We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice for San Marcos and Lake Atitlan area”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Top choice for San Marcos and Lake Atitlan area”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A beautiful place snugged up against the hillside in San Marcos. A variety of rooms, each with their own special character, gives you delightful choices of where you can stay. We stayed for a few days and enjoyed being next to the local park where you can swim and be a bit away from the busy main walkway of town. Reserve ahead for the rooms that are bookable as this place is popular.

+'s:

~ beautiful rooms and buildings with artwork built right into the structure.
~ very clean
~ a variety of room types and prices.
~ right beside the park where you can swim and drink in the beautiful lake views.
~ great staff
~ wifi
~ towels provided (not all places give guests towels!)
~ premium quality beds, even for the hostel-like rooms

-'s:

~ Can't book some rooms which are lower-priced. First-come first-served
~ A bit farther from the main walkway of town, so you need a flashlight at night to get there, which may make some travellers nervous.

Special Treat:

Walk the grounds and enjoy the attention to detail and the artwork designed right into the buildings. A visual feast!

Room Tip: There are a variety of room types and prices available. Check out your options, but trust that your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKurucz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    36
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
124
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this oasis on the shores of beautiful Lago De Atitlan a few months back. This hotel is unlike any we've ever stayed at. The staff was wonderful, customers come first here, including the owner, who was able to accommodate us with a discount because of construction taking place near our Cascada room. We also had to leave early due to unfortunate circumstances and the owner went out of her way to give us a refund on the remaining days. Every morning we were greeted with smiles from staff. Byron is a wonderful advice giver on things to do. The view from the room was mind blowing. Every morning I woke up wondering if this was heaven on earth.

--The gardens are well taken care of and beautiful.
-- The front desk has everything you need so that you needn't leave the grounds(wine/snacks/books).
-- Close to nature reserve, trampolin.
-- The only draw back is the amount of spiders in our bathroom, but it was under construction, and you have to realize that you are in central america.
--Candles given every night, very romantic mood the hotel gives off.
--great lounge area to read drink wine meet other guests.
--helps to know spanish, but the staff were very accommodating, letting us boil water, wash our clothes/give great advice
--the beds were very clean, shining white sheets and down blanket

Room Tip: Any of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Beautiful place, a piece of art. Built against the mountain, the vegetation ia amazing, the garden is a great place to relax in. Each room is unique. Mine had a terrace with a picture perfect view of Lake Atitlan and the volcanoes. It was a woderful place to watch the sunsets, and meditate at dawn. Service is great and very friiendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

First, let me start by saying that this is BY FAR the best place to stay in San Marcos. We stayed in Sirena which had a magical view of the lake, the room was beautiful, comfortable and the bed was dreamy. But, the best part about Hotel Aaculaax is Byron. Byron works the night shift and watches over the hotel, he is incredibly friendly, goes out of his way to help you and is a wealth of information! If you are looking for something to do, take a hike with Byron, you will see a part of the lake that many travelers don't see. If you aren't up for hiking there is a great place to rent kayaks behind the volleyball court outside the hotel. At any rate, I can't say enough about Aaculaax, would rate it 6 out of 5 stars and like I said, Bryon is the man.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sirena, phenomenal view, comfy bed, just watch out for the rock in the middle of the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owenmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I'm not sure when I fell in love with San Marcos, but it was sometime on the footpath between the dock and Aaculaax. It's a place where coffee grows like weeds, local children run laughing though the streets, and the home of Aaculaax, a perfect blend of western comfort and Guatemalan charm. We reserved Sirena, and boy am I glad we did. The view was otherworldly, something you would see from another planet in some sci-fi movie. The three volcanos, the lake, the clouds, and the sounds of a lazy town wafting by send you to a place of total peace. The bed was quite comfortable, and the perfect blanket for the cool evening air. Our bathroom had two walls that were natural rock, and the stained glass and woodcarving throughout was amazing. They provide a lockbox in your room for your passports and wallets and the like, always a nice thing to have. The breakfast they serve is amazing, nothing like fresh fruit and coffee from mugs the locals make. The town is as safe as anything, people were walking around with ipads and nice cameras like it was nothing. They sell bottles of wine at reception, and let me tell you nothing beats watching dusk fall then sipping on a glass of vino tinto. Can't wait to go back. Thanks Lily.

Room Tip: The suits are the way to go, bedroom, sitting room, bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarka592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at Aaculaax for a wedding - Lily, Olga and the rest of the team were more than accommodating. They were the definition of hospitality (even when we perhaps didn't deserve it - the middle of the night, in the rain, we come back in 5 groups instead of one, order 10 bottles of wine and take 20 minutes trying to decide what kind of candies we wanted to stock up on - all the while the night guard smiles patiently). We stayed in Sirena - I probably took 100 pictures of the view from the king bed. Lily also helped us arrange a shuttle to the airport in Guatemala City, all it took was one phone call. Thank you thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi-Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I got married on the lake and we stayed in El Mirador (the honeymoon suite) at Aaculaax and our family filled up every other room at the hotel (except one, I think).

We had an amazing experience! The owners and staff at Aaculaax are amazing, helpful, and really care about their guests. Lily came up every morning during breakfast and would check on and chat with all of us.

We were very well taken care of and on the night of our wedding, when we got to our room, the staff had decorated our room with bouquets and flower petals.

I also had the BEST massage I have ever had from Stephanie, the masseuse at Aaculaax.

Aaculaax really can't be beat, each room is incredibly unique, beautiful, and clean. We loved staying here and so did the rest of our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
3.1 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
655 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
773 reviews
4.4 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
300 reviews
8.6 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
286 reviews
6.7 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax

Property: Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
Address: Barrio 3, San Marcos La Laguna 07016, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush is ideally located on a hillside on the shores of spectacular Lake Atitlán in San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala. The hotel has 10 unique rooms and suites, each one individually designed, with one-of-a-kind art works and locally made furniture. All of the rooms boast of incredible views of the lake and surrounding volcanoes, a private terrace or balcony, offering guests a harmonious balance with the surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax Guatemala/San Marcos La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing