We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and very unfrendly”
Review of Posada Schumann

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Schumann
Reviewed April 20, 2008

the room we choosed with lake view was rated 50$ with breakfast included. Unfortunally it was not clean and ruined down. We tried not to be fussy about but in the morning we sat down for breakfast and " I'm sorry only continental breakfast"
Ok, no problem, but no orange juice, only coffe or tea, two pieces of bread each, a scoop of jam and a little butter.I'm sorry no coffee refill and not hot water for more tea unless you pay a little surcharge!!!! It was too much we left.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank bizzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 87 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2007

The grounds of this hotel are right up next to the lake, and they maximize this view with deckchairs and second-story landings. This is definitely the best thing about the property.

Although the rooms purport to have kitchenettes, you have to pay some exorbitant amount of money to get them to hook up the gas tank if you want to, say, boil water. The "free breakfast" is the cheapest thing on the menu, and service can be sloow if you're not the only ones there. Also, I was decidedly unimpressed with the bathroom, because both our toilet and shower broke in the five days we were there (I don't think this is a regular ocurrence, btw).

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariposa1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

San Marcos La Laguna is one of the more chill towns around gorgeous Lago Atitlan. The posada is right near the dock, for easy access to boats going out to other areas. The rooms are cute. The restaurant isn't half bad and the price is definately right. They also have a nice garden to hang out in.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSPXelaforNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank MiaMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GABRIELA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
0.2 mi away
Lush Atitlan
Lush Atitlan
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
255 reviews
3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
695 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
155 reviews
4.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
516 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Schumann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Schumann

Address: San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range: $20 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Posada Schumann Hotel San Marcos La Laguna
Posada Schumann Guatemala/San Marcos La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing