear a man singing in his canoe down on the lake! So peaceful! Besides how amazing the space is, you will appreciate the level of service you receive. David cares deeply about making sure all of your questions are answered (he was always in communication with upcoming visitors), all of the details taken care of-and that your vacation suits you and your style and expectations. As he says, he can arrange a totally hands-off experience OR he can make sure you have assistance in all of your bookings above and beyond the hotel. I have sent many people to David, even just to get recommendations and he always obliges. So what you get here is not only a wonderful home where you can relax, you get a level of caring service you likely won't get many other places. It's a great choice and my friends and I were reluctant to move on with our trip-we could have easily extended our 4-night stay to a week. Or more! Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the view, the calm, the price
Liked least: nothing to complain of!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing