We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation in the friendliest environment - we love this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Paco Real

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paco Real
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation in the friendliest environment - we love this hotel!”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We've driven down to Guatemala from the USA - 9,000 miles clocked so far over five months - so I think I can write with some authority on the relative merits of hotels en route.

Hotel Paco Real, 100 yards from the lake front, is an absolute gem! From the moment we arrived (no reservation) we were welcomed by Mario, the cook, and then promptly by Frank and Ramon, the owners.

The rate for a large room was exceptionally good, even by Guatemalan standards, and we were so impressed by the overall cleanliness and positive atmosphere that we booked for four days. Today we extended this for another four: we are that happy with our surroundings.

Why?

- High speed internet access, just yesterday enhanced with an improved antenna. Offered at no additional charge.

- The restaurant creates delicious meals from 07:00 am to 8:00 pm, or later, with a varied menu of local and international dishes. All well priced, too. They are also very flexible, making meals not even on the menu. Anticipate the fresh bread too.

- Cleanliness. Frank, one of the owners, has imposed Canadian standards of cleanliness and repair to the property. The bathrooms are spotless, as is the restaurant (including, thankfully, the plates and cutlery). What a change!

- Things to do here range from kayaking to horse riding, and much more besides.

But without the owners and staff, what good is the above? In this instance, the owners are always polite and positive. Frank's good nature and interesting conversation make this hotel unique in this journey.

Negatives: honestly, I cannot name one.

If you have any questions, feel feel to contact me. Our blog and contact details may be found at

http://web.mac.com/hlmj

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humperdinck_Jackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
35
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed three nights at Paco Real while visiting Lago de Atitlan and Chichicastenango. We had a great time there, sleeping in a cabin around a beautiful courtyard. The food at the restaurant was very good and the service was excellent and really personal. The owner was very friendly and gave us helpful hints on the area.

(Also.. stop by Le Fé if you stay here, great food!)

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great, quiet, safe place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnaRut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2010

we had a great time in paco real. the cabin was very clean and comfortable. the place is unique and has isolated wooden cabens (wuth/without bathrooms) with a quiet and nice atmosphere.

it seems like the owner is a great guy, very reliable that the place is very importing to him, and we felt very nice and safe there

their a nice restaurant and the food was good.

we saw that someone wrote negative things and that he had been stolen from- its seems unreliable to us, and is important for us to mentions that the place feels very safe. seems that injustice has been done to the place and its owners.

have a graet trip- hopefully in san marcos too

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadavz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

After being offered a room that had a broken lock on the door we asked for a room with a functioning lock. We left our bags and went out to get some food. When we came back I noticed the owner was acting rather suspicious and upon entering our room I saw that both of our bags were semi opened and articles of clothing and other personal belongings were missing. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigenwild_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacoReal, Owner at Hotel Paco Real, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
As the owner Hotel Paco Real, I am very concerned about this review. Further to reading it, we have interviewed all our staff about this alleged incident and no one is aware of it ever taking place, nor of any broken locks at the time this person alleges to have stayed at Paco Real.

In July, we completed extensive renovations of the hotel, including repairing or replacing any locks that may have been defective. Why would we take anything from our clients after spending thousands of dollars renovating the hotel to attract more clients? This would be quite illogical on our part.

If a client suspects that someone at our hotel has stolen something from them, we would expect them to notify management immediately and we would also recommend that they immediately report it at the police station, which is located less than 5 minutes away from our hotel... which they could have done if they suspected that the owner had taken something from them. We have checked with the police and they have no report on file about this alleged incident.

We are very concerned about such a review being written as this can adversely affect our business integrity… could it be that it was posted by either a competitor or someone who does not like the fact that we are bringing tourists to the area?

Should you suspect that you had something stolen while staying at our hotel, I strongly encourage you to contact me directly to review the situation and to give us the opportunity to make amends and replace any lost items. I can assure you that I will personally oversee this.

Ramon Peneleu
Owner
Hotel Paco Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
3.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
258 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
488 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
298 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paco Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paco Real

Property: Hotel Paco Real
Address: Barrio 3, San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
rustic hotel restaurant with tradional construction.50 metres from the lake.good value clean accomadation,with fabulous international menu ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Paco Real Guatemala/San Marcos La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing