We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great energy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you're looking for a place to dive deep into your spiritual growth, have a safe place with great people around than this is perfect. It's inexpensive, beautiful and peaceful. Great opportunity to be close with the locals and get a true experience of Lake Atitlan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

A sweet little place to stay. Only a few rooms there and friendly people. The location is up on a hill just out of town and also close to a veg stall. The trees need cutting back in order to get the potentially great view. There is a good kitchen, although another water filter is definitely needed to keep up with demand. Good value at 90Q for a private.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpi-and-Arjuna, Owner at Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you very much for the improvement tips!
There is already a second water filter in the kitchen and we are on it with revealing the lake view again (during the rainy season everything is simply growing like crazy :).

Joy and Light,
Arpita and Arjuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked/stayed a week at the Yoga Hostel late June. I like the location up a small hill from the main part of San Marcos. Better views and less tourists. The yoga/meditation classes were great. It´s really affordable and you have a kitchen to use. I didn´t mind but there is no wifi and no meat/alcohol allowed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PichiSpanishSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpi-and-Arjuna, Inhaber at Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Victor,

We are glad you had a nice time at Kaivalya. We're responding to your review simply to let you and other travelers know that Wifi will be soon available again as it was before. At the moment we are struggling with some technical issues. We will mention it on our website as soon as it becomes functional again. In the meantime, the closest Internet cafe is three minutes away on foot.

Cheers and happy trails,
Arpi & Arjuna, Proprietors of Kaivalya Yoga School & Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Bliss. I think my favourite part (above and beyond the warm reception, cosy rooms and killer view) was the beautiful heartfelt quotes, pictures and personal memoirs scattered around the place....gorgeous. Also having the yoga and meditation on your door step was brilliant!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Yoga and meditation was fantastic! The classes were so inspiring and made a great impact. The accommodation was fine but we did have noise issues on a daily/ nightly basis with loud tuk tuks and trucks driving past the yoga area frequently, and a really loud family behind the property that got drunk every night until 2am, whilst their screaming kids woke us up every morning at 6.30am.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpi-and-Arjuna, Inhaber at Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Victor,

We are very happy you enjoyed the Yoga and meditation classes we are offering. And we are very sorry you were exposed to so much noise, usually we don't receive this many nuisances from neighbors and road. To make up for your trouble we'd like to offer you a free Yoga class next time you come our way.

Blessings and happy trails,
Arpi & Arjuna, Proprietors of Kaivalya Yoga School & Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I got to experience my first darkroom retreat through the yoga hostel in san marcos lake atalin, and although it was only for three days -it was fantastic.
I was well looked after and all requests were met with smiles and an eagerness to share.
highly recommend this adventure into the dark to find the inner light!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of Kaivalya Hostel so much that we doubled the length of our stay. Michael and Maria were warm and gracious hosts. The simplicity of life at the hostel enhanced our experience and helped us relax and recharge. My girlfriend enjoyed the daily yoga sessions, while I benefitted from plenty of time spent in the assorted hammocks.
I don't think you'll find a better value for money place to stay in San Marcos, so come here first and save yourself the hassle. :)

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrXStitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
2.1 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
674 reviews
3.4 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
499 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
302 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
136 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eco Hotel MayAchik
Eco Hotel MayAchik
#1 of 3 in San Juan la Laguna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School

Address: Calle principal, San Marcos La Laguna 07016, Guatemala (Formerly Kaivalya Yoga School and Hostel)
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range: $5 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important! Kindly note that as of July 2015 we've moved to the newly built enchanting and peaceful Mahadevi Ashram in Tzununa (3km from San Marcos). We are happy and humbled to welcome dedicated and curious practitioners into this Sacred Space created with Love and Selfless Service in order to provide a truly inspiring and conducive environment for a deep dive into your Heart. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahadevi Ashram And Kaivalya Yoga School Guatemala/San Marcos La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing