We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Humble, Rustic Charm & Cleanliness in San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada del Bosque Encantado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada del Bosque Encantado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Humble, Rustic Charm & Cleanliness in San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I highly recommend Posada del Bosque Encantado in the Mayan village of San Marcos La Laguna. Three small rooms with double queen size beds in each room, hot water, ecofiltro water filters, a great outdoor restaurant set in the "forest". The staff, Cessy, Encarnacion, and Espiritu are simply fabulous. A woman named Terry moved here 20 years ago and is involved with the operations and making sure that everyone is tended to and guests get an A class experience.

If you travel here in the fall, please be prepared for cold nights. They have blankets that can keep you warm, but it does get quite chilly.

Room Tip: I liked the end unit, the one farthest from the entrance. More solitude and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogoglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a water taxi from Panajachel to San Marcos La Laguna. Without knowing where we were going to stay, not even looking it up online beforehand, we just went there. Once we got off the boat there was this boy who was about 8 or 11. I don't remember his age nor his name but he is pretty famous around the town. He basically waits by the dock and for every visitor who doesn't have a booked hotel he shows them around town until he finds you a hotel. This hotel was the last one he showed us and I was very pleased we didn't booked at the previous places the kid had shown us. Like most hotels/hostels in San Marcos they are gated. Once you go inside there is a very nice garden. On one side there is the rooms, all four of them. On the other is the restaurant that is in the open air and next to that is the kitchen at the small house where all the female workers live. Don't worry you won't even noticed they live there. Actually I'm not even 100% that they do. The rooms are very nice. They have a loft bed that overlooks the rest of the room. The inside is pretty rustic but still feels cozy and you definitely feel that you're in San Marcos. Right outside of each room they have rocking chairs and hammocks so you can relax. The only problem I found was that the water for the shower was freezing cold... But come on you're in the jungle by one of the most beautiful lakes surrounded by volcanos, you should be happy they have electricity alone. I stayed there two nights and I thought it was enough time. I'm sure there are many people who love to stay there longer. When you go make sure you have the kombuche, they make it there and it's good for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed being able to spend two nights at Posada del Bosque Encantado. Terry, Cecilia and all their team are great people. The room had a window where you could enjoy an amazing view of the sky and hammocks to hang out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a great experience it was to say at Posada Bosque Encontado where I stayed for 10 days, it was comfortable, quiet, with very considerate Mayan ladies who look after it for Terry a lady from the USA. The rooms were large with a loft space above for an extra bed and hot water in the
bathroom. A water filter is provided in each bedroomThe Mayan ladies will do your laundry. they also cook fresh corn tortillas daily as well as bake wholewheat bread and make yogurt. There is a covered Cafe area where breakfast is served until 3pm daily, this is open daily from 8am and is open to the public until 3pm where is is a delight to meet so many travellers in such a charming relaxed atmosphere. Food can be provided after this hour for visitors and by request. The rooms are set opening onto a verandah where seating and a chair hammock is provided for each room. There are also sitting spaces amongst the foliage of the Bosque where there are also many flowers which attract of humming birds. At night the compound is locked making for extra security
This place is a great location for anyone and a haven to return to after a day out.

Room Tip: They are all the same as they are in a row of only 3 rooms in total with the verandah joining them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey York Co
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, huge room, beautiful gardens, well-located, 250Q a night, lots of hot water, comfy bed, quiet location (except for the rooster next door!). Staff was very friendly, cute restauarant (although we didn't eat here). There are only 3 rooms, so you can't go wrong. Purified water in the room was also a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed it. There are only 3 rooms in a beautiful garden setting. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. They have fresh purified water, soft sheets, plenty of room to spread out, a small table in the room for snacking, great hammock chairs outside and a good little restaurant on the property. The owner is a lovely lady who graciously took us on a tour of her personal tree house. I definitly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Try to get an end room. The construction is Earth-friendly so you can hear your neighbors due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here and had an amazing time. Staff is amazing, the owner Terry is always there to help with anything you need. The property has a great and healthy restaurant, coffee field, and the rooms are clean and cozy. It was truly an amazing compliment to our experience. Best place in San Marcos for sure! Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esantella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
3.1 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
4.4 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
6.7 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 7 in San Marcos La Laguna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Bosque Encantado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Bosque Encantado

Property: Posada del Bosque Encantado
Address: San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos La Laguna
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Posada Del Bosque Encantado Guatemala/San Marcos La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing