We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with rustic charm and great food”
Review of Hotel Paco Real

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paco Real
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place with rustic charm and great food”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed the weekend here. The room was charming in a camping/jungle sort of way by they are expanding so some minor construction going on. Some rooms don't have showers, which was fine. In the shared shower, if you let the water come out slowly, it will become warmer. There is a heater at the end of the shower head that directly heats the water. Alain and Magda were great hosts. In two weeks in Guatemala, I had my best dinner at their restaurant. Curry chicken with rice and vegetables. My wife had the veggies and rice. Getting there: we took a shuttle from Antigua to Panajachel. They drop you off in the heart of the trinket selling district. You can walk down to the boats/launches, about 5 min or take a tuk tuk. Tell them you want to go to the "launch". They charged us 25Q per person and the locals around 10Q. Be happy and pay the extra 50 cents. It was pretty rough (4ft swells), which caught us off guard. You just get in and hang on. Make sure you tell the captain (18 year old) which stop you want. There are some private docks they stop at, so don't bother trying to count stops. Just say San Marcos. Get off the boat and walk up the pathway about 150M. The sign is on the ground in the concrete and hard to find if you aren't looking. Bring a flashlight/torch as the paths are small and poorly lite. Bring shoes as it was pretty muddy. We had breakfast at Hotel La Paz and loved it. Yogurt and granola for the Mrs. and pancakes for me. Omelette are great too. We hiked/walked to the right of the basketball court for exercise without incident. You stumble across a pueblo with a massive staircase behind the church. We went up by accident, but was a great work out and fun to interact with the local kids. Half say hi, half beg for money. Wish we would have stayed longer. Don't miss the "park preserve with trampoline". Beautiful views and a great place to go swimming. The trampoline is actually a 35ft jumping platform. Cost 15Q p/p. not sure if we paid the right guy, but the police officer didn't seem to care.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EricAndSarahSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
35
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Paco Real treated my husband and I like family. We felt comfortable, respected, and we loved our spacious and inexpensive room. The food at the restaurant was delicious. We tried several different items from the menu over a period of five days and were not once disappointed. The live music in the evenings was awesome! We highly recommend this unique place and the owners Magdalena and Alan were precious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shayes1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Only 50 quetzales for a little bungalow and a shared shower and bathroom. The owners are super nice and the facilities are kept pretty clean. They have tables and comfy chairs outside to hang out on during the day. The only issue I had was that there were a lot of ants in my room, but I sprayed some of my bug spray around the room and they dissipated. Great location, easy to walk anywhere in San Marcos, although the town is so tiny there's not really any bad locations. Overall a very relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was dark and airless and the furniture was falling apart. The synthetic sheets didn't fit the bed. Bad value for money when compared with others for the same price. Dinner was expensive but the glasses of wine were big.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackthornwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honduras
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in a two story jungle bungalow with a view of the hotel grounds. Great atmosphere and a loveable rustic feel. Not all the lights worked in our cabin but actually just made it feel more like a little cabin at the lake. It was very quiet and while it got cold at night, the beds already were made with two thick wool blankets. Bathroom was clean and the shower got hot with a little patience. We ate dinner in the restaurant. Their pizza is great but the carrot soup tasted just like carrots and cream and was a little simple. Breakfast is not included and the WiFi did not reach our room but it was available in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Dulce Guatemala
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

San Marcos is always a nice place to stay and I have spent many happy nights here. The Paco Real and its owners are very caring folks doing their best. I love the great croissants (fresh every morning), good coffee. The pizzas were excellent. My daughter did not like the tuna special but we both loved the salads. The rooms are a bargain. I wish Alain, his family all the best and congratulations! You are doing a good job and you made us feel like family.

Room Tip: Our room had a sink and toilet. We shared the shower in the downstairs facility. An outdoor lamp s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iingua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and on the whole had an enjoyable stay, however there are a few things that could be improved here. Firstly the room was not cleaned once during our stay (or even the bins emptied!), even after we requested it cleaned prior to our final night stay. The food in the restaurant was very good with the exception of the final night when service wasn't very good (eg. long delay between our food being served, plates not cleared), the staff were not very understanding when we therefore refused to pay the service charge saying that "no it's not optional"!! I resented having to pay for drinking water refills, as for the price we paid I would expect this to be included for the hotel guests. Hotel WIFI Internet is quite slow. Pros - nice bright room, nice gardens, friendly owners, great chocolate mousse. With some improvements could be great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
3.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
4.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 7 in San Marcos La Laguna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Horus
Casa Horus
#5 of 7 in San Marcos La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paco Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paco Real

Property: Hotel Paco Real
Address: Barrio 3, San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
rustic hotel restaurant with tradional construction.50 metres from the lake.good value clean accomadation,with fabulous international menu ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Paco Real Guatemala/San Marcos La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing