We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lush Atitlan
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$57
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel IslaVerde(Santa Cruz La Laguna)(Great Value!)
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel el Arca de Noe(Santa Cruz La Laguna)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pescador Hotel PH(Santiago Atitlan)(Great Value!)
$47
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu(Santiago Atitlan)
$75
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Schumann(San Marcos La Laguna)
La Fortuna at Atitlan(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
198
40
14
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
40
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspescadosan marcosgranolaoutdoor bathroombeautiful hotelhard boiled eggsfresh fruitthe ownerthe cliffthe stained glass windowsprivate terraceevery morningcomfy bedunique placegreat roomkind of placeguatemalan coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 265 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

After a terrible experience at a hostel in Santa Cruz, we wanted a good, clean night's sleep - and we ended up staying two nights in this lovely hotel.
The room was immaculate, the beds and linens were top notch, the rock in the room and bathroom gave the stay a real earthy feel. When traveling third world countries you really learn to appreciate hot showers - and this was the first truly hot shower I'd had in a while.
The location is wonderful, near lots of little cafes all staffed with the kind of people who remember your name. One of my best stays in a hotel ever!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlayna67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the mirador room. It offered stunning views of the lake and a great terrace. Unfortunately given the rainy season we were unable to use the terrace which spoilt our stay slightly. The manager Lily was superb, she responded to our emails and feedback very quickly and professionally. We think this would be a brilliant spot for anyone visiting in the summer and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyBee1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAaculaax2012, Owner at Lush Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We always try to do our best to satisfy every customer and sometimes it just isn't a good fit. These guests visited during the green season and happened to come while we were experiencing rains that were uncharacteristically hard. Rainy season typically means rainy late afternoons/evening and bright sunny days. We have had hundreds of guests stay in the Mirador during the rainy season and enjoy the terrace during their stay. I'm sorry that we were unable to meet the expectations of these guests and they had a little bit of bad luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Our room was full of bugs which we didn't see at day but which came out at night. I couldn't close an eye! Spiders running over the bed and everything was full of ants, especially the very big ones. The rock in our room was very wet and we had the constant feeling that our clothes and the bed were humid. Not so a great experience. The view was great with no doubt but it is definately overpriced for what you get!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAaculaax2012, Owner at Lush Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are so sorry you had a difficult stay. Hotel Aaculaax is built right into the rocks of the hillside and next to a nature reserve; being close to nature also means we have a few harmless critters. Being ecologically conscious we do not fumigate, i.e. poison our environment which goes against our "green" principles.

Traveling in the green/rainy season has many advantages, but it also induces more ants come out for a visit. Our staff is always happy to help you if you ask for our assistance: by either removing the critters or changing you to a room that is not exposed to the rocks of the mountainside.

These guests stayed in Cascada (the waterfall) and we advertise on our website the gentle trickle of water on the rockside. Most of our guests find it charming. We carefully monitor the humidity in our rooms (and as you can see from all our other reviews), we have never heard a complaint about it. Aaculaax is not a standard hotel, we pride ourselves on the uniqueness of each room, how we fit into our natural environment and used nature as art.

Lily Manne
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a great stay at Aaculaax in La Casacada (see traveller tips below), where we stayed for a week, and would have gladly stayed longer. With amazing lake views, a lovely peaceful garden and helpful staff, Aaculaax was an ideal place for an extended stay. Byron the manager was super helpful in arranging Spanish classes and addressing all other questions and requests. We loved the tranquility of this location and the warmth of the staff. The apartments are well suited for longer stays and self-catering.

Room Tip: La Casacada is a split level 2 bedroom apartment. There's a lovely porch with stunning lake and volcano views outside the kitchen, which is separated from the two bedrooms. Although it is not as elevated as some of the other apartments, it's a great value for a two bedroom place with a great little kitchen. We never did experience a waterfall, however:)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trotamundo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The rooms were so beautiful and the location can't be beat. Loved the atmospher and don't forget about breakfast in the morning. Delicous and a great start to the day. San Marcos is a great little town to stay in for your visit to the lake and Hotel Aaculaax can't be beat :)

Room Tip: Granadilla. A great value for a beautiful room. Loved the porch and sitting out there reading in the evening.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlliJae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews