We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engineers without Border Team from UWM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Popi's Restaurante y Hospedaje
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our team of engineers stay here every year during our two week project work for improving water access and water quality of the Ixil villages in the Cuchumatanes Mountains of Guatemala. The experience is always excellent! Great service and tasty food made to order.

Room Tip: The bedrooms are shared with other travelers. Beds are bunk beds.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brainjogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Popi's Restaurante y Hospedaje
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

The place is very friendly and nice.
Bathroom & shower been cleaned all the time.
The water in the shower are warm/cold.
The beds are very hard! It's good after a day/s of walking!
The lady that incharge is very helpful with everything you ask.
The patio in the midle of the hostel is a nice place to sit
Cakes are excelent, and they offer few dishes that I saw only in their menu

Room Tip: check the beds before commiting to stay. If you go in hostel and it just doesnt feel right dont s...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xotchil M, Manager at Popi's Restaurante y Hospedaje, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks so much for the positive review!

I just want to mention that we got the shower heaters working and now the showers are warm. Sometimes in Nebaj it can be hard to get a super hot shower during peak electricity usage times because the current goes down—and that's a problem everywhere. But we got our shower heaters working!

We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Let me be clear here, for a hostel this place is really really good - a fantastic atmosphere, great staff (Jason was fantastic) and some of the best and most reasonably-priced food in Nebaj (we ate there every day). I'm a light sleeper and found it difficult to sleep, but with earplugs I was fine. This part of town does not have running water all day and a small water tank means that sometimes the water can run out. I don't think the private room was necessarily the best choice (I'd probably either go for a private room in another part of town with hot and more regular water or stay in the dorm at Popi's net time). But we absolutely loved spending time at Popis and every single thing we ate there was fantastic. I am still dreaming of the coconut pie! Thanks very much for your hospitality guys!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Thought on forehand that their were no or less hostels in nebaj. I can tell you there are a lot. This hostel was good rated and we thought let's give it a try. The beds are awfull! The mattress is so thin that even two mattresses aren't enough to sleep well without the feeling of laying on the ground. The shower is ice cold! There are plenty better options in town for only 5 quetzales (0.5 euro ) more!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xotchil M, Manager at Popi's Restaurante y Hospedaje, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. At Popi's we take our guests comfort very seriously, and we're so sorry to hear that you didn't sleep well on our beds.

We are a budget hostel and we use simple, firm mattresses. Most guests prefer their mattresses firm and sleep comfortably here, but we understand people have different preferences. Guests are welcome to double up the mattresses if they like and we will do whatever else we can to make sure you are comfortable during your time here!

Once again we're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied. Thanks for the feedback and do let us know if you ever come back through Nebaj so we can find a way to make it up to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The description for this hostel is absolutely spot-on! It *is* a gem and what makes it rank above so many other hostels out there is Jason, who was running the place when I was there in mid November. He has a wealth of good information, maybe dolling out more than the average person might need or want, but nonetheless, he takes customer service to a new level. He cares about his guests and enjoys sharing details on the area. The 12 nights I spent in the dorm at Popi's were well-worth it.

There are hammocks to relax on and stunning views of the surrounding mountains from the rooftop. The hikes to the neighboring villages are a must (especially on a clear day) and one can go alone as the trails are safe and the locals friendly.

There are an abundance of comedors to eat in town and of course Popi's has it's own attached restaurant as well. The apple pie is worth savoring, especially on a cold night sitting in front of the fireplace. Ah, bliss...

Make the effort to get here; you won't be disappointed if you are looking for a place "off that gringo trail," full of helpful, curious locals who won't treat you as "another damn tourist," with amazing 360 degree mountainous scenery everywhere you look.

Room Tip: The dorm is fine, although a bit cold in the winter and the mattresses aren't what one would cal...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theladylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Even if you're staying at Popi's for one night, you will get to know the amazing people behind this humble hospedaje. My two friends and I stayed for two nights and each day the owners made sure that we slept well, and the menu at this place is absolutely incredible. Everything is fresh, local, and homemade by the super talented Lorena (who can make soy ice cream! From scratch!). The bakery is also a huge plus, and before we left we made sure to order some of their excellent pies, cookies, and banana bread for the road.

Stay here! Feel at home! And they donate their profits to the Mayan Hope Foundation, so you'll be supporting a great cause. It's also really close to Media Luna, which is another hospedaje that overcharges, but has access to internet and can help you arrange tours (also overpriced, look elsewhere, such as Tejidos Cotzal!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fdoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It still surprises me that this apple pie hasn't become world famous yet (among other good creations!). Besides the comfort and fun of Popi's, the travel is well worth it. To be far in the mountains, high in the clouds, and yet at such a welcoming homebase is truly a sublime experience. What you take back is not your usual tourist package that touts beauty, glamour and high impact, but something more from within that processes upon home arrival and stays forever.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank vivian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Popi's Restaurante y Hospedaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popi's Restaurante y Hospedaje

Address: 5 Av. 3-35 | Santa Maria Nebaj, Nebaj 14013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Nebaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Nebaj
Price Range: $4 - $7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hostel and restaurant in rural Nebaj, Guatemala. We have been open for ten years, but have recently come under new management- thus the need for promotion. Popi's supports a local non-profit organization called Mayan Hope. We have a great, bilingual, friendly staff, and amazing food as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Popi's Restaurante y Hospedaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing