We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went for 2 nights, stayed 5”
Review of Terrazas del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terrazas del Lago
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“went for 2 nights, stayed 5”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was the highlight of our stay in Guatemala. We wanted to have some quality time for two, this is why we chose this somewhat remote location (compared to all the other hotels at the lake). We fell in love with the place, the food, the view, the peaceful quietness and the friendly service.

We met our friends after having spent two nights, and convinced them all to come back and spend three more nights there. We rented cayucos (small wooden regional kayaks) for 15 quetzales per day (!), and also went to the football field to play with the locals.

Doña Manuela, Walter, Jose and Don Mirraín treated us like their own invited guests (even though we just found the hotel online). Highly recommend the empanadas, the great breakfasts, and if you don't find anything in the menu, you can always talk to Doña Manuela for her to cook something delicious.

Thank you very much for that great vacation, not to be forgotten.

Room Tip: There are two privileged rooms, that have a small window looking directly to the lake and the volcan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estuardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2010

In February 2010 we came to Terrazas del Lago and originally intended to stayjust a couple of days. The location, literally a few meters from the Lake, is ideal and, especially in the evenings, when the sun starts its descent behind the volcanoes, there is no better place to sit and dream than on the balcony of Terrazas del Lago. In the morning you drink the self-made coffee growing in their own garden, often accompanied by a fresh juice of oranges taken from the garden tree and you can enjoy the fresh fruit and other delicacies prepared by Manuela, the lady owner ... The bread is self-made too and delicious. Our room had 2 large beds and a nice/clean shower/toilets and we enjoyed a wonderful view on the lake with our own little balcony. It was an immediate "coup de foudre" and we decided to stay more than ten days - enjoying every single day, every single hour. The owners are honest, genuine and wonderfully friendly and offer a direct human link to the Maya population of San Antonio de Palopo. And to make it all perfect, the costs for room, breakfast and dinner + drinks, were more than acceptable. I cannot wait for our next visit .... Highly recommended for those who enjoy a the beauty of the nature in a quiet environment

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilly048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Terrazas del Lago is a peaceful and simple low key family run smallish place with amazing views.

There is a small village with hardly any stores or restaurants, so get anything you need in Pana. The family made us dinner, it was a Friday nite, and we had the place to ourselves. We ate under a covered patio on the lake and watched a lightning storm with some light rain.

It was beutiful, the family was very nice, and there are some amazing indigenous people that live in the town, with incredible clothing. I didn't want to leave, and for 32 bucks a nite...I seriously considered it : )

the hotel looks just like it does in all its pics on it's website

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoatravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Terrazas del Lago is a wonderful place to relax for a week and enjoy life at a easy pace. The view of the lake is excellent from the porch and the grounds are so much fun to explore. We took a swim in the lake just 50 steps from the hotel and then watched the sunset (perfect spot) lying on the grass. The food was very good and at a great price. The rooms were very authentic with lots of character (walls made from stone) not your normal boring hotel room. We highly recommend you take time out of busy life to visit Terrazas del Lago for a week to relax and enjoy simple pleasures.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank myworldtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I returned in 2008 after a visit in 1987 (!) to this sweet hotel (about a dozen rooms) on the shore of Lake Atitlan, wondering if it would be as warm and relaxing experience as I remembered it. It was. This is still an oasis right on the shore of Lake Atitlan, removed from the clutter and clamor of Panajachel, but at the foot of a still-genuine and charming village (San Antonio Palopo).

The hotel is run by Manuela, a local who started as part of the staff more than 20 years ago. She has kept the warm and home-like atmosphere of the hotel and keeps alive the spirit of the founder, an expat, who passed away in 1999. Everything is relaxed and informal. The food is very good (dinners about $10 per person) with fresh ingredients and nice touches, and breakfast, lunch, or dinner is available. Much of the food is cooked on a wood fire at their outdoor kitchen. Room cost is $35 for two. Rooms are clean, simple, spacious and charming, have stone walls and tiled floors, hot water, and comfortable beds. The patio will be your headquarters for reading, gazing at the lake and volcanoes as well as for meals.

The hotel can arrange private or commercial boat (lancha) service to the other lake towns. Ask Manuela to arrange a boat through Marco Antonio, who has carried on his father's tradition of ferrying tourists and locals around the lake. The boat docks are just steps from the hotel. You can also used scheduled service at the other nearby docks.

The town of San Antonio Palopo is just around the corner (a few hundred yards, and extending well up the hillside), and has a few shops for buying local textiles, including a very nice women's cooperative and a shop lower down the hill. There is a internet cafe and several comedors, and interesting to explore for an afternoon. Easy drive or taxi from Panajachel on a lovely cliffside road along the lake, which passes through Santa Catarina Palopo.

Great place to spend a day or two, or a few weeks. The good value, charm, peacefulness, friendly and responsive service, good food, extraordinary location and views make this a destination if you are going to be near Lake Atitlan.

  • Liked — low key; local family like hospitality; incredibly relaxing; unobtrusive, but service oriented staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theInstitute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio Palopo
5.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
773 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atitlan Villas
Atitlan Villas
#1 of 2 in San Antonio Palopo
48 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
253 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
287 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrazas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas del Lago

Property: Terrazas del Lago
Address: Calle de la Playa, San Antonio Palopo 07012, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Antonio Palopo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Terrazas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing